Confessions logo

A First Date

A Blind Date Double Take

By MarcadimusPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Jack scanned the restaurant from the maître d' station, assuming he could pick her out with ease. It was his very first foray into the online dating world, and after a month of messaging, they both had their vaccines and were ready to experience the real world again.

"Right this way monsieur," Jack was instructed and he eagerly followed, looking forward to seeing that brilliant smile and those mesmerizing eyes.

They arrived at the reserved table, and his date stood up and offered her hand. Jack nearly lost his composure but was able to hide his dismay and took the hand.

"It is so nice to see you, Jack, you always wonder if someone will show, don't you?"

"That you do, and you always wonder if they are who you expect . . . Wendy, yes?"

"Yes, I have not changed my name, silly!"

Jack put forth a smile, wondering how to deal with the situation. It wasn't like he didn't know most women's photos these days had filters or other enhancements. But he was completely staggered.

He was excited to come to meet the woman he had exchanged lots of emails, texts, and a few calls with, but he had expected something like the pictures he had seen. Wendy was, to his knowledge, a 31-year-old Asian-American woman with a stunning smile, gorgeous hair, a bronzed complexion, and youthful exuberance.

That was not what he saw across from him. She looked 10 if not more years older, her eyes significantly dimmed, her hair much thinner and lighter, and her skin appeared pale and noticeably weathered by the elements. It wasn't that she was not an attractive woman, she had her qualities but came in far short of expectation.

Jack tried to follow her small talk, and convince himself it was an oversight he could deal with. But that was not how he felt at all. She had completely misrepresented herself. Jack was not even sure he would have been able to pick her out of a crowd, or a lineup if his life had depended on it.

He was thrilled when the waiter arrived at the table to announce the specials and take their drink order so that he was able to momentarily break from the spiraling disappointment and concern in his mind.

" . . . and stuffed with gorgonzola with a garden salad. Now, while you mull over those choices, can I get you something to drink?"

"We are just getting acquainted, so why don't you start with the lady?"

"Ah, thank you, Jack. Is the 2017 Todd Hollow Merlot as tasty as rumored?"

"Absolutely Ma'am. It is a very popular choice."

"Shall I get a glass, or should we share a bottle?"

"Let's do the bottle, it makes my decision all the easier," Jack replied.

It was not long until the waiter returned. Jack was beginning to perspire as the agitation of her deceit churned within him. It led to all types of questions that would likely doom any potential long-term relationship. Was she unhappy with her own looks? Would she need constant validation that she was who she wished she still was? Would she be honest about other things in the future?

There was the uncorking and then the tasting. Satisfied, glasses were poured and their orders were placed. Jack ordered the sirloin and Wendy ordered the lobster.

Jack didn't care about prices, he wasn't hurting for money, but it added to the angst he already felt. Not only had she severely misrepresented herself, but she also ordered the most expensive item on the menu. A date night in a relationship, or hell even just a 3rd date where intimacy after was expected, sure, ring it up. But a first date? Where did she get off?

Jack tried to play nice and listen to her chit chat which became more inane with each passing moment. When the salads were laid at the table, Jack found himself eating more robust than usual, trying to keep his mouth full and his words parsed.

"Be careful, at your age, pounds come on and don't like to come off."

"I'm sorry, what?" Jack asked.

"You are eating awfully aggressively. That is something you need to watch out for."

"You think eating a lot of salad will lead to unwanted pounds?"

"No, but eating is usually a style and not subject to the food being consumed. I have to watch what and how I eat very carefully."

"Being careful at your age, Wendy?"

She flashed a bit of a look at this comment.

There is no reason to get defensive. It is something that will happen to us all. But with your hairline being further back than your pictures, I figured you may be a few years older than I initially assumed."

"Is that so?"

"Yes, I mean it isn't a big problem or anything. I get that you guys wish to look younger and more virile to attract us, top-flight women. I just hope your other . . . areas aren't affected by age," Wendy said as she flashed a devilish grin, appearing to hint that she hoped he was still able to go full mast.

