Chapters logo

1999

A Little Prince Rogers Nelson

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
1999 by Prince Rogers Nelson

Introduction

This is the story before my second millennium story. When I started on Vocal I never expected to get anywhere near two thousand stories but the one after this will be number two thousand.

This is going to concentrate on 1999 and Prince Rogers Nelson related stuff.

1999

1999 is the fifth studio album by American singer-songwriter and musician Prince, released on October 27, 1982, by Warner Bros. Records. It became his first album to be recorded with his band the Revolution. 1999's critical and commercial success propelled Prince to a place in the public psyche.

I remember buying this on vinyl and then CD and it still gets a lot of plays. When it came out 1999 was seventeen years in our future, and though we knew it was coming it still was sort of a surprise, sort of like this story. I never thought I would be posting Vocal Story 1999 but here I am writing about it.

While I am pivoting this piece on the album by Prince, I am not sure whether this should be part of Beat or maybe it should be part of Chapters because it is part of how my music and writing often coincides and collides.

The first two songs on the album (the title track and "Little Red Corvette") are brilliant singles and I bought those as well as the album. I was 25 at the time and still living in Lancashire having spent some time in Southport where Juliet was born, then Tarleton where Kirsty was born and they both went to their first school.

As I said, I never expected to be here, but there is a very good reason why I am and my Vocal Creator friends know why that is.

So enjoy the two Prince Rogers Nelson songs I have shared with you, and if you don't have the album, why not? Don't listen to it on Spotify, buy your own copy.

Thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate your love and support.

RevealMemoirInterludeHistoryEssayAutobiography
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    Congrats on your prolific Vocal career. I love Prince and this song. I graduated high school in 1999, but the song did not get chosen as our theme song at prom (I voted for it 🤷‍♀️) I didn’t care much for prom or high school 🤣 Here’s to 2000 stories 🎉

  • Excellent, iconic & from my neck of the woods. (Minnesota Twins, North Stars & Vikings were the closest teams to Watertown, South Dakota when I was growing up. The Twin Cities were just a field trip.)

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is a fascinating bit of time travel with Prince as well as a reminder of his musical genius. On this album he reinvented Funk, blazing a trail for future artists to follow!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    What a great song, I remember, listening to this my sister growing up. 

  • I was wondering why this was in Chapters rather than Beat but you explained it! Looking forward to your 2000th piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.