BookClub logo

Ain't No Monologue Like A Vagina Monologue

That Era-Defining Book Women Can Use As Validation Vindication and Righteously Vitiate Ignorance With

By The Dani WriterPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
8
Ain't No Monologue Like A Vagina Monologue
Photo by Nikita Tikhomirov on Unsplash

The script became the play that became a book, or a playbook, or generations of unspoken thoughts and feelings that needed to 'scream-yell-and-tell' like there was no tomorrow because there wouldn’t be. Not without us and our vaginas. Yep, vaginas. But such awful things happened to them. And kept on happening to them. And a massive silent public didn’t seem too outwardly bothered enough.

Enter The Vagina Monologues.

Thank you, Eve Ensler.

Woman Warrior brought the fire.

And 'V-day,' a movement to eradicate violence against women.

And clarity that couldn’t be muddied for all the mud in mudland.

Photo by Wallace Silva on Pexels

I don’t remember how this happened, this book and me.

Who saw who first, play or book?

Sometimes the most important thing is that you meet. The smaller details fall by the memory wayside.

These books and I became fierce allies. I say “books” because I bought another copy after I found the first one was missing a page. A page to end all pages. This quote from Natalie Angier’s Woman: An Intimate Geography:

“The clitoris is pure in purpose. It is the only organ in the body designed purely for pleasure. The clitoris is simply a bundle of nerves: 8,000 nerve fibers, to be precise. That’s a higher concentration of nerve fibers than is found anywhere else in the body, including the fingertips, lips, and tongue, and it is twice…twice…twice the number in the penis. Who needs a handgun when you’ve got a semiautomatic.”

-The Vagina Monologues “Vagina Fact”

I hate guns, but hey, not my metaphor.

Worth the price of another book to have that page though.

Author photo of personal copy: 'The Vagina Monologues'

The totality of my girl-teen-lady life plus other women in their billions who didn’t have access to this knowledge. Information. Research. Basic anatomy for crying out loud. Reading this material unveiled a lot of mysteries for me, gave rise to even more questions, and brought some delayed righteous rage necessary for healing.

Finding out about Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) and being traumatized speechless. The screams, catastrophic blood loss, infection, and lifelong complications with risk of maternal and/or fetal death.

Being reminded of the time as a young teen when a friend’s anesthesiologist sister explained how women weren’t meant to give birth lying down. Cue the King Louis XIV story she shared about his perverse desire to watch the many women and girls he impregnated endure the birth process in a position that allowed him to see better

...Healthcare professionals acting like certain complications come with the territory and perineal tears are acceptable outcomes. Absolutely frickin’ not!

And the way every woman’s anatomy and physiology had to squeeze into strict parameters like the brassiere designs of yesteryear. You could not be in between sizes. It was forbidden.

Oh no, something wrong with you if you weren’t cookie-cutter everybody else.

I usually went for 6-8 months without a period, so my body was wrong. The doctors ran every test that would not confirm my necessary 'wrong status.' Then one stated matter-of-factly that I go on the pill to “regulate” my periods. Still in high school and had never been sexually active…my Mama said no even before I could. In my young understanding, menstruation was a package deal. I never thought that you could ovulate and not have a period.

Two children in later years with no problem and the epitome of fertility back then.

Moron of a doctor.

In total absorption of the words from women’s personal accounts in The Vagina Monologues, two things crystallized in tandem for me over successive readings:

1. Lack of knowledge and awareness allowed others power over women’s bodies.

2. Devastating patriarchal infrastructures would continue (unless knocked to the effin ground) making men the control beneficiaries.

Ensler’s book became a battalion beacon connecting me to other women and girls sharing personal accounts that didn’t keep men as sole narrators of our story. Flashed a fleeting childhood memory of “Edith” on long ago ‘70s American sitcom 'All in the Family' where she articulately questioned why it was menopause and not “womenopause.”

My young mind never stopped questioning after that…

Menstrual cycle/menstruation/menses/menarche/menopause—Sheesh! Did men have to have their signature on everything because they didn't own a semiautomatic?

If men had an organ like the clitoris, would we not hear about it shouted every day from the rooftops?

What warped sadistic mindsets feel justified raping women and girls as a weapon of war, or revenge, and why do they still draw breath in states of freedom?

“When I returned to New York after my first trip, I was in a state of outrage. Outraged that 20,000 to 70,000 women were being raped in the middle of Europe in 1993, as a systematic tactic of war, and no one was doing anything to stop it. A friend asked me why I was surprised. She said that over 500,00 women were raped every year in this country, and in theory we were not at war.”

-The Vagina Monologues (p.60)

Who has the audacity to speak with expertise on how a woman’s body should look, feel, react, function, etc. when they are not this or any other woman?

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels

Do you know where to shove your statutory guidelines if *plot twist* men could get pregnant? (Methinks Roe v Wade would be made constitutionally irreversible tomorrow.)

And wouldn’t men just love to have a pelvic exam?

What a relief to find out other women not only hated them but were just as utterly disgusted by them as I was.

“Then there’s those exams. Who thought them up? There’s got to be a better way to do those exams…My vagina’s angry about those visits. It gets defended [sic] weeks in advance. It shuts down, won’t “relax.” Don’t you hate that? “Relax your vagina, relax your vagina.” Why? My vagina’s not stupid. Relax so you can shove those cold duck lips inside it? I don’t think so.”

-The Vagina Monologues “My Angry Vagina”

I still have periods of seething. Less threat of GBH charges but seething nonetheless.

This book helped me feel less alone, more self-aware, and empowered. Gave me a voice and waited, as a seedling biding its time, for me to get into the healthcare profession and be a force of reckoning. I remain passionate about women’s health and take every available opportunity to empower women and inform men. Of course, I don’t know everything, but I do know I won’t stop this journey, and I sure know how to chuck statistics back in some faces with evidence-based research and qualitative methodology.

What the right monologue can do!

V-Day is ‘Make Us Free’ Yay!

By René Porter on Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading my story! Your time investment is valued more than I can express. You can view more of my work here.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

ChallengeReviewRecommendationNonfictionDiscussion
8

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    This is powerful. I love it. I have Endo and this hit home for me. ❤️

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Amazing how you followed through, a real life changing book.

  • Your words reminded me of Ina May Gaskin. She said, "If men had an organ like the uterus, they would brag about it. So should we." Your point about lack of knowledge and awareness made me think of "Our Bodies, Our Selves" - a really powerful book, and the public response to it was telling. This is a searing piece, and yet there is so much you haven't mentioned, because to tell it all would take pages and pages and a million words... How would a man like a pelvic exam? How would he like it with a dozen students in the room in the middle of labour? How would he like to know he might have had one without his consent while he was under aneasthesia so that some students could practise? And then we have the "husband stitch"... Thank you for this, brilliant and I will be sharing x

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    The tin foil hatted bit of me wonders if that page was missing on purpose 🧐

  • Preach this loud & preach it strong, sister! Everyone needs to hear this: women for the encouragement & empowerment that only your community can bring; men so that we get our heads unstuck from our asses & become human for once.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Bravo!!! Entertainingly and informatively written!!! Sand Sea Sistar, loved it!!!

  • Raising very serious issues whilst leaving us feeling like this is still a relatively light, easy to engage with article. That’s a skill! I really enjoyed (and learned from) this, thank you Dani 🙏❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.