Chapters logo

Assumptions - The Beginning- Chapter Four

Colton Grey - June - Summer Before Senior Year

By Izzibella BeauPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Image created using DALL-E AI

Start at the beginning with the following link

___________________________________________

I heard the thud and clang of the metal door closing behind me. I was sealed out, not in, as I was eighteen months ago. Today was the first time I’d been outside the juvenile detention center since I was brought here the summer after ninth grade. Sure, me and the other inmates had yard time, but it was always supervised and never anything outside of the compound’s razor-electric fence.

Why was I incarcerated, you ask? That’s a matter for another time. Just say, every moment I spent in this place, I was planning revenge for a crime I didn’t commit. The question to myself was, who was I going for first?

I met some interesting individuals during my time here. Like school, you find out quickly who your friends are, the pretenders, and those who would stab you in the back if the circumstances were right.

I tried to keep in touch with my outside friends as much as possible, but we all know life gets in the way, and things change when you’re not there in person. Ash and Reagan were the only ones who knew the real reason I was sent here. They knew the truth. They’d been there for me since the beginning.

But I knew their loyalties were divided. Reagan was friends—besties at that—with her. The one who put me here. The one who was second on my list of taking down and destroying.

But first things first. I had a score to settle with someone oblivious to the storm heading her way.

I grabbed my belongings, which were just a gym bag containing the clothes I wore into the place. That time seemed like a lifetime ago. I was sure the outside had changed as much as I had.

I thanked the guard sitting at the release desk. Yes, I kept my manners, even though most of the time I felt like telling everyone to fuck off. There was no need to get nasty with people who could’ve made my life even more miserable when I was here.

Most, but not all, the guards were half-decent. But, yes, there were a few who had it out for everyone. I was lucky to stay under the radar and not be singled out like some of the guys were.

I fist-bumped Tony, the janitor. He’d been at this place as long as I had. Cool guy, a little slow, but he still got his work done and made sure we all had semi-clean places to sleep.

The summer heat hit me as soon as I walked out the door. I took in a breath of fresh air and let it out slowly.

I.

Was.

Fucking.

Free.

My parents should be at the entrance, waiting to pick me up. All I had to do was go out the last set of doors, pass the gym yard, on the outside this time, and walk down the sidewalk to freedom.

I heard the sound of a basketball being rippled and the calls of ‘I’m open.’ The boys were in free time.

I kept close to the fence line. I wanted to at least have one last ‘see ya.’ With most of the guys in my pod, I had their backs and they had mine. There wasn’t much I wouldn’t do to help them out.

“Yo, Grey.” My man Dom called out once I got in their line of vision.

Dom was a wild one. Whereas I was completely innocent of all charges, and just wait and see what happens during the court proceedings my parents initiated. Dom, well, he was guilty as charged. The boy loved his weed and guns, too bad they were an ugly combination together. He was the same age as me when he came in, fifteen, but he would most likely be here until he was twenty. But the dude didn’t seem to mind, he said it beat home life and the street any day of the week.

“You are checkin’ out?” Another kid called out as he shot a hoop.

“Yep. I did my time.”

“Hey,” Dom called out once again. “Don’t forget the name.”

I knew exactly what he was referencing. My man pulled through when I needed him to.

“It’s one I couldn’t forget.” One final salute and I was out.

FictionYoung AdultRomancePlot TwistCliffhanger

About the Creator

Izzibella Beau

An author, screenwriter, and content writer. I love to interact with my readers. Leave a comment and let me know what you think of the stories or connect on all social media sites,

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IBWritten by Izzibella Beau

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.