BookClub logo

My Book Wishlist

Based on my old Goodreads list and books that people have suggested to me.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1
My Book Wishlist
Photo by Kimberly Farmer on Unsplash

My book wishlist is low at the moment. I bought a big chunk of them, and I still haven’t had time to read them all yet. Currently in-between four books at the movement, but there are some that I really want to get, and I might save for my Christmas Wishlist.

This book would be perfect for me. I enjoy plant-based foods and foods like tofu, veggie sushi and pumpkin are some of my favourite foods. From the times I have flicked through it in the shops, it has given me ideas of where to go to when I am next in Tokyo. That will be ages away for sure, and I hope some of these places will be open and doing business by then. The book is beautifully crafted, well illustrated and full of information and everything pops. Would love to own this at home. Especially if I can get the next book on my list because they can be book buddies.

Japanese cuisine is usually associated with seafood. I went to a Japanese restaurant last night and I loved their miso soup, vegan rolls and asparagus homosaki. I would have happily bought this book myself if it wasn‘t £40 in the local bookshop. It seems to have gone down a lot since then. I’ve been waiting for it to either go on sale or see if I can find it at a charity shop. I might ask for this book for Christmas. From the reviews, it sounds lovely, especially when one of the reviewers said that the author adds some humour and wit into the recipes.

If Indo get this book, I hope there will be a miso soup recipe. I always order miso soup when I am in a Japanese restaurant and would like to be able to make it as good as they do in the restaurants. I’ve tried Miso Soup from the packets and I don’t why, they just taste revolting and salty.

I have heard some great things about this book. The premise of coffee, music and sapphic love appealed to me. It came up on my book recommendations, but I haven’t been able to see it in any physical bookshops or libraries. I mean, it is easy to get a book online, but I prefer getting it in an actual store. Perhaps I could order the book online and pick it up if it was available to me. I like the title, coffee sonsta because I think it matches the book blurb. If I get it, I expect it would be a very sweet pick-me-up novel.

Someone in a writing group recommended me this book. I’ve not come across it yet in my travels, but it looks like it could be a compelling book about LGBTQ+ figures. I imagine it will be an empowering and informative read.

This was another book that was suggested in the same group. We had a zoom meeting for Pride Month where we shared our favourite books relating to Pride. This was one of the ones that came up. I spotted it in the National Poetry Library and in my local bookstore. I need to read the books I already have before getting more, but this book is something I think I would really enjoy.

A friend of mine in a different group chat suggested this book. She said ot was really good and one of the best books about autism. It looks like it can be a good that removes the stigma of autism and to remove the shame and guilt of masking that so many have been doing for years. Most neurodivergent people can sense neurodiversity in others. I can’t always, but many that I know can.

Reading List
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Interesting list... I may have to hunt for the Ruth Hunt book. ;)

  • Test7 months ago

    Your love for reading and your diverse book interests are truly commendable. It's a joy to see someone so passionate about expanding their knowledge through literature. Enjoy your reading journey!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.