BookClub logo

Reading fiction for the first time in 10 years

My thoughts on “My Sister, the Serial Killer” by Oyinkan Braithwaite

By DeSheaPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
Reading fiction for the first time in 10 years
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

“My Sister, the Serial Killer” is a murder mystery novel written by Oyinkan Braithwaite. The story is about a meticulously clean nurse named Korede and her beautiful little sister, Ayoola, who happens to be plagued with murderous intent. After years of cleaning up her messes, Korede has to choose to protect Ayoola or Ayoola’s unsuspecting lovers. The choice is obvious until the day Korede’s longtime crush Doctor Tade becomes one of Ayoola’s unsuspecting lovers.

It’s been a decade since I read a fiction book for leisure. And even longer since I read a murder mystery. “My Sister, the Serial Killer” was a great reintroduction to the genre. The first page was only two sentences long but that’s all it took to hook my intrigue into the story. About a third of the way through the action and mystery fell a little flat in my opinion. But halfway through the novel it picked back up and had me flipping from page to page eager to see the sisters outcome. The ending was not what I was expecting, which I liked, but it definitely was satisfying and creative.

The novel is well written with a fresh story line. It is a fast and fun read. It has mystery, romance, jealousy, murder, and much more. I would definitely recommend it.

FictionRecommendationAnalysis

About the Creator

DeShea

I'm a writer, reader, crafter, foodie, traveler, and goofy goober. I'm hoping to find inspiration to create art for art's sake and finally post my writing. I write flash, creative nonfiction, queer stories ,romance, sci-fi, & more.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DeSheaWritten by DeShea

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.