Chapters logo

The Blade - Part 1

Woken up in the middle of the night by a total stranger, will Gia trust him with her life?

By KA Stefana Published 7 months ago Updated 3 months ago 5 min read
1
Photos from Canva

"Get up!"

Voices echoed in her mind from far away. She rolled over and tried to fall back to sleep, but the shrill tone had a sense of urgency.

Travis pushed Gia's shoulder, firmly stating, "Gia, wake up and get dressed."

Through the dark haze, she opened her eyes and glared at the stranger standing over her bed. Pulling the sheet up, trying to hide her body from his view, she frantically asked, "Who the hell are you? Get out of my bedroom before I call the guards!"

"Gia, get up! Get dressed! Your father is dead, and the castle is burning. We must flee."

His words didn't make any sense. Their kingdom had been at peace for years since her father betrothed her to the Vampire King's eldest son. She had never met the foolish young man but would comply to keep the peace for her people. She was about to protest when she smelled the fire wafting through her room.

"I am not going anywhere with you. Where are my guards?" She was putting on a brave face but was scared to death beneath it all.

He yanked the sheets from her and said slowly, through gritted teeth, "Get up and get dressed before we are trapped."

Jumping out of bed, she grabbed a blanket and tried to wrap it around her petite frame, but he pulled it away, snarling, "This isn’t the time for games. You smell the fire. I know you do. Get dressed!"

Her bravado was starting to falter. How could she trust the cruel man who told her her father was dead? He didn't look kindly toward her, with his long black hair and red eyes. For a split second, she wondered if it was just the flames dancing in his eyes. Was it a parlor trick?

Running to her closet, she pulled out traveling clothes and whispered, "Please, turn around. I will dress quickly."

The moment she was dressed, he marched across the room and pulled her into his embrace. Before she could protest, they faded from her room and appeared in the forest, a few kilometers from the burning castle.

Her eyes took in the carnage. Dead bodies were strewn across the landscape, and the only home she had ever known was consumed in a raging inferno. She realized she barely escaped, but that didn't tamp down her anger at this bloody stranger.

Unable to control her anger, she screamed, "Who the hell are you? Tell me now!"

Travis held out his hand and calmly replied, "Please, Gia. Don't shout. You’ll give away our position."

She looked at him in bewilderment, clenching her fists and hissing, "Our position. You kidnapped me."

A brief look of pain crossed his stern face before he replied, "Gia, I did no such thing. I rescued you from that inferno. Did I not?"

Waving her hand at him, she continued, "You probably set the fire and killed my father."

She knew there was truth to her words when he didn't reply immediately.

As he contemplated what to say, they heard footsteps approaching. He placed a finger to his lips, trying to keep her quiet, but she started to scream, "Help me! Help! I’ve been kidnapped!"

Lunging toward her, he placed his gloved hand over her mouth, grabbed her, and faded while she was mid-scream.

When they reappeared the second time, deeper into the woods, he hissed at her, "Keep your mouth shut, or you’ll get us both killed. You need to give me a chance to explain what's happened and to bring you safely to my kingdom."

Without hesitation, she exclaimed, "I don't need to do anything. I know these lands. I’ll survive on my own."

Exasperated at her stubbornness, he said, "Gia, your kingdom has been attacked. How do you not see the danger? These men want to kill you. Damn, it all. Don't you see they want to destroy you? They won’t just kill you. They’ll have their way with you before they take your head. Do you understand the danger that you are in?"

She whispered, "I have my magic."

"It will not be enough. These men are from the depths of hell. If you can call them men at all." Travis wasn't sure how to get through to her since he was bound to not reveal his true nature to her. Not until the appointed time.

"So, if you are so smart. Tell me, why did these men invade my land?"

Travis was about to answer her when he saw torches in the distance and heard the beasts howling, searching for their lost prey.

"Damn it! How are they finding us so quickly? Do you have a tracker charm or something on you?"

Gia contemplated whether or not she should show him, but her hesitation was the answer he needed. He grabbed her hand, took the jeweled object from her, tossed it aside, and pulled her toward him. Fading for the third time, he grew weak and stumbled as they appeared deeper into the hidden forest.

"No more tricks, Gia, or I won't be able to keep you safe. Do you understand?"

She noticed how pale he was, and something deep inside her felt pity for him, but it was short-lived. She said, "Yes, I understand. Now I can escape from your clutches." Turning to run away from him, he reached out and whispered, "Please stay. I’ll explain what I can and keep you safe. On my sword, I promise you my fealty."

Stopping in her tracks, she turned to look at him. She really looked at him, studying his every feature. There was something familiar about him, perhaps from a distant memory. She let that thought go and nodded before saying, "Very well. On your knees."

Travis knelt before her, took his sword from its hilt, and handed it to her. He watched silently as she held it in her hands, making her final decision. It would be her right to kill him.

Gia gave him a crooked smile, taunting, "This is rather intimate. Holding a man's sword. What shall I do with this newfound power? Shall I accept your fealty or kill you now, for I know you hide the truth from me?"

He was just about to protest when she held up her hand and replied, "I, Princess Gia from the Shadowlands, accept your fealty to serve and protect me until I release you from your burden." She placed the sword on his right shoulder and then on his left. Stepping back, she held the blade's tip in the center of his chest, putting pressure and drawing a drop of blood.

His breath hitched, but he didn't say anything, fearing he’d give away the truth.

~~~~

Hi Readers,

I hope that you are loving Gia's story! This is a 5-part story, so stay tuned and check out the entire story.

The Blade - Part 2

The Blade - Part 3

The Blade - Part 4

The Blade - Part 5

~ KA Stefana

RomancePart 1FictionFantasyCliffhanger
1

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.