Confessions logo

ADHD isn't real

My black, queer, experience seeking accomodations in the workplace.

By Cristal HarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Cristal standing looking towards the camera with legs slightly crossed.

S#PSA - #ADHD is a real disability. I have the bank account to prove it. Despite each and every one of the people in my life being employed, I am chronically unemployed. My unemployed status frustrates me because I went to great schools, have great knowledge, and have added immense value to every workplace I've been in. Then I was punched in the jugular:

30% of people with ADHD

are likely to have chronic

unemployment issues (add.org).

Yep, that's me, among the three out of ten people with ADHD who are struggling to find and keep well-paying jobs. Maintaining employment while living with an #InvisibleDisability like #ADHD feels nearly impossible.

Here is how people with #invisibledisabilities are ignored, underserved and gaslit:

Gaslighting #1: ADHD isn't real...

Me to boss: "I have ADHD and I will likely need accommodations."

Boss to me: "ADHD is something white people made up. You're young, I'll just say it a few times until you get it."

Me to boss: "Ok." [Receives negative feedback when unaccommodated symptoms of ADHD show up]

Gaslighting #2 - It's just symptoms...

Me to program manager: "Yeah, I have ADHD --[cuts me off]

Program Manager to me: "Well, it's not ADHD you're just [insert flowery language to describe symptoms of ADHD]."

Me to program manager: [At a loss for words so I move on to the next topic.]

Gaslighting #3 - You have a character of being lazy, inconsistent, or unmotivated...

Boss to me: "You missed a few things I asked you to complete. You forgot x, y, but completed z very well. You are inconsistent. You seem unmotivated. This should take one hour to complete, but It's ADHD taking you two hours. I can't trust that you will do what you say you will by the time you say you will do it."

Me to boss: "I am doing my best, my A. My ADHD makes it difficult to complete this work. I apologize, I will do better next time!" [Feels horrible because I spend much of my time attempting to correct mistakes that my brain misses. I lose sleep and overwork making my symptoms worse. I go on to believe I am unemployable and lazy despite spending hours trying to do better.]

Gaslighting #4 - You just want a vacation...

Me to boss: "It's quite loud in the office and difficult for me to complete tasks with people walking around. Can I use one of the three empty office rooms to work in silence?

Boss to me: "No, I don't think that is going to work, those offices are reserved for other people."

Me to boss: "Well,, can I work from home? Then, I can better control the volume of noise around me?"

Boss to me: "So you want to work from home? If you want to be at home, just use your vacation time. That sounds like you want a vacation."

Me to boss: "Well, thanks for considering it." [Sits at my desk in loud office next to entrance reading the same sentence over and over because I cannot concentrate]

#ADHD is real. It's not made up, it's not fake.

Here are the occupational outcomes for people with #ADHD aged 23 - 32

They are 11 times more likely to be unemployed and not in school.

They are 4 times more likely to be in unskilled vs. clerical occupation, and 6 times more likely to be in unskilled vs. professional occupations.

61% more likely to have ever been fired, compared to 43% of the comparison group.

33% more likely to have ever been laid off, compared to 13% of the comparison group.

53% more likely to have ever quit a job due to dislike, compared to 36% of the comparison group.

They earned close to $2 per hour less in wages than the comparison group.

(Kuriyan, Aparajita B. et al. (January 2013). Young Adult Educational and Vocational Outcomes of Children Diagnosed with ADHD. Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology 41(1):27–41.)

When someone tells you they have an invisible disability like ADHD, it isn't time to express your personal beliefs, disapproval, re-characterize their diagnosis. If you do this, you are contributing to our poverty, houselessness, ill health, etc.

Here is what you do to help people with ADHD thrive in the working environment.



Ask what accommodations are helpful to them.

Ask what accommodations have been helpful/hurtful in the past to ensure you avoid them.

Normalize people with ADHD working in environments that work for them, such as working at night, at home, in a dark office, with noise-canceling headphones on, while dancing, or while stimming.

Affirm that you believe in their diagnosis. Don't deny or re-characterize someone's diagnosis.

Honor their limits. People with ADHD may get ten tasks done in a day in one day, and then the next day only manage two. Both levels of productivity are validhonor both.

Learn about ADHD in the workplace visit: www.chadd.org

Remember, ADHD is real, and it impacts millions of people. As for me, I pay the bills selling jewelry, selling graphic tee's, social media consulting, door dashing, and through government assistance.



All I ask is that you #HonorMyDiagnosis, and the diagnoses of millions of people who want to make great contritbutions the world.



Best



Cris

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Cristal Harris

S

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.