Chapters logo

Running Up the Down Escalator

Youth Trip 1988

By Mother CombsPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Image by Michal Jarmoluk from Pixabay

It was the spring of 1988. The First Assembly of God youth group I went to was attending a Bible Quiz in Dallas, Texas. My stepmom was one of the chaperones for the group, so she required me to participate on the Quiz team. Seeing as we traveled to other churches and saw beautiful scenery from our church van’s windows, I didn't mind.

As I stated, this trip was to Dallas, which is significant to this memory. Our youth director would let us run this trip around the Dallas Galleria after the quiz tournament, and we’d get to spend the night in a hotel. So this was going to be a true adventure for us.

We left our church mid-morning and arrived in Dallas around lunchtime. So the first thing we did was check into the hotel and freshen up. Then we went looking for a place to eat a big meal. When we finished eating, we headed to the Galleria.

Once at the mall, we split up into groups. I didn’t want to be with my stepmom, so I begged to be in the Assistant Youth Directors group because I knew it would be a fun group. My stepmom was relieved I did not want to be in her group, for she readily agreed. Everyone went their separate ways.

We visited several stores on the ground level and bought snacks from a candy vendor. We visited the second and third floors and the must-see Spencer’s and several music stores.

Halfway through the evening, our suitable role model chaperone made a boneheaded decision. He bragged about how they used to run up the down escalator when he was younger. He made it sound so cool, and two of the guys in our group dared him to do it. As he prepared to go up, I decided to go right behind him.

Everything was going great, too. Until I decided to look down at my feet, that is. Looking down, I saw the escalator steps moving in a completely different direction than my feet. I got dizzy and landed on my left knee. Throwing up my hand, I grabbed the loop at the back of the Assistant Youth director's pants and allowed him to pull me up to a standing position as he continued to run up the down escalator. Regaining my footing but not letting go, I continued up behind him.

The rest of the group was still coming up the escalator when we reached the top. Our chaperone asked if I was okay. I lied and told the youth pastor I was but needed to go to the restroom. So when the others joined us, we headed to the bathroom. I entered the woman’s bathroom and locked a stall, locking it behind me. I didn’t need to use the toilet; I wanted to see how bad my knee was. So, I pulled my pants down, sat on the commode, and looked at my knee.

It’s a good thing I was sitting down, too. My kneecap was 2 inches above where it should have been. I almost freaked out, but I knew one thing, I did not want to get into trouble with my stepmom, and my dad was not there with us, so I knew I needed to hide my injury. But I also knew I could not walk on my leg with my knee where it was. So I had to think of something.

I finally started massaging my kneecap and gently pushing it down, trying to get it to pop back into place. After what seemed like hours, I finally got it to go back in. Doing so made the pain even worse. I may have passed out for a moment, but I am unsure.

The fun of that night was over for me. All I wanted to do was to find a bench and sit. But I couldn’t complain because my stepmom wouldn’t do anything about it. At this point, I was ready to go home.

I hid my pain through the rest of the visit. On the way home, I got to thinking about it, and I decided not to tell my dad at all because I didn’t want my stepmom to get upset about it and say I was making things up to get my dad’s attention. So I decided it was best to keep my mouth shut. To this day, I’ve only told my husband about me running up the down escalator.

NonfictionMemoirAutobiography

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    That sounds so painful… physically, and emotionally, having to go through that alone, afraid to tell anyone. Some stepparents can be so awful. It’s like they’re competing for attention with their stepchildren. I hope sharing this here was therapeutic for you, and I hope your knee is doing alright.

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    As a parent/stepparent/grandparent/great-grand, I would have been more upset with the chaperone and only with you for not telling or getting it looked at!! ❤️Then I thought, wait is this fiction? It sounded like the end to that story, so I'm not sure what chapters is about yet?? I guess I will find out as I have to write a story soon for that community 😉 Thank you for sharing your story!😊💕

  • Omgggggg! That was sooooo scaryyyyy! I'm so amazed that you managed to keep it together! I would have lost it! So did you get your knee checked anytime after that?

  • Suze Kay11 months ago

    And now, you've told us! I'm glad you were able to relocate your patella - but OUCH that sounds terrible. This was a lovely peer into the mind of a teen, full of all the tension, push and pull of responsibility and desire in all its forms. Fantastic job!

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.