Chapters logo

The Legend of The Tree of Life (III)

Part Three: A Dangerous Curiosity

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a month ago Updated 30 days ago 4 min read
7
Image created with Open Art AI

Incase you missed Part One or Two.

 

It wouldn’t be long before I encountered Brazen in my forest again. It had become a habit for the pair of us and I was becoming quite fond of the little dance we’d begun.

 

 

 

As I knelt beside a small stream, I scooped a palmful of water and brought it to my lips.

 

“So even you require resources from your sacred forest.” A deep male voice commented from the shadows.

 

“I have chased you from my forest not once, but several nights. When will you learn?” I asked as I wiped my chin and held a look of indignation.

 

“And each time, I return.” He stated mockingly as he peered around the trunk of a nearby tree.

 

“What will it take to keep you out of my forest?” I inquired as I turned to face him.

 

“A lifetime’s supply of cash.” He replied with his usual charming smile and a playful twinkle in his eye.

 

“I can not provide that,” I mumbled with a huff.

 

“You could if you told me about the most valuable items in the forest. Ones that I could sell to the apothecary for a high price. Then that would take away one reason for me to constantly be coming back.” He explained with a wink as he stepped out from behind the tree and approached without a shadow of fear in his eyes.

 

“Everything is valuable in this forest,” I stated as I looked around, hoping Mother wasn’t watching from the shadows. “Everything from the fallen leaves to each blade of grass to-“

 

“The water in the stream and the soil beneath our feet. I know,” he replied in a soft voice as he now stood directly in front of me. “You’ve only mentioned it a of couple times.” He explained as his auburn eyes met mine.

 

“You remember that, but not to stay out of my forest.” I scoffed as I shook my head in disbelief. I scanned the trees around us once more with an uneasy feeling.

 

“Then give me a reason to stay away.” He taunted as his smirk widened and he took another step toward me with a look of challenge in his eyes.

 

“I could give you a very deadly reason to stay away.” I tried to growl in a threatening tone, but it came out as more of a low, sultry purr.

 

“An empty threat, as usual.” He commented as his gaze fell to my straw-coloured hair that rested on my shoulder. Tentatively, he reached out and placed a few fingers upon a stray strand as he pushed it behind my ear.

 

A flutter of nervous excitement erupted in me, and I was speechless.

 

“You are quite beautiful, you know.” His voice cracked nervously as his gaze returned to mine.

There was a hunger present in his eyes, one I hadn’t noticed before.

 

“But,” I began, sensing there was more he wanted to say.

 

“But,” he hesitated and chewed on his words for a moment. He took another step closer so that his face hovered inches in front of mine and my breath hitched in my throat again.

“I wish you weren’t so dangerous to be around.” He stated with a gulp as his eyes appraised mine more closely.

 

“You don’t act like you’re afraid of me,” I murmured in a soft voice.

 

“I’m not afraid of you per se, more of what you do to me.” He explained. His gaze grew more tender the longer it lingered on me. His hand that had tucked a stray hair behind my ear hovered in place and now rested upon my cheek. While his other one had snaked its way to the small of my back and pulled me closer to him.

 

“And what exactly is it that I do to you?” I asked curiously, my mind consumed by the thrill of his body so close to mine. I trembled nervously from the adrenaline at feeling the heat of his body against mine.

My eyes fell to his lips and my every thought was now consumed by the need to know the taste of them.

 

His gaze darkened in a moment of thought. “You make me crave something I’ve never had a real taste for.” He began, as he leaned towards me and our lips met in a tender embrace.

 

We broke apart in shock, and our gaze met with hungry, desirous expressions. Again, we leaned in and our lips met once more. My heart raced with building anticipation.

Our breath mingled as we stood close in a lip-locked embrace, our bodies pressed against one another as my hands found their way to the back of his head. My fingers interlaced in his long dark locks as I gave in to my hungry, human-like desires.

 

Part Four:

RomancePlot TwistMagical RealismFictionFantasyCliffhangerAdventure
7

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz28 days ago

    Donna, your dialogue is spot on, so smooth and natural. Great romantic sexual tension build. I said it before, you have a great story here, one that could easily be adapted for the screen

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh... this is going to be trouble me thinks... Though much like Dharr, my inner shipping goblin is cheering for the kiss! Donna... are you going to break my heart in this story? Because... having read the Forest of Cigam and knowing that Livia wasn't mentioned.... oh my oh my... things are going to take a deliciously tragic turn I can feel it in my bones

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    AHHHHHHH!!!!! OMGGGGGGG!!!!! I ALMOST DROPPED MY PHONE WHEN I SAW THE COVER PIC!!! LIKE OMGGGGGGGG!!!!! 🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍🙈😍 I just couldn't stop smiling reading this hehehehehehehhehehehehe. Gosh I'm still grinning!! 🙈🙈🙈🙈 “And what exactly is it that I do to you?” I asked curiously, my mind consumed by the thrill of his body so close to mine. I trembled nervously from the adrenaline at feeling the heat of his body against mine. That whole paragraph is EVERYTHING!!!! Omggggg hehehehehehehehe. I'm here giggling like a silly little girl 🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I just hope Mother isn't watching them as Livia feared. But it breaks my heart to know that part 4 is the last part. Oh well, all good things must come to an end. Can't wait to read it!

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    There is trouble that you run from and trouble that you run toward, I think this is the latter.

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Well, now they're both in trouble. 🙄😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.