Chapters logo

CUT

Poem 22 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 4 min read
1

No longer can I sit down

And feel strange to

Myself.

{

Today is like any day.

{

Our eyes open and it’s

Either knowing what to do

Or trying to figure

It out.

{

Only one thing is certain.

{

We dance to the rhythm of

Chaos and sing for order.

{

Love be damned.

{

Love be blessed too.

{

I’m a lover once given

The position.

{

I’ll always be Mama and Papas

Little accident

{

As I will always be the seed

Who was given a chance.

..

I think of all the hours

Which have passed.

{

These are my fragments.

{

Visions strobe

In

{

And

Out

{

My cigarette burns without a voice.

{

Retrowave plays through my computer

As always.

{

Trevor Somethings electric sound comes from

Out the speakers.

{

I have this entire garage to myself.

{

The floor is cold.

Everything is fucked up.

{

Nothing is going to be right.

{

Yet, somehow the empty body is

Arise knowing perfection is only

A dream

{

The dream is flying out to Florida

At any time and hitting Miami.

{

The dream is going anywhere at

Anytime because I’d like to see.

{

The dream is a nice home with a

Billiard table in it. As well as

A room to work in.

{

The dream....

{

I gave Orlando a small reading in

The last few minutes I had on break.

“I feel your poems are so relatable”

He commented once I finished.

{

For me it is hard to respond to such

A statement because I’m doing as I

Feel and writing as I can.

It’s good to know someone finds my

Work substantial and accessible.

It is part of my goal and to achieve

It in a tiny way is almost surreal.

{

I have no real confidence.

{

I function to the best of

My abilities.

{

Only one thing is certain.

{

Shaky hands and

Nervous body.

A commonplace

Feeling.

..

If I wasn’t so damned focused on

My work and past experience I’m

Almost sure we would have made it

Further.

{

Another day rolls into night.

{

Another night will tumble

Over into morning.

{

you will always mean something

To me

{

While I sit in the spot looking for

An exit, a proper goodbye.

{

I’m moving on

..

I think of all the hours

Which have passed.

{

I think of all the hours

Which have passed.

{

I think of all the passions

Burning within and how it can

{

Only be kept in one place until

It explodes in my face.

..

This morning offers nothing

More than the same grey

Skyline and watery

Memories.

{

Life,

Work,

Life,

Writing.

Ink as it appears.

{

As a functioning alcoholic I realize

What kind

Of fire I’m juggling in my palms.

{

My corruptions get the best of me

At times but I never act as if

They are not there.

{

I can be a bastard.

I can be a piece of shit.

I can be a combative little devil.

I can be a pervert.

I can be a shadow.

I can be a drunk moron.

I can be a destructive child.

{

My work is not gentle

But it is soothing.

{

This artist continues to work with

What’s been given.

{

By most mornings I’ll

Have to start picking

Up pieces.

{

For those with an imagination

I salute you.

{

This page only shows that

I existed at one time.

{

Our days are still dissolving

Second by second.

{

There is nothing else but to

Pursue the dream.

{

I function to the best of

My abilities.

With a chemical brain,

Black lungs,

Racing heart,

And a tough stomach.

{

The dream...

The dream…

{

Words will never be capable of

Describing what it means to me.

}

Filter to Blood and Urine

Poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.