Chapters logo

The Hardest Chapter of My Life

Transitioning after the military was one of the most difficult moments in my life. One that no one can truly prepare you for.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
The Hardest Chapter of My Life
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

There it was, what felt like the end of an era for me, but it was simply one chapter finishing. In a short four years I had been shaped into a man and hardened and haunted by war. What I thought would be a lifelong career ended with more pain and bitterness than I knew how to handle. I had chosen to finish out my military contract and go my separate way. Always holding on to the dream of going to college and becoming an archaeologist, but I was unprepared for the next chapter of my life.

*

No one tells you about what comes after and the loneliness that follows leaving the military. Saying goodbye to friends you may never see again and losing your direction in life. I had become a man without a purpose and the months until school started were brutal. I had many long nights lying awake while drinking a six-pack of beer watching mindless Netflix shows. Insomnia was running the show and I was disassociating turning days into weeks. Eventually the money from paid leave ran out and I had to get a job. Who would want to hire a haggard veteran with dark bags under his eyes? Well apparently, washing cars was the job for me until Fall came around.

*

Eventually I began to make friends at work and felt somewhat sociable heading into university. I thought the loneliness couldn’t get any worse, but I was wrong. There I was sitting in class amongst my peers as the oldest and only veteran. I brought a unique perspective that others never really seemed to understand. I had seen more of the world than these young budding students, but I carried too many scars. Making friends was difficult and I managed to make few and far between.

*

The late nights continued, and I had trouble adapting to the constant pressure I felt on my neck. As if I were some creature at the bottom of the ocean being crushed. It was around that time that I decided I needed a companion of sorts and eventually adopted my first dog Freya. Freya was a ten-week-old puppy riddled with ringworms on her ears after being abandoned in the streets with her litter. She was a beautiful looking mutt with gray eyes. I fell in love at first sight as she cuddled up to me on that bench outside the shelter. I knew in my heart this was the dog for me and proceeded with the adoption.

*

Our first moment was her pooping in my car on the way home because I forgot to bring a small dog cage. Well, many of our first memories are of her pooping. I couldn’t help but chuckle as she pooped on me while walking her for the first time. She was a scaredy cat who struggled with anxiety just like me. In time I learned patience, and love from a puppy who drove me insane. However, I stopped staying up late dreading falling asleep, and she was always there by my side when I struggled.

*

I had finally found the strength and courage to close the chapter and transition to my new one. It hasn’t been easy on this journey and most days I still can't seem to put down the uniform. When I look in the mirror, I still see that haggard and broken-toothed soldier staring back at me with blood on his uniform. Always wondering when he would be needed again and hoping he never would.

MemoirNonfictionBiography

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Patrick M. Ohana4 months ago

    Thank you for your service and I hope all is well : )

  • MAARI10 months ago

    We all go through such hard phase of life. Life makes us experience everything sorrow, bliss, pain , embarrassment, anger , confusion, love , romance, despair, desire , success and failure. Life is cocktail of mixed emotions and feelings.

  • I'm so glad you have Freya! It may have been difficult for you to write this but I hope you feel better now!

  • Atomic Historian10 months ago

    I know this story too well. Getting out the first time wasn't easy. Some of my best and worst experiences were working with/ for other vets. I'm glad you found a companion to help you along the way. I'm still catching up on your writing, but I think two vets, ones an archaeologist and the other is a historian, sounds like a good buddy comedy.

  • Sheila L. Chingwa10 months ago

    PTSD is hard to deal with. You have support in many ways especially from your furry friend. thank you for writing this.

  • Sunil Kumar Lakhani10 months ago

    two things i would like to comment. that a job is a job whatever you may do, second a companion of any sort is required by humans. Good story.

Matthew MccaheyWritten by Matthew Mccahey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.