Chapters logo

Frances and the Messages

Kidnapped (This series is intended only for a mature audience. Viewer discretion is advised.)

By Mother CombsPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Frances and the Messages
Photo by Velizar Ivanov on Unsplash

The creep had taken off with Debbie. By the time I had caught up with the man, he was boarding the subway train with Debbie in his arms, and the doors were closing on the train car. Pain ripped through my chest, and I think if I could have screamed, I would have busted all the windows.

I stood in the middle of the station, ripping hair from my head. Wishing I could scream for the first time in my life, wanting my voice to ring out and bring down the walls. But I couldn’t and would never be able to.

Instead, I ran. I ran to the next station to meet the train as it was leaving. I ran on and on, getting farther behind at each station. I ran till I couldn’t run another step. Then I turned and walked the 20 blockers home because that was the last running train. I didn’t know what else to do.

Arriving home, I noticed somebody unlocked my front door. Cautiously, I entered my room and looked around. Nothing was out of place, but the bathroom light was left on. Walking to the bathroom door, I looked in and was shocked by what I saw. First, someone had replaced my shower curtain with one with a picture of Debbie on it; it looked like a missing kid picture on a milk carton now. Second, someone wrote on my bathroom mirror, “DO YOU KNOW WHERE YOUR GIRLFRIEND IS?” Third, whoever was in my house, blew up my toilet and left an envelope behind.

Opening the envelope, I read the note inside:

Frannie, Frannie, Frannie,

you can’t hide from me. I will always find you, my silent niece.

If you ever want to see your girlfriend again, meet me at 1356 Pocketbook Drive in the warehouse section of town. Make sure you come alone. She will be allowed to go once you turn yourself over to us.

Love,

Your Uncle

Greco

<^><^><^> <^><^><^>

Fuck! Damn it! I’d stayed ahead of my Uncle for so long. Now, I’d stayed in one place for too long, which put Debbie’s life in danger. Now, I was stuck between a rock and a hard place and didn’t know what to do. If I stayed, my life would be forfeit, and if I left, Debbie was doomed.

Going to the closet, I pulled my old knapsack off the top shelf. Taking it to the bed, I opened it up. Inside were two guns that used to belong to Dom.

She was out of bullets and would need to buy more, but that was no problem. She still had a wad of cash. So she pulled a couple of hundred dollar bills to pay for the bullets. In doing so, a folded note fell out of the money.

Unfolding the note, she read:

Dearest Frannie,

I know you had to go, but I will always miss you. Please remember, I am only a text message away if you ever need anything. If you need help with the person you are running from, just message me. I will make sure you get the help you need. Please don’t ever hesitate to do so.

With lots of love,

Goldie

<^><^><^> <^><^><^>

Staring at the note, I had an inkling of a plan. I was curious if I dared to put it in motion. If I did, would it be a big mistake, or would it be a success? I didn’t know, but it was the only plan I had.

Leaving my apartment, I headed out to buy some 9mm. bullets. I had a showdown to attend.

<^><^><^> TO BE CONTINUED <^><^><^>

Episode 1

Episode 2

Episode 3

Episode 4

Episode 6

ThrillerSequelFictionCliffhangerAdventure

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.