Confessions logo

A Fall

Today I Went For A Walk And Fell

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
9

I had a morning doing donkeywork on declarations of expenses but because I was close to the end I kept going until two o’clock this afternoon and then thought I could take a break, take my first walk of the day and get some fresh air.

The title of this tells you what it is about and I am not sure I can write a long enough article about something that did not take very long at all.

Although it was cloudy I still thought I would go out for a walk, maybe spot some cats, get some fresh air, clear my head and hopefully get some ideas for things to write about. While I am way ahead on my monthly and weekly heart and step targets, I still try to aim for that seven thousand steps a day and twenty five heart points on Google Fit (one heart point per one hundred rapid steps).

So I went out and just turned left on a footpath and all of a sudden I was falling. Now I am 87Kg and 1.9m tall so me hitting the hard pavement from standing up takes no time at all. In February my dad tripped close to here and shattered his knee ending up in Newcastle Royal Victoria Infirmary for two weeks to get it fixed.

As I was falling so many things went through my mind, afterwards I was almost severely shocked. Maybe my dad’s fall had something to do with it. As I was falling I was trying to evaluate what would be the best way to hit the ground to do the least damage to myself.At the very start I looked to see if there was anything I could grab to stop me falling, but there was nothing close, so it looked like I was going down.

I was thinking, do I put my hands out or do I keep them close to my chest, or put them over my face (not that my face could look any worse) and I was still thinking I could get away with not hitting the ground.

Still going down and eventually my body hit. I was in physical shock, like being hit by a moving vehicle. My muscles seized up and I must have landed on my hands with only one skin puncture.

A van pulled over on the other side of the main road, wound his window down and asked if I was OK. I shouted yes but I couldn't get up immediately, I rolled over and my muscles were stretched and screaming until eventually I pulled myself up and was standing once more. There was a tightness in my chest and you start thinking “it’s a heart attack” but this was just extreme physical shock.

I had hardly started my walk and had been hit by this, but I was just absolutely amazed by how my mind was working as I was falling towards the pavement. It was almost like it was in slow motion, and things like that make you start to think that time actually can be manipulated under the right conditions.

I could still walk and so planned a route to maybe see a few cats and, unusually, got two together who both wanted stroking, so my walk tuned out to be a successful one, and I got something to write about even though it was not what I was expecting. The instagram post of the cats is below.

This is not a lesson in "how to fall", it is just observations about what happened to me.

Sorry for the format of this (no headings etc) but it is just a diary entry of an incident.

HumanitySecrets
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Oh, my! I hope you are feeling bettr now! I know what a shock it can be because I have taken 2 falls in the past few years. Once I was opening the freezer door and after I got out a froze meal, I started to step back to close the door and just kept going, falling backwards My right hand came down on the bottom of my desk chair and was cut, not very big cut but it was jagged and very painful, so I went to the ER for stitches. The other time, i had been writing an article and it was about 2 a.m. I had placed my computer on my bed and sat down in a straight chair for a few minutes to rest. The room was i un a built-in porch and garage from former years and it had a concrete floor under the carpet. I hit my head, broke my nose at the nasal bridge with an open wound and had a gash on my forehead. The nasal cut took stitches, but the ER physician GLUED my forehead shut.. All healed with no bad effects, but I move move more slowly now and try to know where my feet are at all times! Glad you did not have any major injury...hope all is well.

  • Pam Reederabout a year ago

    Glad you're OK. Falls are never fun. I hurt a shoulder and took 18 months to heal. Ugh. Watch those ribs. Hugs.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Heal up fast! Hopefully there will be no long term problems from the fall. Someone recently told me cataracts can cause falls?? I didn't know why I fell last time. When I told my daughter (the nurse) I fell and luckily just landed on my old ass. Nothing broken. I broke an arm on my last fall. She said, go in and have your old ass x-rayed as you can break your old ass too. I did go in after calling the nurse line to be officially told to go in. I told them that it just hurts when I laugh and sit on it! They too said that you can break your old ass!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I am sorry that you fell down but you turn your fall into a matrix story, my humor get the best of me. Stroking cats have some healing power as well. The cats were all the doctor you need. You story was like watching a movie with action . I am very glad you are ok. 🥰Hugs

  • I'm so sorry for that 🥺 Hope you're doing better now. I wish that person who asked if you're okay or anyone would have helped you get on your feet. Please always be extra careful next time. Take care!

  • Joan Gershmanabout a year ago

    I'm glad you are okay, but pay attention to how you feel tomorrow. Often the effects of a fall don't appear until the next day. I have fallen a few times - one of them was very serious, and yes, it's amazing how much goes through your mind in the time you start to go down until you are on the floor (or pavement).

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Glad you’re okay, Mike. Hopefully you aren’t too sore tomorrow. I’ve always been amazed by how many different thoughts could run through my mind at times like that.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing! Given my physical issues, I fall a lot. My advice. would be - protect your head and face and surrender to the fall so you can relax your body - a relaxed body will sustain less injury - and you can more "control" your fall - it takes practice... ;) Glad you're okay. It can be very scary.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    oops. Hope you're ok. Amazing how much goes through your mind in a split second.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.