BookClub logo

My Antique Library

A look into some of my oldest books.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 6 min read
9
A snapshot at one part of my antique library.

I started collecting antique books a few years back, and have since been very lucky to inherit an established collection from my step-father-in-law last summer.

The thing I love most about old books are the words left in their margins. I find it fascinating that no matter how much things may change, some things tend to stay the same.

Today I want to share some of the older pieces from my collection, particularly the ones that stick out to me as little blips on the timeline of humanity.

Victorian Era copy of Longfellow's Poems

Inside of the Victorian Era copy of Longfellow's Poems

Now, this is something I'm still working on verifying. The last name "Borden" may be familiar to anyone who knows of a famous double homicide that took place in Fall River, Massachusetts, 6 years after this copy was signed.

My father-in-law says that he is related to those Bordens, he also says he's related to a certain prolific poet from Massachusetts, but we'll talk more about that later, probably, maybe, perhaps... We'll see.

Anyways, I like this book because even though it's falling apart, it's in relatively good condition on the inside. It was clearly well-loved, and when I have the courage, I will try reading through it, though I do try to handle these books with care as much as possible to avoid them falling apart.

Victorian Era Language Textbook

Inside cover of Victorian Era Language Textbook

Being an English major, this one is near and dear to my heart. It's an English textbook from the Victorian Era, and it's in immaculate condition for its age.

Copy of Shakespeare's "Merchant of Venice"

Inside the copy of Shakespeare's "Merchant of Venice"

I love this one very much for the little doodles drawn by Borden D. Billings, my step-father-in-law's grandfather...? Great-grandfather? I should probably ask him... (If it was his grandfather, then Borden's childhood books may be sitting up on a shelf that he, himself, built. Yes, the one pictured in the header image for this piece. I'm very lucky to have inherited such heirlooms, ones I'll continue to treasure.)

Either way, the train doodles are adorable, and boys have always been boys, haven't they? There are more Borden doodles to come, and I think people will get a kick out of them. I know I do.

3 separate copies of Uncle Tom's Cabin

The top copy was published in 1912, the bottom left copy was published sometime in the early 1900s with no explicit date attribution, but the bottom right... The bottom right copy is a verified 1852 first edition of Uncle Tom's Cabin, though I only have my hands on Volume II.

Were I to have Volume I, well, let's just say they'd be my most valuable books by hundreds, if not, thousands of dollars. I like these books because Uncle Tom's Cabin is such an important story in American history, with its widening the chasm between the North and the South in terms of their views on slavery upon publication. Though the context is much more complex than that and an essay for another day.

Inside cover of the 1st Edition copy of Uncle Tom's Cabin

1840 Algebra Textbook

I just wanted to add this one because it's the oldest book on my shelf that I can verify. An 1840 Algebra Textbook that I will never look at past the front cover... Lol.

Calling Book 1941

Calling Book 1941

This one isn't very old, but I like that the ribbon has been bookmarking this page for who knows how many decards. Do I know why it's open on this page? No, I have no idea. I'm not even sure what a calling book is used for to be completely honest. But yeah, I guess this page must have been important to someone at some point in time. It's amazing how red that ribbon still is too.

Now on to my favorite topic... Victorian Era autograph books.

Victorian Era Autograph Book

1885

To Millie Borden - - - -

Happy New Year + best wishes of

Mrs. T. E. T. Mosher*

Forgive me if I get some of this wrong. Cursive isn't my strong suit, but I will try my best to transcribe some of my favorite notes from this little book.

* this means I'm not sure if I've transcribed the word correctly.

August 9, 1888

To Millie

Some friends may wish thee free from eare,

others joy and wealth.

Some may wish thee blessings rare; long

life, and perfect health.

My wish for thee is better for than all

others have given;

That when you from this would depart

your soul may rest in Heaven.

August 9, 1888 Carrie A. Oshauder

January 12, 1885

Millie

In that blessed book above

Record of eternal love

May your name forever slaind*

Beautifully engraved by own saviour's hand.

Jan 12.th 1885 Anna L Kruse*

March 31, 1885

To Millie;

In memory's wreath may one

bud be entwined for me.

Your friend,

Jennie Oshauder

March 31st 1885.

Victorian Era Autograph Book

May 15, 1889

To Millie

May just enough clouds be yours

To make a beautiful sunset.

