BookClub logo

Seduction in the Spirituality Section Came With Way More Perks

There Are Books You Read and Books You Have Relationships With

By The Dani WriterPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 7 min read
6
Photo by Joe Arts on Pexels

When you grab an unknown book out of curiosity and then open it to a random page to 'get a feel'…sounds kinda sleazy, doesn’t it?

But it's true, I made ‘a pass’ at a book.

Not my first (swear it won’t be the last.}

But THIS book and I sustained mad passionate cortical climaxes in the spirituality & religion section with none the wiser. The first three sentences devoured and I already envisioned us walking down the aisle to the cash register. We’ve been inseparable ever since.

Never happened with the boyfriend though.

Boy versus book. Go figure.

‘Felt-up’ book rests on my computer desk, serene and eager for the backstory telling that I just now realized I’ve never shared. This story. Something exponentially personal and life-altering, being divulged in the perfect format. A literary one.

Photo by Lil Artsy on Pexels

I am the OG booklover, bookworm, and bibliophile in triplicate, and the first bookstore I worked as a sole employee became the backdrop.

Yes, there were more bookstores. Don’t ask. I won’t tell.

Yes, I’ve heard the jokes. The book lover in charge of books? Like asking an alcoholic to tend the bar ain’t it?

Near entire paycheck spent on books?

Yeah, yeah, YEAH! I worked for books, alright!

But my scenario…far worse (meaning better.) I had free reign to order books for the store with plenty of time to read. Thus…all it took was an understated white cover with a basic illustration to catch my eye, yield the first page, and whisper:

“Who says two and two are four? Think about it. Just because it’s physically manifested in apples and pears?

I would like to play a delightful game.

Throw it all up in the air and ask yourself ‘Two?

’What indeed does ‘two’ mean?

If all things are ONE the whole illusion of two is nonsense.

So two and two make One, don’t they?

And four and four make One and six and six make One.

There. You’ve just reclaimed your brain.”

-Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love (p.197)

My brain, not yet enamored with mathematics, struggled in a world that for the most part didn’t make sense. That kind of isolation is…well, pretty darn isolating. Growing up, I wasn’t like the other kids, so why would I be like the other adults? Reading that first quote led to lifelong connection. Less pay. But more books. Again.

So. Worth. It.

I felt guard rails around my mind fall away. The socialization schmuck force-fed after successive years stuck to the insides of neurons like microscopic leeches now blasted off on the highest power washer setting.

Photo by Monstera on Pexels

And here’s the thing… technically, the book's content wasn’t by a person per se.

Please don’t freak out.

Don’t freak out-don’t freakout-don’t freak out!

It’s channeled material.

Basics: A sentient being from another realm channeled answers through Pat Rodegast whilst Judith Stanton recorded the process. An introduction by Ram Dass, the cherry on top.

Confession: I follow truth and don’t get fussed about the packaging. If an inebriated alcoholic shrieked the dangers of alcohol abuse…still truth.

Nonphysical entities? No biggie.

But hey, did you notice the word “love” in the title?

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

Ooh yum! Sure hope that lends curiosity and softener to the mix for this mind-altering read.

A series of questions posed from simple to ultra-complex, for a nonphysical being speaking through a person. ‘The Choice for Love’ is Chapter 1:

Fear says, “Put me in a house with a roof and locks on my door and I will believe I am safe for a moment.”

When you are loving, you are under the open sky and possibilities are infinite.

Contrary to Chicken Little’s expectations, the sky never hurt anyone.

There are no guarantees.

From the viewpoint of fear

none are strong enough.

From the viewpoint of love

none are necessary

-Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love (p.14)

From Emmanuel, I drank deeeep. Still do.

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

It gets even better.

Try an instant age refiner from Chapter 6 ‘Seasons of the Mind: Youth, Middle Years, Old Age’

Emmanuel, how young am I?

You are eternity plus half a second.

You are all ages and no age.

You are born every time you breathe and you have lived forever.

