Chapters logo

Writing From The Heart

A Chapter from the middle of my memoir

By Sarah DPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
6

I realized that I had come a long way. I was now an established content writer, not that it had been easy to get to that place. I loved working from home, and so I made that choice, I wanted to make things like my health and happiness a priority. I also felt I had more time for the little things, the things that mattered most. And that made me happiest.

I realized that I was so lost in thought, as I stared at the bubbles in my hot cup of coffee. My hands and elbows rested on my work desk near my laptop in the room where I did most of my content writing, and I could feel their weight as I leaned against the table.

It had been more than 5 years that I had been working as a travel blogger for a website called Expedia.com I enjoyed writing for them. I had a couple of 1000-word articles that I had to submit every week. I loved my job.

I loved writing about exotic travel destinations in different unexplored parts of the world. I had made a habit of earning my living from what made me happy. I liked the fact that people probably read about what I had to say, and this would help them have a more memorable holiday.

I decided to take a break from work and have something to eat. I was famished. It sure was a welcome release to indulge oneself in a cup of steaming hot noodles when one felt one needed it. There was soft music playing in the background. My roommate Danielle loved playing soothing jazz since she too worked from home.

While I relished the noodles, I suddenly had a welcoming idea for a book I wanted to write. I wondered if writing a Romance Novel would make life any more different than it was at present. It was something I always wanted, I secretly always wanted to be an author.

The noodles were never-ending, and I let the thoughts come to me. I tried to playfully visualize myself at my first-ever book launch. There I was in a snazzy outfit, holding my book while Journalists asked a foray of questions.

When they were done, I returned to the main venue, to sign autographed copies of the book for fans. I was enjoying the vivid daydream so much that I barely realized that it was near freezing in the room. The Noodles were now gone, and I realized that I had been lost in thought for more than 15 minutes.

I decided to return to my content writing work for the day. I started to edit a draft that I had left half done. I often tried to make a place I was writing about seem more exciting than required. At the moment, I was writing about Monte Carlo, and how there were lots of people who simply adored it.

Sticking to the point was hard for me. I liked to enliven the articles I submitted- I wanted people to see the place in their minds. I wanted them to be able to clearly picture their perfect holiday. I wanted my writing to make them fantasize. I wanted my readers to really desire to visit the places I wrote about.

But now I was torn. I was torn between my thoughts of the book, and what I was supposed to be doing. Writing about a city like Monte Carlo did not help either. Suddenly I was tired of writing to please an audience.

I was actually a little sad that the article would have to be edited again. "What was the point?" I asked myself. "I would rather write something that people will want to cherish forever. Like a love story that is timeless." While thinking these thoughts I continued doing my work.

Memoir
6

About the Creator

Sarah D

Short Stories/Poetry that will make you THINK a little bit about ~Life~ and Warm your heart! It's fictional content, but nice things usually brighten up the day! I want to BLESS others with what I write and be remembered for it too! Adieus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Adebayo Iyanuoluwa 8 months ago

    Keep it up u are getting there 👍

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Dreams are where reality begins. You are on the way to seeing what you really want to do. Ot just combine it all, and do it all. Dreams. It begins in a moment and can last a lifetime. Go get em tiger.

  • Moe Radosevich8 months ago

    It’s easy to drift out of space and into a fantasy, been there but never wrote about it, enjoyed this delightfully, like your style, 😊😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.