Chapters logo

The Roadtrip of a Lifetime

A road-trip around Arizona that brought healing and understanding.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
The Grand Canyon

For the past 7 months I have been working on the lovely island of Guam and there I learned how important our connection to others truly is. When we connect to others it makes the world seem so much smaller and more enjoyable. My roommate and coworker named Drew was one of the best humans I have had the pleasure of meeting. So, when I told him of my plans to road trip with my best friend through Arizona there was an even greater moment. Drew laughed and told me his dad was a tour guide out there for Pink Jeep Tours. It reminds me that there are no coincidences, just the universe putting people where they should be.

I left my hot and humid state of Texas only to bear the brutal desert heat of Arizona for a week. It felt nostalgic to see my best friend after he had moved states and I had left for Guam. We had a week to see the beautiful state of Arizona with no real plan in mind. Our first stop was out west to the oasis city of Lake Havasu where I felt the wind blowing gently in this desert. We explored the lake, it's cool waters and drove off-road to see Swansea Ghost Town. An old, abandoned copper mine in the middle of nowhere. The experience was both exhilarating and terrifying driving down an old unpaved mountain road going at a snail's pace. The town itself was small but eerie, and full of history lost to the sands of time. Luckily, we survived the drive, and no ghosts haunted us.

Swansea Ghost Town

After our 2-day adventure in Lake Havasu we set our sights on the Grand Canyon. There we camped in the national park where we arrived just as the sunset. Just after setting up our camp, we had the unfortunate rainy night. I woke up in my sleeping bag to the sound of rain echoing throughout the campground and a freezing wind I had not felt in quite some time. The next morning, I met Drew’s parents for the first time, and I knew why he was such a great person. His parents took time out of their week to share their enthusiastic love for the Grand Canyon with us.

Drew’s father was very knowledgeable and an expert on the hidden gems of the Grand Canyon. They took us around on an informal tour and we watched as the rain poured in the background of this spectacular park. Much like the Northern Lights there is something magical about the Grand Canyon. For the first time in my life my brain had no thoughts, no anxiety just pure awe in amazement of what it was seeing. This larger-than-life canyon was majestical and thrilling. Just seeing this view gave me goosebumps and I couldn’t take my eyes off it. So, when the time came to leave my heart felt heavy and yet a bit lighter.

The Grand Canyon

The true journey was never about the ending, but the experiences had along the way. The deep painful conversations we had while driving led to healing for both of us. We left that beautiful park unburdened by the same things we entered with. It’s funny how healing can happen in the most random of moments. Seemingly small events that bring out the darkest parts of us to be seen in the light once more. This road trip was everything we needed and more. So if you are thinking about seeing the Grand Canyon or going on a road-trip with your friends let this be your sign to dive headfirst into a wonderful experience.

Self-helpTravelMemoirAutobiography
3

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    You are in a beautiful island of Guam nice, I have a few friends who live there. Those are certainly a cool pictures of the Grand Canyon, and got an special tour , too. Making good friends are always a treasure .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.