Chapters logo

It Wasn't the First Time I Had Died

Nor Would It be the Last

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
15
It Wasn't the First Time I Had Died
Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

Previously it had been about my own hopes & dreams, a recognition & accepting that my life was not my own but that I had been called by another to a purpose far more debased. Not that I couldn’t have chosen my own path—I most certainly was free to do so—but it wouldn’t have gone well.

No matter the choice I would make as I felt myself slipping away, coughing up blood, other forces would be directing my life. If I had chosen myself, my life would have been consumed with appetites useful to many but harmful to most. If I surrendered myself along with my hopes & dreams, I would be useful to few if any, my life even more wretched.

And so I chose to become more wretched & died to myself—three times over before the surrender was sufficiently complete.

That didn’t keep me from having hopes & dreams, especially of doing & becoming something of significance to others. Especially to one. I didn’t know who yet, but I wanted to have that kind of meaning to someone who meant that much to me.

As I have already disclosed, I have always been a romantic. For as long as I can remember I wondered how we would meet, imagined going for long walks, talking & playing together in prepubescent bliss.

I determined there were plenty of candidates, none of whom had found me, at least not for long. In college I went on a few dates with a few different women. One for the better part of an entire school year. But she couldn’t imagine being married to a preacher (her father was ordained in the United Church of Christ & had served a number of churches before becoming president of the college I was attending & from which she was taking a year off). With a couple of others I tried to fall in love & just couldn’t.

I did develop a lot of crushes, even a few who I later discovered had been trying to get my attention. There were a few problems that prevented any romantic inclinations we might have had with one another.

First, I was an undiagnosed autistic who did not naturally pick up social cues & so rarely knew when the cues were there. Second, when I had an inkling, I rarely trusted them.

I’ve already shared in too much detail my relationship with my brothers who were always popular & with whom I could never compete. By the time I was in college, those insecurities were pretty much set in stone. For the two years following as I traveled with three of them singing gospel music, that stone had been cast into the deepest part of the ocean with my feet firmly planted inside. (No, I never saw a megalodon while I was down there.)

A third problem was one of distance. Being on the road, I could write letters for a while, but eventually I would drop off. Long distance relationships are tough to begin with. For me they were impossible to sustain. With each passing day, accompanied by each passing failure to make or maintain a connection, my self-esteem would take a hit & sink a little lower.

When I had nothing left, no hope of finding anyone or them finding me, when all the gifts & graces I had ever imagined I owned had been stripped away, I would become all but catatonic. I might be out on a walk, moving around, but it would be without much thought for where I was, where I was going, or how I would ever get back.

This is what I saw.

In my mind’s eye, there would be an onion suspended before me, representing everything I was. One by one I would watch the layers peeling away, remembering each mistake & failure, until there was nothing left but a single white light gleaming before me.

This is who I really was. This is what was good, what others, what God could love. This was all that mattered.

I lost track of how many times over the course of the years I stood gazing at that small, glistening light. But the last time was during the fall, my first year of seminary in 1983.

I had actually become engaged to one of my pen pals from one of our concerts the year before. Then she broke it off. Then, my advances toward another were rebuffed & refused. One accepted my invitation to go out, but never showed. Another did exactly the same thing. It wasn’t long before…

…there I was, standing in the bathroom of the apartment I shared with another student, staring at my onion in the mirror, one layer at a time slowly peeling away.

I remember tears brimming in my eyes as I watched everything I thought might have mattered being stripped & expunged from my being. I don’t remember if any made it to my cheeks. But I do remember arriving at that little white light at the center, the one thing of beauty I could claim as my own.

I have no idea how long I stood there. No one else was around. No one needing the bathroom. No one wondering what I was doing. As far as I could tell, no one who cared.

But I remember the shotgun as it leveled over my right shoulder in my mind’s eye. I remember the finger that lay upon the trigger. I remember how it pulled back & blew my light away.

That was it. I had nothing left. The death not merely of hopes & dreams but the death of my very spirit, heart & soul.

Staring into the mirror at the empty shell that was all that remained, I remember thinking, “W. Paul Jones is going to love this.”

But that part of the story will have to wait.

"When the light shines through the darkness & there's nothing for it to reflect upon, it remains dark." -RJK

NonfictionMemoirDystopianCliffhangerAutobiography
15

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz4 months ago

    This is so powerful, watching your life peeled back one layer at a time. Autistic ques are so very different from others. Social etiquette’s a mystery. This is one that deserves more reads

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    That crushing feeling of rejection and loneliness is so awful. I'm sorry that you have had such experience with it and I'm glad that you kept your light on!!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler9 months ago

    Randy, this is so powerful and highlights just how we are when we are young. I think you captured the angst in all of us then. Funny how it usually works out just fine! Thanks for sharing.

  • Ahna Lewis9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this piece of your story, Randy. Your writing is engaging and thought-provoking. Through these dark times, I am glad you have still persevered!

  • Loved the quote at the end. Excellent writing Randy. Will we find out about the other times you died?

  • Jordan Flynn9 months ago

    Maan looking back realizing how dumb, or blind I was when it came to girls trying to flirt with me haha.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    'There is a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in.' - Leonard Cohen I am glad that you made it to the other side, and that you did let that light in... Thank you for sharing this.

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    Engrossing and heart-rending. I know how this feels and it made me remember how a guy ghosted me because I didn't show up to a pizza restaurant. 30 years later I bumped into him in public and he asked why I didn't show up. Ironically I had forgotten the date until that moment because my cat died earlier that day. Life went on, but I cried into my pillow many nights over a boy who was angry with me for not showing up. Thanks for posting this! It was sincere and raw, and touching. I'm glad you're still with us.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I am pretty sure the girls you had a crush on had a crush on you, you just was not sure. I am glad you met your true love and you are married to her . It’s not your time, God still have a mission for you. I understand and can relate

  • I'm so sorry for all your failed relationships. Also so sorry you got stood up. What kinda people are they to not even have the decency to let you know that they can't or don't wanna come? And I'm so sorry no one realised how not okay you were. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Colleen Millsteed 9 months ago

    The courage it takes to bare one’s heart Randy is immense and this article carries us deep inside yours. It’s also a story I can relate to as I think many others will do too. Thank you for trusting us with this one my friend.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    It isn't easy to lay one's soul bear, whether to yourself in the mirror or to a digital web of strangers. I am thankful that you have let your light shine. And that you have found community that can receive and reflect your light.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I hope you don't mind if i ever borrow your onion metaphor. It so aptly describes my metamorphosis as it does yours. Your journey and your heavenly angel is one of bravery and triumph. I have started my memoir piece and deleted it a few times. Still not sure if I will be brave enough to submit it. You have given me hope now. I am so happy to make your acquaintance even though I have observed you from afar, things happen when they are supposed to, I believe. Blessings on your forward journey, keep smiling, keep shining.

  • Test9 months ago

    Life is difficult for all of us, and we don't get out alive... but I cannot imagine the heartbreak of being autistic and left alone to try to figure things out. I hope it feels good for you to share this, because it is a beautifully written and poignant perspective that more people should try to understand. As human beings we need to do better in embracing and supporting our brothers and sisters in our unique needs and desires💙Anneliese

  • Test9 months ago

    This is so well written, and the onion metaphor is so beautiful, tragic but incredibly beautiful. Thank you for sharing! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.