Chapters logo

Magic in the Northern Lights

A memoir of my journey to see the Northern Lights

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
40

Have you ever seen something so miraculous that the very moment takes your breath away? It's been 8 months and I’m still out of breath somehow. I started my travel journey in December of 2022 finally seeing my girlfriend after 3 long years of covid lockdowns. We traveled throughout Germany for the new years, and I saw the beauty of the country. Though the journey was full of wonderful experiences, I began to see the cracks in the foundation of our relationship. After a few short weeks, constant fights and incompatibilities I decided it was better to go our separate ways.

I left Germany a broken-hearted man, but I was in for more than I bargained for. I took a flight out to Stockholm, Sweden with the intent on seeing the Northern Lights because it was on my list of reasons to stay alive. Yes, I made an entire list of reasons to live not a bucket list because I needed a reason to keep moving forward. I arrived in a wintery wonderland full of amazing people and fellow travelers at a local hostel. I spent some time exploring Stockholm and its museums, culture and history. All while planning to fly out to Kiruna and risking it all on a single day to see the Northern lights. My date was ominous; Friday the 13th, what a good day to risk my luck on.

The flight to Kiruna was quick, but memorable. I gazed with a child-like wonder out the window as we flew over Lapland below. Now I’m from Texas and seeing that much snow really warmed my heart. I booked a professional tour through Getyourguide and waited until the evening at my hotel. My tour guide Dmitri showed up promptly at 8pm and the lights were already forming in the night sky. After picking up our fellow travelers we headed out to chase the Northern Lights.

Dmitri drove us around until we found a good spot to watch the lights from. He set up a bonfire for us to warm our bodies through the night. There I was dressed up from head to toe in a winter suit just to stay warm in the below freezing weather. We took photos from time to time with Dmitri and his professional camera.

Yet, the Northern Lights weren't the only miracle that occurred during that wintery evening. We sat around that bonfire talking about our lives, the 5 of us. How we got where we were and our journey so far. When it was my turn to share, it felt like I was at peace. It wasn’t until one of the group members asked me if I would go back and re-do things, would I? For the first time in my life, I said no, with no regrets and a clear mind. I had found the acceptance I always needed about my military service. In that amazing moment is when the Northern lights began dancing across the sky, like some higher power gracing us with its beauty. From every shade of green to red and everything in between exploded in the night. God was creating a masterpiece just for us.

I left that place feeling lighter than I ever had, and my heart no longer carried the same burdens. Of all the miracles that occurred that night I was most grateful for my own inner experience. Seeing the Northern Lights was truly a magical and spiritual experience bringing peace and acceptance to the hearts of us travelers searching for something more.

TravelMemoirAdventure
40

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Loved this!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I'm a Canadian and I have not seen them... Thank you for this. And I am glad to be a new sub!

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    that's so brave of you to write about your life experiences. I loved reading this. more than anything i loved your love for northern lights, it has the top place in my travel list. anyways congratulations for top story!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love this adventure for you so much! I’m so glad you found peace. Of course in a magical place you would just need a reminder that there is a plan bigger than us! I haven’t seen the northern lights yet but I can’t wait. (Well I thought I did one time I Seattle, can’t be sure!) congrats on top story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    I agree with the other comments that your story was phenomenal and so are the northern lights!! I love the Aurora lights, always have. You write it in a way that I can picture it as tho it happened in front of my eyes. What a beautiful story

  • Brand Laposh8 months ago

    nice

  • Nguyen Hoang Duong8 months ago

    like img

  • em8 months ago

    it’s phenomenal isn’t it? and so was this ☺️

  • LOvely story and wonderful image

  • Article Pins8 months ago

    Ts..

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    You described the light beautifully. Definitely on my list to see.

  • ema8 months ago

    what a beautiful sight! I have never seen the northern lights. It's wonderful when a simple journey can turn into a profound experience. Yours is a very interesting story. ❤

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Your decisions to travel there just for a glimpse, is admirable. A natural spectacle, normally only found in the northern hemisphere. I got lucky once and saw them in northern Michigan. The lights decided to come down that far that night. Almost everyone in the neighborhood was outside checking them out. That was in 2002. Haven't seen them since but always looking. Thanks for sharing...

  • This is cool ✨ I would like to see the Northern Lights and Write 📝… 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉 Congratulations on your Top Story💚🎉💙

  • Oh my. Thank you so much for sharing your experience Matt. I couldn’t help but cry when you describe that moment of acceptance and peace, and how the universe immediately responded in celebration. I have yet to experience the aurora, but I can relate to the magic you experienced in that moment of peace / this relationship with the natural world responding to your inner state. What a beautiful story ❤️🙏✨ Well deserving of Top Story!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    This was lovely! ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    What beautiful memoir 💓

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Matthew, your description of the Northern lights was superb and spot on.. Miraculously, the N L take your breath away!!! While in Alaska for two years, I called the the N L the dancing lights too!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.