BookClub logo

Turtles All The Way Down

A Book Club Challenge submission.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 6 min read
12
Turtles All The Way Down
Photo by Pedro Novales on Unsplash

I always enjoyed the Green Brothers. I remember watching their informative videos during high school for various classes. Their ability to make learning fun and accessible is something I've always admired, and I was a huge fan of John Green's YA novels during my adolescence.

That said, I didn't think I'd be revisiting John Green in adulthood, but I reluctantly did. I joined a virtual book club that never fully made it off the ground, but the first book that was chosen by the group was Turtles All The Way Down.

I didn't know what this book was about, just that the author was familiar to me. To be honest, I went into it very uncertain. I was almost irritated that this was the book that was chosen. I pretentiously felt there certainly must have been more mature options for us to read. I wasn't sure if this book was something I would enjoy, and I definitely voted for something different to read that month. But alas, this book was the winner, and I would comply.

I was eager to make friends and communicate with others my age, which is something I seldom get to do due to the nature of my remote employment. In 2021, I moved to an unfamiliar place with a drastically small population and a culture that does not mirror the one that I know. A lot of times I feel like a loner and an outcast, welcomed only by faces I know in avatars and profile pictures, which is suitable enough for the time being.

Now, the book club didn't end up meeting even once. My dreams of connecting with new friends didn't come true. And if I'm being honest, I didn't even do the first reading when it was scheduled. It was canceled last minute with no plans to schedule the next meeting, but I paid for the thing, so I decided to dive into the prose anyway and see what the book was all about.

Turns out, I couldn't put the damn book down.

While the mystery component of this novel was compelling, that is not the reason it captivated me so. It was the detail Green put into his depiction of mental health and downward spirals that had me on the verge of tears. The familiarity of his main character's feelings and the way he wrote them were something I knew so well.

Excerpt from page 45 of Turtles All The Way Down by John Green.

The way he employs the second person point of view, talking to the reader, telling them what they are experiencing through his protagonist, putting them in his main character's shoes. Though I'm not a teenage girl and my "invasives" are not based around infections, I was able to become Aza through his descriptions.

I empathized with the way she would spiral out of control. I felt what she was feeling. I watched the scenes play out through my own eyes. Checking the bandaid. Sanitizing. Putting a new bandaid on. Checking it again. Picking at it. Obsessively worrying about this wound she tried to hide, a wound that would not heal; an incredible metaphor for mental illness.

My "invasives" spiral out of control when I think about death. It's a truly vicious cycle. I debated writing this out of fear to bring myself to that place, but that place is a wound that will not heal, talking about it won't make it any worse than it already is, and hiding its existence will not make it any less real.

Excerpt from Page 19 of Turtles All The Way Down by John Green.

I know I will die one day, but that fact is something I am not willing to accept. I hope that with time and age, I come to find that acceptance, but it's hard for me to wrap my head around the concept of non-existence. All the familiar slogans such as "It'll be just like before you were born!" or "Accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior and find eternal life!" do not do anything for me. They do not bring me comfort in this existential dread.

We live in a day and age where so much information is available to us thanks to the wonder that is the internet. I can Google just about any question and get an answer, and I'm a curious person, so I Google a lot. However, there is one thing I will only find the answer to once, and that uncertainty keeps me up at night.

Excerpt from page 93 of Turtles All The Way Down by John Green.

Where does our consciousness go when we die?

When I think about the size of the Universe, my chest begins to tighten. My breathing becomes shallow. I become small, insignificant, and meaningless. It's not just my death, but the death of everything I know and love. The death of humanity itself. When the Earth is swallowed up by the sun some trillions of years from now, how will we let the Universe know we were here?

How will we memorialize the wonders of our creation? Civilization. Cities. Artworks. Architecture. Love. Heroes. Sacrifice. Honor. The beauty of consciousness and the human spirit is indescribable. The things we have achieved on our small blip in the timeline are insurmountable. Our existence is a miracle in itself. Amazing. Wonderous. Unreal. I mourn its inevitable loss and curse myself for not having any power to stop it from happening.

Why? Why do we do what we do? Why do we exist? Why must we stop existing? Questions, playing on repeat, plaguing me. Questions with no answers. Infuriating. Impossible. Unrepentant. Intruding my mind, over and over again. Spiraling, like the ceiling fan above my head. Round and round it goes. Unlike a ceiling fan, I can't willingly turn it off. It decides when the show is over. I have no control.

Excerpt from page 5 of Turtles All The Way Down by John Green.

The fear of death and destruction of the Universe then causes panic attacks that lead me to believe I am actually dying.

