BookClub logo

Look! the Book

The Very First Book

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 8 months ago β€’ 5 min read
Top Story - September 2023
31
Look! the Book
Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

The majority of people do not remember the very first book they read, let alone the very first word they read.

I do, very clearly. Thanks to some unfortunate circumstances.

The first word I read was 'look'. I read it in 'Look!' the book.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I cannot show you a picture of the book in question. I have been looking all week and driven slightly crazy by the search! I work in a library with extensive records of every book ever published, excluding any radical ones.

Either 'Look!' the book had a massive political undertone which I was too young to understand, or it is simply too old and obscure to find.

Whichever one it is, I am simply unable to find a picture of it, so I shall describe it to you.

'Look!' the book followed two children searching for something around their house. The colorful pictures showed them searching under beds, in the laundry basket, and around the living room. Every page had one word on it.

'Look!'

By Sigmund on Unsplash

As a child, I was very slow learning to read. It is unclear as to why this was though I am now pursuing an ADHD diagnosis as an adult, so perhaps I could not pay enough attention to keep up.

Nevertheless, the problem stood for long enough for me to be taken aside by a teacher and given some more guidance on a daily basis. The school must have also let my mother know, as she also gave me some extra storytime at home.

I remember being quite excited by the attention at first, before I realized it was because I was not learning fast enough. Suddenly, it was like life had filled my school backpack with heavy rocks. Desperately sad was little me, when others ran ahead, and she was left to wade through more difficult waters.

It was the kind of sadness I now recognize as the type I started to feel as a teenager, just much earlier. I hated it. I hated myself for it.

By Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

One day, my mother presented a book to me at bedtime. It was called 'Look!' and we sat down to read it before I got tucked in (I loved being tucked in!).

"Lock!" I burst out enthusiastically, immediately reading it wrong.

My mother did not correct me. Instead, she asked me to sound out the word slowly.

  • L - Luh
  • O - Oh
  • O - Oh
  • K - Kuh

"Lowk?" I said again, knowing it was wrong, but having no other answer to give.

She then asked me to add the O's together, like a musical note.

"Luh oo Kuh"

"Yes!"

There are not many moments in my life where I have felt proud enough to burst but that one is top of the list! I read for the first time ever! I did not just 'look' at the words (irony not lost on me here), I was understanding them!

My memory is so sharp when remembering the feeling of something 'clicking'. The word slipped into my mind, never to be forgotten again. It is a memory I treasure. I proved a horrible little hateful voice in my head wrong.

'I can do it! I can read!'

I kept that feeling in a pocket in my brain. I think I knew I would need it later.

By La-Rel Easter on Unsplash

Children develop 'milestones' at different rates for innumerable reasons. It is important that a child's confidence is not knocked by developing slower than the average curve.

For a long time, I was very discouraged by my slow learning when reading. It did not come from my lovely teacher, nor my lovely mother. Instead, it came from my little classmates, and myself. I was a harsh critic towards little me, and my classmates did not like me much anyway (they had complaints of my boisterousness!). Then, my confidence in reading and writing took another massive knock when I did not pass one of my English GCSE's and had to retake it a year later.

If you had asked me at any point before the age of 16, I was rubbish at English and I would never become much of a reader, let alone a writer.

Thankfully, I love the world of fiction too much to let it go. I wanted to read easy, and write my own fictions. As such, I have worked rather hard with myself over the last 8 years to rebuild my relationship with the written word. I have kept the echoes of that memory to cheer me on.

'I can do it! I can read!'

As it turns out, I can also achieve a Master's degree, a job at a library, and my own fictional writing hobby on Vocal. I can do so much more than little me believed of herself, poor thing.

I wish I could let her know that I am so brilliantly happy to be at this point in my life!

All thanks to a little girl and her book, who showed me I could read.

'Look!'

I kept looking, honey, I kept reading, and I got our confidence back!

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

A/N: Gosh, this is rather personal for me! Though, it felt like the right time to tell this story. I hope you like it! I teared up when writing it, little me would be so so happy to see me writing! It's what she always dreamed of doing!

Keep 'look'ing everyone!

Socials: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Twitch!!

Challenge
31

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh, This was so heartbreaking, but inspirational too. I feel sorry for little you, but she's you now, and you're a great writer, great reader and done so much since those formative days. Thank you for being open and sharing your story here. Shame you can't find the book, but the fact that you remember it so vividly shows how impactful it was.I would be very surprised and annoyed if this does not place at all in the challenge. Well done and congrats on this getting Top Story! Sorry, as I know I am reading this long after it was published!

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer8 months ago

    I love this, I can feel the pride of little-you shining through your story 😁

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Truly inspiring piece, very thoughtful and poignant personal narrative! Love it

  • Paige Garth8 months ago

    This is beautiful!

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Great memory to look back on. Congrats on top story, friend! I also got top story this week( high five).

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Little me. I loved this so much. Glad that you kept your love of fiction and found a love for writing. I think we look for what the average child can do in terms of milestones and fear if they're not met but what is average anyway? Development is not linear. And exams as a measure of success? To that I blow an enormous raspberry. Glad you found your voice. Congrats too on a well deserved TS.

  • Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽ‰πŸ“πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸ˜‰πŸ‘Œ

  • Incredible memory πŸ˜‰πŸ’―πŸ‘Œβ€οΈπŸ“Thanks for sharing πŸ‘

  • This is practically perfect. Caught my eye while scrolling, then I read the whole through though because it was just so simply lovely. Very happy for you. :)

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    I can't recall the storytime book I used to read. I think it was Dr. Suess? Lol. This was so cute, and totallymade me curious. Now I want to find the book and... I guess LOOK at it lol

  • Big Dreams8 months ago

    I don't remember my first book or word, but I do remember the first word I couldn't read, which was "eye". I remember the frustration and trying to figure it out for myself and I would let my mom help me. I think I was a bout 4.

  • Omolola Osunde8 months ago

    This is inspirational... Wow

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Yay!! Congratulations on Top Story! πŸ’–

  • Marie Wilson8 months ago

    Thanks for sharing that story! A true success for you, with the ability to encourage others. Many thanks go to your mom for helping you out and getting that book for you. Moms are the best. Congrats on TS!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh8 months ago

    Outstanding piece. This word "look" works on so many levels. I can well imagine your childhood self being so proud of who you are and what you have accomplished. I am too!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Wow... I love how moving, inspiring and deeply personal the piece is!! I love that you were able to shed some light on your upbringing, struggles and am important event that helped build who you are today! I love your drive and that you persevered through the hard times because without that we wouldn't have your amazing stories (my favourite being the fables) that you write today! Congratulations on Top Story, so happy for you!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous and uplifting story!!! Loved it!!!

  • Uboh Daniel8 months ago

    Please, I just wrote my article, kindly rate it for me so that I can do better https://vocal.media/gamers/glory-on-the-pitch

  • Test8 months ago

    This is so poignant and such an uplifting story, I have tears in my eyes as I type. I loved this so much. 🀍 I also just couldn't help myself from going a bit of hunt...It isn't this one is it just on the off chance? https://www.jacketflap.com/bookdetail.asp?bookid=1595720227 Probably not but thought i'd share anyway πŸ˜‚ Lovely story-Thank you for sharing! And congrats on Top Story also!

  • Test8 months ago

    This was so wholesome and educational. Thank you for sharing :)

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Like it? I think it's gorgeous. I love how you've fought for little you, and look at you now! Also, that book really rings a bell for me....

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    A remarkable and sweet story about the discovery of a talent. Excellent!

  • Gosh, this was so heartwarming! Your younger self would be so proud of you for not giving up! Look! You made it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.