BookClub logo

Goodnight Mister

My Comfort Book

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Goodnight Mister
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I am taking yet another break from my regular fictional tales to celebrate the four new communities on Vocal. This time, it is Bookclub's turn!

I thought I would write a little about my comfort book and why it is a rather strange choice for such a role in my life. When times get difficult, I find myself reaching for the yellowed pages of my old copy (not the fancy hardback edition my mother brought me as a gift - that is for display only) and finding solace within them.

Naturally, this will contain spoilers, though I would classify them as minor.

Goodnight, Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

My old, well-worn, copy of the book. You can see how much I have read it!

Goodnight Mister Tom tells a simple story of a fictional World War Two evacuee named William Beech. To escape German bombings over London, William is evacuated to the countryside, where he lives with Mr Tom Oakley.

However, bombs are not the only thing William is fleeing from. In London, William lives with his mother, who is a cruel, abusive, woman. When he arrives at Mr. Oakley's house, he is described as: 'thin and sickly looking, pale with limp sandy hair and dull grey eyes'. Reluctantly (for reasons which contain major spoilers!) Mr. Oakley takes him in.

It is a simple premise but what then unfolds is the saddest, happiest story I have ever read.

The fancy copy that sits on my shelf! No touchy!

My favorite bits

Through the eyes of a child, the reader is witness to experiencing the natural world for the first time again. To keep this at a suitable length, I will detail two of my favorite scenes, including my all-time favorite:

William meets Sammy

There's a sheepdog in the book named Sammy that belongs to Mr. Oakley. When William meets the dog he is terrified as his mother had told him they were all poisonous. In fear, William grabs a branch off the ground and tries to beat the dog. Mr Oakley spots him and grabs the stick, throwing it away. In that split second when he holds the stick over William, the boy believes that Mr. Oakley is going to beat him instead.

Then, calmly, Mr. Oakley takes William inside to explain the dog to him. As he does, he tends to a fire with a poker. It quickly becomes apparent that William now thinks that Mr. Oakley is going to punish him by burning him. William faints and vomits.

Now, why on earth is this one of my favorite scenes?

Well, it is Mr. Oakley's reaction to William's trauma that makes this so special. He takes William's fragile body in his big arms and holds him out of a window so he can breathe better. It is clear that he has absolutely no idea what he's doing as a guardian and yet, he does exactly what William needs, allowing him to take big gulps of fresh air.

On a more personal note. I am no stranger to panic attacks or trauma responses. Without saying too much (I'm not quite ready yet!) I can say that this scene is masterfully written! I felt everything William did, and the comfort of strong arms, fresh air, and a poor soul just as confused as he was is the perfect way to introduce the main characters at a deeper level.

Later in the book, Sammy demands to be lifted into William's loft bedroom to sleep in a wicker basket at the foot of his bed. William makes his peace with dogs quite quickly because of Sammy's enthusiastic companionship.

Chapter 4: Equipped

The day after the Sammy incident, Mr. Oakley takes William on a shopping spree. He had arrived in the countryside with very little and thus, Mr. Oakley feels it necessary to get him some appropriate clothing that can stand up to the elements.

In between finding him some warm clothes, Mr. Oakley finds the time to treat William at a newsagent.

"one sweet and one comic," he said sharply. "Choose".

It is a gruff, commanding, thing to say. William quickly realizes that he has never made a choice for himself before. He chooses a strawberry lolly but panics about the comic book as he cannot read. Surprising them both, Mr. Oakley promises to read the comic to him at bedtime.

This is a beautiful scene for many reasons. Mr. Oakley was commanded by William's mother to only read him bible stories, so reading the comic to him feels like an exciting break of the rules! It is the first time the reader sees Mr. Oakly soften a little, taking down his walls of stoicism and showing that he cares.

On a personal note, I was a slow reader when I was young, and bedtime stories are likely the reason I am a writer today. My heart is warmed when I read this. Children only need a little care to unlock their interests.

The chapter has much more to it, but I shall try not to spoil too much!

By Museums Victoria on Unsplash

Summary

The book frequently reminds the reader that it is set during wartime. There is death, mental illness, and terror around every corner. That is what makes the book so good to me. There is a harsh reality that it does not ignore. Instead, it offers up the alternative of a beautiful countryside life of peace. It is beautiful. To paraphrase Mr.Oakley, it blows the cobwebs away.

Without spoiling too much, seeing the relationship between the two grow is beautiful. Mr. Oakley needs William just as much as he needs him. Seeing William grow socially is also extremely charming. He starts as a struggling introvert and slowly becomes part of a varied and funny friend group.

Magorian's writing is classic and easy to follow. So easy that the emotional moments are quick to land. She writes with a classic voice fitting the era; plain and comprehensive. Despite this, she does not lose a single jot of detail.

I would strongly advise you to do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this book if you are in the mood for a harrowing yet extremely comforting tale!

When/if you do, you can tell me why I find 'the leather boots' so tearjerking!

By Anna Dudkova on Unsplash

My socials: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Twitch (join me live most Wednesdays)!!

Book of the YearReviewRecommendationFiction

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Awww, you had me at Sammy! I gotta check this book out! I enjoyed reading this!

ThatWriterWomanWritten by ThatWriterWoman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.