Vertigo. Increased heart rate. Erratic breathing. Lightheadedness. Tunnel vision.

Heart attack? Aneurysm? Stroke?

I make sure my left arm isn't hurting. I have to be certain there is no radiating pain permeating from bicep to chest. I look at my eyes in the mirror to make sure my pupils are the same size. I put my arms out in front of me to make sure one isn't sagging. I sniff the air to be positive that I cannot smell burnt toast. If I do, I make sure it's because my partner is, in fact, making toast. Delusional. Paranoid. Stuck. It's terrifying. Nauseating. Even if I'm not dying, I then begin to worry that I will simply worry myself to death.

When I read Turtles All The Way Down, despite my loneliness, I felt less alone. While mine and Aza's feelings are not "normal," per se, it's comforting to know I am not the only person who experiences these reeling emotions. While distressing, they are not impossible to deal with, though it would be nice if they didn't "invade" my life on a constant basis.

Excerpt from page 55 of Turtles All The Way Down by John Green. Quote attributed to Toni Morrison.

John Green put to words something I had never read before. He made a point to put the reader in the driver's seat through second-person narration. He wanted people to know exactly what intrusive thoughts feel like, and he did it well.

While a book written for teenagers, I found so much value between the pages, even as a 20-something adult. This coming-of-age story depicts a strong protagonist going through the turmoil of adolescence with her best friend by her side as they try to discover the mystery of Russell Pickett's disappearance. It deals with class divide, the intricacies of first loves, and the importance of friendship. But the most important part of this book for me is its honest, vulnerable, relatable depiction of mental illness.

ReviewFictionDiscussion
12

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I too have a particular anxiety issue, and I hear you here, thank you for sharing. Perhaps I need to read this book!

  • I made a comment the other day on another piece of yours saying that I don't understand why people are afraid of death. Now after reading this, I do and I'm truly sorry for that comment that I made. It was never intended to be an insult, offensive or hurtful but if it made you feel that way, I'm so sorry Ashley. I hope you can forgive me 🥺 The only books by John Green that I know is The Fault In Our Stars and Paper Towns. I've not read them but I did watch the movie for The Fault In Our Stars. It wasn't my cup of tea and also, movies never do justice to the books. I really loved the excerpts that you've included here because I was able to relate to them. I too have downward spirals and panic attacks but for different reasons than yours. I'm glad this book made you feel less lonely.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Ashley - While watching (60) year old sitcoms due to the writers strike; such a shame. Happy to see most are going back to 'Cracking-a-Book' - Although as an 'English~Prof' in the works - glad you seem to grade me on a curve. Jay

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    This seems like a book I want to read now

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Inevitability is something that becomes more comfortable the older you get. I know this from experience. If you want to lighten things up read my story Being Dead. It may make you laugh, or at least smile.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    You are expanding my list of books...and horizons! 🐢

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great review!!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Wow, Ashley! This was so compelling and fraught with suffocating emotion. I applaud you on this; a truly fantastic piece, challenge or no. These questions that plague you, I think are very common in people, especially in cultures like America, where we don't act out our beliefs, and instead dwell in a constant disharmony with what we see and what we know to be true, in our souls. I find comfort in knowing that most of our lives are manufactured: the drama, the routines of day jobs, economics, politics, etc., and look forward to a time when that burden (the rat race or simulation, if you will) is lifted and we can actually live how we were meant to. I would find non-existence quite terrifying too, as it doesn't ring as truth to my spirit, part of that disharmony, I think. I say it brings comfort, and it does. Other times, though I feel quite angry that it's all manufactured. I so want to comfort your fears after reading this, but I am glad that this book has at least helped you not feel so alone.

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Turtles all the Way Down... is a cool title! 🐢 Turtles don't have to be so nervous with their armored carapace, but they do have a tendency to withdraw! Very insightful look at death and fear, and a lot to take away from this. Good work!

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    What a great review, and as someone who can also have moments of spiraling anxiety, I appreciated how this had a positive ending. Moving to a new smaller town does indeed sound isolating, and the book club that never met disappointing. But it's good to hear you enjoyed the book, and that John Green's books have some good lessons for YA readers as well as adults. And random thing, I thought the way you used photo excerpts with different fonts sizes really worked well.

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    This was so beautiful, Ashley! I must confess I haven’t read this book (yet), but The Fault In Our Stars was such a staple book for me in high school. Also, Looking for Alaska. I totally agree with you that YA still has something to offer adults. Especially the Green books, which I find often have uplifting messages of independence and fierce defense of joy at their centers. Fantastic job with this piece. Now I’m off to put it in my library cart lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.