BookClub logo

Values Learned from Non-Fiction Literary Pieces

Books Recommendation

By Tanvi PuniaPublished 25 days ago 3 min read

In every piece of literature, there is a message to be told. But every literary piece creates different kinds of values to share.

Today, I'm pleased to share with you the values I've gained from these four masterpieces of literature before signing off on this subject.

First, "Three Days to See" by Helen Keller. It is an American essay and I'm perplexed by how come the author who is blind and deaf can create such an extraordinary piece. The one who can't see and hear even had much more appreciation for the world that only those who don't have a disability could enjoy. The first value that sank in my mind in reading her essay is that we must learn to explore new perspectives to enhance our sense of gratitude. Because most of the time, we take for granted the things we see, thinking that it's ordinary and as usual as before. However, this piece teaches me personally to see the world with gratitude through a fresh perspective. By the author's observation that only few could seize, I gained encouragement to appreciate the blessings in my own life, thanking for what I have, and taking care and giving consideration of what aheads of me. Hence, it makes me become more appreciative of the meaning of life and the permanent spiritual values that this piece gives me. Knowing that God gives us an individual's ability to discern what a fulfilling life means. And that starts with cultivating an attitude of gratitude and creating a new perspective whenever we are in.

Next, the autobiography of Benjamin Franklin is entitled "The Whistle". In this piece, I gained the value of being mindful of our priorities in life over material wants. His experience of buying a whistle and realizing how he was inclined towards unnecessary items afterward strengthened my perspective that there should be an act for change. As the author emphasizes not to give too much for the whistle helps me have self-awareness of what my desires could lead me to. Thus, it helps me understand my motivations, values, and emotions that drive me to pursue certain goals. I consider this piece as one of my wake-up call to perceive the things that needs more my attention in life rather than to what I believe could satisfy me.

Another piece that touches my heart is the "Of Studies'' by Francis Bacon. The author highlights the value of knowledge and learning as a significant asset of education. Particularly it gives me eagerness to love reading, since I grasp that it is a step towards intellectual growth. According to him, we are to "read not to contradict nor to believe, but to weigh and consider". As a learner, I realize that I am not to react immediately to the author's perspectives, but to approach their ideas with an open mind. Considering the message of this piece, I am reminded to actively seek out new knowledge, insights, and experiences through reading. Thus, having a deep interest in exploring different worlds, perspectives, and ideas through different literary pieces, I may find fulfillment in my learning growth.

And last, "Our Country Relative" by Solomon Arnaldo. It reminds me of the specific value of hospitality by showing sincere consideration for guests regardless of cultural or social differences. As I discovered that the story revolves around a two contrast treatment of the country living and city life. I see that the idea of showing favoritism or discrimination by the living situation of people should be eliminated. We are not to give preferential treatment as they may reflects to a judgmental attitude. Instead, we are to extend a high level of hospitality and consideration, treating all individuals with respect, kindness, and equality, regardless of their background or social standing.

You can get all these books at TrueGether, the best alternative to eBay out there.

Reading ListGenreDiscussion

About the Creator

Tanvi Punia

I help Individuals, Coaches, Businesses, Founders, Entrepreneurs, & Marketers to grow in their businesses through Social Media by creating & designing visual content that aligns perfectly with their brand, values, and voice.🤝🏻

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tanvi PuniaWritten by Tanvi Punia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.