Do you see how foolish a calendar is?

-Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love (p.14)

This top-tier gamechanger made for the easiest of adjustments. When you throw away the clock on aging, some miraculous changes take place physically and energetically as you simply focus on living life in fullness. For well over a decade in my current jurisdiction, the two or three people who’ve ventured to ask my age out of bewilderment and curiosity get my customary answer.

“I’m ageless.”

As a standard requirement in clinical environments, I fought battles my way by asking patients, “How young are you sir/ma’am?”

I started a trend.

Gotta smile about positive trendsetting.

Photo by Polina Kovaleva on Pexels

And then Chapter 7 ‘Dragons and Other Dilemmas of Being Human’

What is guilt?

Guilt is second judgment.

It is looking at oneself in hindsight and saying,

”I really ought not to have done that.”

But, my very dears, if your really “ought not to have,” you would not have.

Know that at the moment of happening, it was all appropriate. If you have learned since, that the act was not what you would choose now and you feel guilty, know that the act itself has brought you to this understanding. That was all it was meant to do.”

-Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love (p.65)

Every question posed addressed aspects of innumerable life conundrums I’d received no satisfactory answers for.

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

Early in childhood, I became the kid in energetic freefall in whom no one sensed an imminent death of consciousness. My foibles stayed constant at the forefront of my thoughts. Combined with the ickiness in the world and the harsh words peers sometimes threw my way, I found I couldn’t shrug it off like those around me naturally did. It permeated my sleep. Gave my fear three solid meals a day with snacks in between. Survival to adulthood would not happen without implosion. And imploding I was. Steadily. Painfully and silently as only Cancerians can do.

The pressure constriction release given by this book created a set point in my life that I have not and will never fall below.

This previously unknown Emmanuel became the best gift a twenty-something could receive since I now possess a cognitive M.O. that flips everything as standard. Shakes it around. Tests against essential elements. Makes me the thinker who doesn’t acknowledge a box, so I never fit in or worry about one. This philosophy positively supports my relationships. I let people be who they are because I fully accept who I am. This reasoning affects my path and purpose in life. And without a doubt, infuses my writing voice and communication style.

By Daniel Schludi on Unsplash

I live these teachings and keep a lookout for resonance of it everywhere.

Still finding LOADS.

And should I ever falter, I have the best solution-focused template. A reset button that cannot be destroyed.

Not bragging.

Sharing.

Because I am giving you one of the best book recommendations of my life.

With or without the book physically present, I’m saturated with its quintessential lessons, wisdom, and guidance. I 'high-five' the "Unseen Uncle" who gifted a perspective that grounded me. Lit my passions to full blaze. A light being who reached through inexplicable laws of physics and space-time, touch-transformed all of me, which led to the 'me' who is authentic constant metamorphosis unceasing.

And the best way of saying thank you?

*Pushes book forward*

By Dollar Gill on Unsplash

“Ask your higher wisdom if it is not true that without worry you would have arrived exactly where you are and more pleasantly?

Doubt is the rabbit’s foot of fear.

Worry and fear are not tickets on the express train.

They are extra baggage.

You were going that way anyway.”

-Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love (p.6)

Photo by Jue- on Pexels

***

References

Rodegast, P. and Stanton, J. (1989) Emmanuel’s Book II The Choice for Love. New York, New York: Bantam Books.

***

Thank you so much for reading my story! Your time investment is valued more than I can express. You can view more of my work below.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

ReviewRecommendationNonfictionChallenge
6

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Interesting, mind-expanding, inspirational & fun. Adages to shake the mind, help us to adjust to the moment & move onto the next. Great review/recommendation, Dani.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Sand Sea Sistar, your passionate review is awesome and amazing!!!💕❤️

  • I thoroughly enjoyed this read and this is a book that I feel certain I should read! Thank you Dani 🥰🙏✨

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Would you say this book has had an influence on your writing? Has it influenced your voice, or is that all you 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.