"Well, thankfully I didn't use heavy filters or photo apps to make myself appear far more attractive than I actually am . . . not that it is a big problem that you did."

"I . . . excuse me?"

"I am just saying, I understand how women want to appear sexier and more youthful than they are to attract a man with cash in his pocket and not living at home with mommy. I mean, why not shoot for the stars and think you can get a real man."

"Are you talking about me?" Wendy said, sitting back in her chair looking slightly aghast.

"Well, I was more referring to the hard-bodied, soft-skinned, smoldering eyes and pouty-lipped woman in the pictures you sent."

"Are you insinuating those weren't my pictures?!"

"No, I am certain they are, minus the extreme editing. Hell, you might be able to get a job with ILM with that skill."

Wendy slapped her napkin on the table.

"You know, I doubt you have so many options that you can be so picky! Not this that spare tire and shoes like those! You could use a woman like me to mold you into a better man."

"Why go through all that? I can just take a picture however and you can go to work on it and make me look massively more desirable."

Wendy stood up in a huff.

"Let's see how nice that shirt looks now!"

With that she tossed her glass at Jack, dousing his shirt in red before she snatched up her purse.

"You don't deserve a woman as hot as me!"

And with that Wendy stomped out, making exaggerated clicks with her heels all the way out the door.

Quite a few heads had turned their way when the volume of their voices escalated and while embarrassed at the attention, Jack felt nothing but satisfaction at not letting her get away with that attitude.

Jack dabbed at the wine on his shirt as the waiter came over.

"Uh, is there something I can do sir?"

"Tell you what, bring me a new glass and a beer, I am not letting that lobster or sirloin go to waste my boy."

Jack got up and headed to the bar.

"Hello there buddy. Do you happen to have a wet towel I could ruin and see if I can keep this shirt from going into the trash?"

"Sure thing sir."

"I have a tide pen if that would help . . ."

Jack turned to the side and was met with a woman who could make the claims to be as pretty as Wendy had done erroneously.

"Well, that is kind of you, but I think it would take a pack of pens for this volume, Miss . .. "

"Fuentes. Holly Fuentes." She said, flashing Jack a killer smile and eyes that smoldered with Hispanic flair.

"Jack Parsons. Nice to meet you, Holly. Aw, thanks, barkeep." Jack said as he began to blot his shirt.

"Your date reminds me of my Aunt. Every few weeks she tells me about how she had another disaster of a date because the guy 'decides she isn't good enough.' I am pretty sure she touches up all her photos too."

"I guess it is just a sign of the times. Thing is, she has a nice life story and she is plenty attractive. I just bristle at the dishonesty."

"What is her life story?"

"She got a degree from a great school and worked in engineering for some big firms."

"Wow, so based on how she does her photos, she probably jimmy-rigged a door handle or something."

Jack could not help but laugh at the zinger. He looked at her glass and saw it was near empty and the two seats past her were unoccupied.

"What's your situation here?"

"I came to have a drink with my friend before she hopped in her Uber for the airport. I just wasn't ready to go home yet."

A nice lobster is coming and there is a nice merlot at my table . . . care to keep me company?"

"Now that sounds like a good offer," Holly replied with a smile.

The pair made their way back to the table, where the waiter had replaced the tablecloth, and they sat as the food arrived.

"My, this DOES look nice!" Holly smiled at the plate.

"A toast, to a better companion than I deserve." Jack raised his glass.

Holly took a sip.

"Just so you know, she is full of shit."

"What?"

"Wendy. She isn't an engineer. She was the guidance counselor at my high school and not a good one. She got let go a few years after I graduated. I doubt she moved on to an amazing career."

Jack dropped his jaw that she knew his date. Then his mouth curled into a smile and he let out a boisterous laugh, to start the best dinner date he had in years.

Dating
1

About the Creator

Marcadimus

I am a freelance writer on the side. I publish some on Amazon, in a variety of genre, including erotica. I consider plausible plot devices of utmost importance and character motivations a very close 2nd.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.