Chapters logo

The Blade - Part 3

Danger follows Mia! Can Travis save her?

By KA Stefana Published 7 months ago 3 min read
3

Travis saw the incoming fireball and grabbed Gia as quickly as he could. He barely faded before the blast reached them. Landing on shaky legs, he placed his hands on her shoulders, asking, "Gia! Gia! Are you hurt?"

She could not hide her fear, leaned in, and wrapped her arms around him, sobbing softly; she answered, "Just hold me."

He held her until she calmed down, but moments later, he asked, "Are you ready to fade again? We can't stay here too long."

"Let's go."

They faded several times before he was too exhausted to travel further, but he feared that a long delay would allow the hunters time to catch up with them. He needed sleep or blood. Either way, he needed energy and refused to eat from the animals in the woods. It would leave too many clues. He didn't dare drink from her. Not yet. Not until she knew the truth.

Gia saw his struggle and offered, "I can help."

"I can't take your blood," he growled.

Ignoring his rudeness, she replied, "No, I mean with my magic. I can give you energy."

Curious, he asked, "How?"

"Will you accept my help?"

"In the form of magic, yes," he replied, waiting as she decided which chant to use. Finally, she placed her hands on his shoulders and closed her eyes. He didn't feel anything at first, but slowly, his energy grew. He began to smile at her efforts when she passed out.

"Gia! What the hell?" Travis jumped up, scoped her limp body into his arms, and decided to fade, hoping he had the strength to finish the journey.

Twenty minutes later, they appeared several hundred meters from the main castle gates. He collapsed with Gia still in his arms.

The soldiers swiftly rescued their fallen soldier and took the sleeping princess into the great hall, where she continued to sleep. They could not wake her for days as her body recovered the energy she had so freely given.

When she woke, she was alone in a large bed, similar to the one she was rescued from, but nothing was familiar. It didn't feel welcoming. This wasn't her land. These weren't her people. She desperately wanted to go home, but perhaps she wanted to speak with Travis more.

An attendant walked in and bowed before her, "Princess Gia, I'm relieved you have woken. I'll retrieve the king and queen. They'll want to speak with you right away."

Holding her hand up, she asked, "Please, may I speak with Travis? The soldier that rescued me."

The attendant looked confused, replying, "I'm not aware of anyone with that name, milady. Perhaps the king can help you with your queries."

What? She sat there in a state of confusion until the king entered her chambers. He was tall and stern-looking. His eyes were red, just like Travis' eyes. They looked alike. Almost identical.

As her mind assessed the king, he asked her, "Princess Gia, how are you feeling? You gave us a good scare. We couldn't wake you for days."

"I'm sorry, Milord. I used all my energy to help Travis, the soldier who rescued me. I guess I didn't leave enough in reserve." When she finished speaking, she noticed that he gave her a strange look, but he didn't opine on her response.

Instead, he changed the subject. "I'm afraid your kingdom has been lost to the darkness, but you're safe within my realm. Do you know where you are?"

He waited for her to think about it. Who would save her?

She smiled, replying, "I remember you now, milord. You're King Helmar, the Vampire King. I'm betrothed to your son. Am I not?"

"You are," he answered.

With that, he faded, leaving her to her thoughts and not revealing anything about Travis. She started to fear that he didn't survive or that they would punish him for somehow failing her.

She was starting to grow tired and almost fell asleep when her door flew open, and she heard angry voices and swords clashing in the hallway. She managed to get out of bed and held out her hand, shouting a charm to shut and lock the door. It would give her a moment to flee when she turned around and slammed into Travis.

RomanceFictionFantasyCliffhanger
3

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    An exciting story! Now I’m going to read the other parts too! You’re a great writer!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.