Blush logo

Where Do I Start?

late 20s and clueless about make-up

By Katie DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Where Do I Start?
Photo by Dmytro Lopatin on Unsplash

I've had a love-hate relationship with make-up for as long as I can remember. I remember my aunt buying me blue eyeshadow when I was a pre-teen, because I wanted it ... I think I used it once? Still not sure if it was just the wrong colours for my face, or if it looked awful because I didn't know what I was doing. (Maybe both!)

My best friend did my make-up (as well as my hair!) for my graduation photo. I asked her to make it as natural-looking as possible, which I think she did ... but I (personally) still noticed the make-up when the pictures came back. I hated the way I looked -- I think no matter what she did, I would've seen my face as too unnatural-looking.

I talked to someone within the past few months about make-up, asking her about her thoughts on using it for professionalism ... she basically said we don't need make-up to be considered "professional", which was a relief for me. She's in the same industry I'm training to get into right now, life coaching, and I was genuinely worried I wouldn't get clients if I didn't start wearing SOMETHING on my face.

... So, after all of these experiences, why do I still secretly (or, I guess, not-so-secretly now) desire wanting to learn about make-up? Am I missing something from my life that I don't realize? (I can't think of anything right now ...)

I know that if I were to use make-up as a creative outlet -- to play, to explore -- it would become one of my most expensive hobbies. I can't justify spending money on something I won't use. I tried that a couple years ago; I bought a couple make-up palettes and some lip glosses ... that I maybe used twice. I thought I was ready to take on the new challenge of make-up, but I guess I was wrong. Now, I'm scared of taking on that risk.

There's also other things to consider. For example, when I was researching different make-up brands, I came across a list of companies that either do or don't test on animals. I'm not a vegan, I don't live a lifestyle where I'm normally considerate of things like this, yet I had this compulsion to make sure, if I do start wearing make-up, I wouldn't buy from brands that are cruel to animals.

To combat the risk of spending 100s of dollars, I considered ordering monthly Ipsy bags, as a starting point. It could be a jumping off point for me, finding products in a less-expensive manner. I'd still have to learn how to use them, but I've seen some YouTube videos of people showing how their Ipsy products work. So I keep coming back to this idea. However ... what if I get a sample from a company that isn't on PETA's list of acceptable brands? Do I throw it out? Do I give it away? What's the protocol with this?

I do love the way I look without make-up -- I've been complimented on my skin, I'm proud of how my face naturally looks. I think this is part of why it's taken me so long to come around to the idea of wearing make-up. But will I still feel this way in my 30s? 40s? What will happen if I try to learn this information later in life? Is it better to explore NOW?

Is wearing make-up really all that fun? Is it worth it to TRY? Is it something I WANT to spend my precious time on (given my multitude of other interests I still haven't gotten to)?

As you can see, I still have SO MANY questions around the topic of make-up ... which is maybe a sign that I'm NOT ready.

So, I guess my place to start is finding some answers.

makeup
2

About the Creator

Katie Dawn

I am a young woman from Canada

I am an Aquarius sun, Taurus moon, Capricorn rising

I am a reader, writer, lover of words

I am a multi-passionate individual

I am studying to become a Life and Creativity Coach

I am an open book

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.