Chapters logo

Smartystan

Florida

By Skyler SaundersPublished 17 days ago 4 min read
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

Ruby red cheeks and white skin made the young woman look like a porcelain doll. From her hair to her shoes, ten thousand dollars had adorned her body.

With the aid of Dr. Strong, she entered the Goulding sedan. The synth driver made the motion of “okay, sir” and entered the driver’s seat. The late December sun sank low at five thirty.

“Are you warm enough? Cedric, could you––” Dr. Strong asked.

“I’m fine,” Garva Adderly replied. She looked out the window and sighed. Then she turned to the doctor with a grin.

“Congratulations, Dr.”

“Thank you.”

“What do you plan to do? Who do you want to thank?”

“I’m thinking of a lady with a degree in physics and knows just how to wine and dine a guy….”

“Oh. Is that all? Aren’t you going to thank your parents?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“They’re dead and dead to me.”

“Oh, they raised you, yes?”

“Not really. Between the boozing and the using, they really didn’t have much time for me.”

“It seems you’ve overcome immeasurable odds to get to where you are now.”

“I’d say so.”

She giggled and pushed him. “So modest, Mr. Founder.”

“Exactly. Would you expect anyone in my position to be anything less?”

Garva looked at him and knew her sarcasm and his matched. “You know, you’re a real jerk sometimes. But I love it.”

“That’s the goal. What are you…twenty five years my junior?”

“Yeah something like that.”

“In the time that I have lived, I have witnessed more than you have taken in when you were graduating high school. You’re essentially an adult baby.”

‘Explain. I hold a master’s degree. I’m far from a baby. I could get out of this car right––”

“You’ve grown into a wonderful human being. You could talk about electrons and neutrons and let it spill from your lips like liquor. I wouldn’t be with you if that weren’t the case. I enjoy the reality of our discussions.”

“I’d say you’re full of yourself. But I like that. I worship a man who knows who he is and what he’s about. You obviously can be framed like that.”

The car started and they passed through thoroughfares on the way to the venue.

“You know that what I did was completely selfish, right?”

“Of course. You wouldn’t have done it if it weren’t.”

Dr. Strong enjoyed the back and forth. He grinned.

“Did you see the press?”

Garva shrugged. “Of course.”

“You didn’t let it bother you?”

Garva shot a glance at Dr. Strong sharply.

“I see. This has been going on ever since this country-state was established.”

“Yes. And I’ve been able to look at the entirety of this phenomenon from an objective viewpoint.”

“I think we should continue to be more selfish.”

She moved her head slowly and looked at him and said, “Yes.” Dr. Strong laughed a hearty, full laugh that let Garva know that he had complete control and she liked that.

“What?” she asked.

“I know that you’re being polite. You’re really about altruism and not just that but also the domination of this new nation based on the idea that others should be held to a lofty position.”

“No, I’m not––”

“Let me state. I know you’re with me because I’m a founder. I know you’re with me because I have money and fame and all the other imposters imposed upon those who turn sweat to accolades. You love the lights flashing and being with a man who is full of himself and everything. What can we do but show our dedication to ourselves?”

The young woman looked like a dagger was put to her throat. She felt the rush of adrenaline course through her veins. Excited, she made sure she said just the right things to continue the conversation.

“We can dedicate ourselves to the notion that we’ve already won. We can show to ourselves that they never had a chance. This country-state is proof of that. You take the sharpest, most intelligent, most able, most thoughtful, most rational people and you place them in an environment which encourages them to thrive.”

Dr. Smart looked at her for a long time. “That’s exactly it. The awards are great, I mean look at us. You’re wearing chinchillas for Christ’s sake.”

“And you dazzle in that suit of yours.”

“I think that what we do is keep fighting. It’s a thing about the battle over morals and ability. There shouldn’t be one. The able have morals and those with morals are able, or ought to be.”

“The best way to keep the train of thought on the rails is to say that you’re worthy of this award.”

“I’m not talking about the award, my dear. I’m discussing the beauty of this very site in which we live. All of the power and the glory that we can summon up to keep this place together is what I’m saying.”

“Okay. I get it. You want to make sure only the Smarties stay in the state. I already know that you’ve allowed people from all different fields and abilities. I understand that. But do you want this country to bleed?”

“If people exit from this place, it will be on their own terms for their own reasons.” He paused. For a moment, he thought of the reason why he, Dr. Frampton, Belinda, and Go had organized to found a completely revolutionary system altogether. He reflected in his mind while Garva stared out the window. He continued. ‘Do you understand that?”

Garva looked straight ahead and said, “Of course I do. But I’m going to be leaving for Florida after tonight.”

Dr. Strong nodded in agreement. “I can’t force you to stay. I can’t make you believe in something that I do just because I believe it.”

“Thank you for telling me that much.” She said as the vehicle pulled up to the auditorium. Dr. Strong clutched her arm. The flashes were like sparkles of skyscrapers office lights in the night.

Science FictionYoung Adult

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.