Chapters logo

The Ultimate Prank

How a simple prank turned into the ultimate prank

By Mother CombsPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Image by Christian Allen from Pixabay

Many years ago, when I was a girl of 18, I pulled one of the best pranks ever on my older brother, Ed. It turned out to be the ultimate sibling prank, only because of events that happened earlier in the night that, at the time, I was completely unaware of.

My boyfriend and I had gone out on a date, and he was bringing me home. My hometown was having construction by the highway, and several of those orange barrels were there. On our way to my house, where I still lived at the time with my mom, stepdad, one of my older brothers, Ed, and my youngest brother, we passed a side road where one of those barrels was just sitting, at least 3 miles from the construction zone. An inkling of an idea started to form in my mind, and I knew I had to take that barrel home with me. I made my boyfriend stop his baby blue Ford pick-up so that I could jump out and grab that barrel.

My boyfriend asked me why I wanted the barrel, and to be honest, I was not entirely sure how I would prank anyone with it; I just knew I was going to. So I couldn’t tell him exactly what I would do with it. I just said to him that he would see.

Arriving at my house, we carried the barrel inside. Once inside, I saw Ed had not returned home yet, and that was when the inspiration hit me.

I made my boyfriend help me get the barrel down the narrow hallway to Ed’s bedroom. Once in my brother’s bedroom, I dragged it to his bed and pulled his covers back. Placing the construction barrel in his bed, I covered it entirely with his blankets and tried to make it look as much like a body as possible. Then I grabbed my boyfriend’s hand and dragged him into the living room to wait for my brother to arrive home.

Luckily, my brother arrived home within 30 minutes of hiding, so I didn’t have to wait too long. And he was drunk like I hoped. Unluckily, he was hungry, so we had to wait another 30 minutes while he cooked and ate before going to his room. I was having a hard time being quiet.

Finally, we could hear my brother bouncing off the walls in his hallway. We heard him fumbling with his door and going into his bedroom. Suddenly, we heard my brother shout out, “What the fuck!!” And with that, my boyfriend and I cracked. We laughed when my stepdad came upstairs to find out what all the commotion was.

My brother told my stepdad, “I thought a fat woman hitting on him in the bar had followed me home at first, but when I jerked the blankets off her to tell her to get the hell out, it was that damn barrel. That barrel followed me and would always be following me.”

That’s when my stepdad asked me what I had done. So I told my stepdad what we had done that night, ending with us putting that barrel in my brother’s bed. I don’t know how he understood me through the laughter and tears, but he understood every word I uttered.

My stepdad just shook his head and told my boyfriend to throw the barrel into his truck so he could return it to the construction site on the highway, then went back to bed, chuckling.

Shaken up, my brother, stayed up, talking about that barrel. He had grabbed it from the construction site and thrown it out on the side road I found it on. He thought the barrel was haunting him for his evil deeds, for turning down a woman for being fat and ugly (his words). He was so stressed out, which made things funnier because, you see, my brother is 6’8”, 280 pounds of pure muscle. I’d never seen him shaken up like that before or ever again.

My family still laughs about this prank to this day. I hope it at least makes you smile.

Young AdultNonfictionMemoirAutobiography

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Double take on the barrel. Never mess with one. Funny story indeed.

  • Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha it didn't make me smile but it sure as well make me laugh and roll around on my bed like a retarded seal! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Hilarious prank!!! Love it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • J. Delaney-Howe10 months ago

    That's great! Very funny. Perfect timing!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Ha! Thats crazy how he had already come in contact with the barrel, and it came right back to him. Awesome prank and great timing!

  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    This is brilliant! It's on par with a story I read about a woman who was scared of a book she read, so she threw it in a lake... her other half went out and bought another copy, ran it under the tap, and stuffed it back in her bedside table drawer 😄 🤣 The best pranks always turn out to be the simplest!

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.