Chapters logo

The Work Trip of a Lifetime

Working in Puerto rico

By Matthew MccaheyPublished about a month ago 3 min read
5
The Work Trip of a Lifetime
Photo by Ana Toledo on Unsplash

This past February I was blessed enough to be able to work in Puerto Rico for about a month. It's moments like this in my life I am grateful for the profession I chose to pursue. Sometimes archaeology sucks, and sometimes you keep opportunities to explore outside your usual world. I stepped off the plane and was greeted by a gentle breeze and an overbearing sun. It reminded me of my time in Guam and how the world suddenly slowed down around me.

The drive from San Juan into Ponce was a magical experience through the mountains. The lush green rainforests strown across the land felt like quite an adventure. The beaches were beautiful, and silent. The water seemed to swallow the horizon even as the sunset engulfed the sky. Everyday we drove up the mountains through narrow and winding roads. Some days it felt like we were going to get stuck on one of the many backroads in disrepair. All in all the nature in Puerto Rico was simply amazing to see and refreshing coming from a harsh Texas landscape.

However, the real jewel of Puerto Rico was the people and its lively culture. The Boricua people were inviting and friendly despite my high school level Spanish. The food was spectacular and full of love everywhere we went. I ate Mofongo until I was sick and tired of it. Mofongo is a fried-plantain dish served with a variety of meats such as chicken,pork,beef or by itself with rice and beans usually.

The work was in the mountains walking along old sugarcane roads through the jungle. Every day it rained, and every day we trekked along the muddy path once more. When I think about archaeology this is what I imagined as a child. Chopping my way through a jungle wondering what I would find. I don’t know what was worse the humidity, the burs, or the poison ivy. All I can say is it was one hell of an adventure. Something that feels too far and in between lately in my life. I’m always looking forward to the next adventure never knowing when it will come or if I will have enough money to support it.

Every adventure reminds me that there is a deep-rooted calling inside that I succumb to. The need to explore, the need to never stay in one place for long. I am well aware of how encompassing this calling is in my life. It consumes everything in its path, and no one is safe. Not my loved ones, my friends or even myself. Because I can’t describe it any other way, but when I hear the trumpets playing, I answer the call. It's an itch that can never fully be scratched and one that prevents me from finding peace or putting down roots anywhere.

Maybe I am the last of a dying breed that seeks the unknown. Knowing there is something else out there to find, and in the journey of seeking I find completion. But I know there's always another adventure, and the search never ends. I find more questions than answers and I hope one day I can find the peace I seek somewhere. Coming home always leaves a hole inside me and some days I feel quite empty inside. I live on the endorphin high and try to ride that wave for as long as possible. Only to find myself struck with the low that comes after travelling. I look forward to the next adventure and hope to be able to share it with you.

Memoir
5

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    This was very nice story. It remind me Dora the Explorer. Thanks for sharing your travel journey ! I look forward to the next one. Cannot wait for the romance journey story .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.