Your loving friend,

Florence Burt

May 15, 1889

Undated

Millie:

May your joys and sorrows

Make you strong, lifes race to run,

Till the lips of smiling angels,

Greet you with the words, "Well done"

John A. Staudon*

April 12, 1886

To Millie

Patient waiting is often the highest

way of doing Gods will.

Your loving mother,

Sara Borden

April 12th 1886

July 11, 1888

There are few friends in this

wide world

Whose love is fond and true,

But, Millie when you count

them o'er

Place me among the few.

July 11th, 1888 H.* Robinson

March 8, 1890

May your road through life be one of

peace and happiness.

Your school-mate,

Fannie E. Moundy*

March 8, 1890

The thing I love most about these is the way they read as poetry for the most part. It probably says a lot about the society Millie was living in at the time as well, with the frequent mentions of God, God's word, and the way that people portray their well-wishes.

I'm beginning to think we should all start carrying around autograph books for little words of encouragement from the people we come across, no?

This next one may or may not be a treat, I'm not too sure. Perhaps, maybe, we'll see.

Rhetoric Textbook from 1844

The cover of this book is unimpressive. It's a plain brown hardcover titled Whatley's Elements of Rhetoric. It's an English textbook of some sort published by Harper and Brothers out of New York. The only verification I have on its date is the "1844" written in pencil on that first page, but I did Google and it seems to have been published originally in 1833. If that's the case, this may be my oldest book, though unverifiably so.

The writing on that first page though, has me perplexed. My step-father-in-law does say he shares relation with the Emily Dickinson. Could this "Dickinson" signature be a relative of the prolific poet? I don't know, but it's the only word I can kind of make out on the page, which makes sense considering the book is nearly 200 years old at this point. The first word may be Emeline? Emeline Dickinson? Hmm...

I've tried to do some research to verify, to no avail. All I know about these books is they had been in the Massachusetts area for a long time and all I have is my step-father-in-law's word about his ancestry. That's truly all I've got on the matter. What do you think about it? Maybe a relative? Just a coincidence?

Whatley's Elements of Rhetoric Cover

I'm going to end with some more doodle improvisions by Borden D. Billings.

Franklin's Autobiography

Inside Cover of Franklin's Autobiography

Title Page of Franklin's Autobiography

Love Borden's use of the carrot to change Benjamin Franklin to Benjamin Franklinstine.

Ancient History Textbook

Inside cover of the Ancient History Textbook

Doodle from the back of the Ancient History Textbook

My favorite doodle of all is the spill-the-beans joke that comes at the end of the ancient history textbook. There were also doodles in the margins of this book, which goes to show, school kids have been bored with their subject matter for a long time.

I hope you enjoyed this trip down memory lane at my little Antique Library. I may share more in the future. Thanks for reading!

Discussion
9

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Thought I commented on this. Odd. Anyway, just wanted to say thank you for sharing some of your collection and your enthusiasm. Old book smell must be filling your place! I'm intrigued by all the Emily Dickenson connections. If it's completely true, that's amazing! Thank you for sharing this. I think I said thank you twice lol!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I loved this so much like I wish I was there ! This was neat! I don’t have anything like that, but love all things books and libraries. All the poems and such & you trying to make out the names made me feel like a detective. Don’t know how I missed this amazing piece Ashley. 📚 ✨

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    This is excellent!! Thank you for the tour, it was extremely interesting - what an honour! I especially loved the autograph books, the little poems are gorgeous! I am inspired to make one of my own!

  • Lol, I loved the doodles! Also loved the Victorian era autographs! Cursive ain't my strong suit either so no worries, lol!

  • Jūlija @beeofjuly9 months ago

    Yes, we should absolutely start carrying around autograph books. Amazing collection, it's beautiful to see those writings and doodles from people who lived long ago, to have this tiny glimpse into their lives.

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    Antique library, definitely! loved the doodle arts and your rocket ship tattoo

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    Beautiful insights into your collection. I love the doodles too. It's wonderful to think of all those years, all the hands that touched the books, read them and loved them. Awesome stuff! 👍💙😊

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    You have some great collector’s items. I love vintage pieces. When I was in Italy I wondered if the creators ever imagined that what they made would look for centuries. Interesting story.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    I really deeply appreciate this piece and look into the oldest section of your library. Has both huge personal and historical interest. Thanks!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    You have a real fortune here...and I am not talking about cash! Remarkable specimens of work... 📚

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    beautiful collection

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.