Chapters logo

Smartystan

Proficient

By Skyler SaundersPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
1
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

Light shone off the car’s mirror. A police officer approached. A highway trooper, she slid her campaign cover on her head. The navigational system followed the driver’s command to pull over to the side of the road. She slid up to the passenger side of the vehicle.

“Good evening. Credentials please,” Officer Peyton Gowan asked curtly.

Belinda quickly collected all of her digital information. Officer Gowan used a sensor to verify that Belinda was who she said she was.

“I’ll be damned. You’re the Belinda Gummer? I thought you looked familiar.”

“It is me,” Belinda said with growing confidence.

“I stopped you for your license plate. It needs to be renewed.” A device, like a speed gun, could make out the smallest details and the officer used it to her advantage.

“I know you’re a busy lady. Just update your information and you’ll be good to go,” Officer Gowan chimed with a soft smile.

“Thank you, officer,” Belinda replied.

Once the patrol car sped off into the night, Belinda collected herself. She had been stopped on a few occasions for minor infractions actions like this. She spoke and the car engaged into gear and followed the route once more.

At the venue, Go, Dr. Strong, and Dr. Frampton looked at their watches.

“Where is she? She’s the keynote speaker,” Dr. Frampton left the Mercier ballroom and called on her mobile device.

“Where are you, B?”

“I’m in transit. I just got stopped by a cop,” she explained.

“Well, the show is almost about to begin. They're tuning the string section right now.”

“I’m here,” Belinda announced. She looked stunning. A white gown and gold jewelry highlighted her flowing blond hair. Dr. Frampton showed herself to be just as elegant in a royal blue ensemble with platinum accents which showcased her green eyes.

As the champagne splashed on a fountain of glasses erected in the center of the room, Belinda took note of the ice sculpture as well. A large “S” stood tall amongst the smaller carvings of a banquet of apples, berries, and nuts.

Belinda delivered the speech. Applause thundered around the room as she descended from the stage. She also took note of the range of people in the room. When the dance commenced, she actually ventured out with Go and the Drs to meet up with the people honored that evening. One young lady walked up to the four of them and thanked them for their abilities.

“I, too, came from a modest start,” Belinda told one young lady.

“I studied for that test for months. I failed twice but finally got in when I showed them my aerial dancing abilities.”

“So, you were admitted based on the physical abilities category and the intellectual exams?”

The young woman nodded. It was like a small gesture of greeting royalty.

Belinda walked around and introduced herself to more people. A man, about medium height for a man with bulging muscles shook Belinda’s hand softly.

“I wanted to go in for the weightlifting ability test, but I ended up taking the test for mental acuity and I passed. I was dirt poor and didn’t have much to claim as my own except for some books and the free weights. I’m actually still poor in this place, but I’m working on demonstrating my thinking ability to garner me more dollars.”

“That’s magnificent. You’re who this whole country-state is all about. You’re why we’re here.” She shook the man’s hand and located the other three founders. She found them not smiling and totally dismayed.

“Belinda, there’s an issue with some of the people who found a way to get into this ballroom with the aid of people like myself,” Go admitted. “I wanted to bring my friends from Virginia into the country. They’re not of great ability but they’re wealthy. We just happened to be rich because of our abilities. This is not to be debated. Yet, they want to be part of the scene because they’re trust fund babies who have no clue as to be a physical or intellectual talent. A physically skilled person is actually still a proficient thinker. We, nevertheless, have to find a way to show them that they can’t stay in this place beyond their visas. Which is midnight. Which is fourteen minutes from now.”

“I think I can manage this,” Dr. Strong replied. “I’ve been studying economics for the past thirty-five years. I think I can ascertain the levels of ability in your friends.” He walked over to where the men had been laughing and drinking champagne. The other founders looked on with a sense of mild dread as to what the doctor would say to them.

“Hello, my name is–”

“We know who you are,” Cosgrove Usain said. He blew hookah smoke Dr. Strong’s direction. The other young adults just laughed. Dr. Strong smiled. He then flipped a chair around and got into Usain’s face, the young man looked clearly shaken.

“Listen, in about eight minutes, you will be leaving here. I don’t care how much money or prestige your parents have given to you, you don’t rate permanent residency in this country. Now, please prepare to exit from this establishment in an orderly fashion. It’s either that or you will be detained and stripped of any privileges to re-enter. Is that understood?”

“Yes, sir!” they all chimed.

They scurried over to Go. He actually had a grin plastered on his face. He knew that Dr. Strong had left an indelible impact on his so-called friends.

Belinda and Dr. Frampton headed towards the exits.

They saw a rush of bodies go towards the doors. Go remained amidst the crowd gunning towards the way out of the place. Their looks ranged from agitation to out and out fear. They took it upon themselves to be among the ones streaming out into the open air.

“Whatever you said, really shook them,” Go observed. Dr. Strong just chuckled.

“It’s just a matter of telling the whole entire truth.”

Young AdultScience FictionScience
1

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.