Chapters logo

Bangkok the City of Angels

My journal from my travels to Thailand and Bangkok

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
1
The Grand Palace

Coming from the quiet and serene Japan, Thailand felt like a good contrast of life. The busy and noisy streets except in the morning when you can see the bhuddist monks walk. Whether it was dancing to a club or live music until 4am or staring out at a rooftop bar at midnight, Bangkok truly stole my heart.

I learned more about the do whatever makes you happy sort of life that the Thai people live. Between locals making sure I always ate well or was enjoying myself ; again it was humbling to live out a meager existence by choice. I ate more street food than I could handle whether it was fried bugs or local food, it all went down the same. I laughed, I cried tears of joy and I sat on the toilet for hours regretting my choices at times. This didn't stop me from exploring and trying more foods because the food was just too damn good to give up.


I saw the beautiful Bhuddist temples, the glistening golden Bhudda statues and the magnificent forests of Thailand. I even had the rare chance to see elephants in the wild and to see how curious they were about us. How can I describe such a grand creature in its own habitat,grazing around without a care in the world. Once again I was reminded just how small I am in this world.
I participated in all the local rituals and prayers while giving thanks to Bhudda. This was the first time in 10 years I was finally able to return the same kindness a Bhuddist chaplain gave to me while I was in Afghanistan. That man saved my life without even knowing it,but I was able to give thanks to the religion he believed in and gave love so freely to those in need. He never judged, he never made me feel lesser than and he always stood up for what he believed was right even if it meant looking like a fool in the process. A lesson I am still learning how to incorporate into my life.


Another remarkable experience I had was with an Ajarn tattoo Master,named Master Fu. I highly recommend anyone wanting to get a holy Sak Yant tattoo to book with him. His professionalism and attention to detail is astounding. His family was more than welcoming and made me laugh throughout the process. It is truly something special watching a master create his art and I will carry this masterpiece with me for all of time. After the tattoo was completed by stick and poke method, Master Fu says the holy blessings and you go through the magic ritual. The entire process gave me goosebumps and left me feeling energized afterwards. Because it was directly after that I met an amazing woman who I was blessed to share the last week of my journey with in Bangkok. A local Thai woman as cute as can be and we danced the night away till 4am. It felt like something awakened in my soul, and I can't quite describe it. I felt lighter, I felt unburdened. No longer bound by uncertainty, no longer participating in the same vicious cycle of trauma. I felt free. My soul was rejoicing and buzzing around.



It was through her I remembered that life is finite and all we have are these fleeting moments in life. Predestined or not, people are meant to be met for a reason and there are no co in life. also remembered that plans change. Things don't always go the way I want them to and sometimes you have to adapt in order to appreciate the time you are given. So I extended my time in Thailand for a few days to get to know her better. I also had to change my plans because of the war in Israel but that's neither here no there.

I am reminded of all the pain, work and tears I put into changing my life in order to become the man I've wanted to be. How growth is scary and necessary but few are willing to do the work. I would not have the capacity to appreciate this world, these journeys if I were still battling my own alcoholism. I spent the last 2 1/2 years sober, working heavily on myself and learning to express myself as I am not who I think I should be. These seemingly small but grand adventures are a constant reminder that putting expectations on anything will only spoil the moments. Instead I choose to leave it up to my higher power and cherish what I am given with the chance to continue to seeing the world.
As always I want to end my journey here in Thailand with some gratitude. Gratitude towards the kind and loving Thai people who accepted a farang like myself. A culture brimming with life, and full of history that makes this bright-eyed child inside of me content. Gratitude for the love shared and the food I got to try any chance I had.

Memoir
1

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Beautiful. You even got a tattoo for a souvenir!!! I can see you having a book on your world travels someday! Look forward to reading your travel stories. Its like YouTube on Vocal

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.