Chapters logo

To My Rival

Friend or Foe?

By AryamanPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Image Creator (by Microsoft) text-generated image

To the man who unblinded me,

I don’t know where you are! It is an irony to even anticipate about that. There was a time I prayed that you didn't show up yet you did.

Sky’s what we share. It has witnessed all the battles that I have fought. People hailed my name because they feared me for my strength.

I hadn’t felt the same towards anyone until the day we met. You were calm and quiet. Firm feet, stone face. An ordinary gaze but a brave stance!

You stood lifeless yet you seemed full of life. People surrounding us were shouting in joy, howling my name but I…

I was lost in my thoughts, “Who is he? What is his name?”

I only knew my strength. I had forgotten that the pile of victories I stood upon was steep. On that pile I stood tall not knowing that one day I may also fall.

My fate was entangled with yours. You were destined to come. You didn’t push me but it was I who made myself fall.

You didn’t kill me. But I died.

You engraved a scar onto my heart, onto to my soul. An injury that healed me instead. For the first time I could see even though I was never blind.

All that remains of me is a man, waiting for you to answer this question, “Who are you?”

“A friend or a foe?”

I still believe you exist, fighting battles, punishing men like me, wandering along the horizon. You may have fought battles even more than I ever did.

If you have forgotten who I am then remember I am a being you defeated, I am just...

~An Ordinary Man

SubplotPrologueHistorical Fiction
2

About the Creator

Aryaman

I create stories to share a map to my imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Abhishek Mazumdar2 months ago

    Well done. Keep writing. ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.