Blush logo

The Mythology of Bastet

Transformation into a mthyical creations

By Dominique HousePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
Model and makeup by Dominque House Photo credit: of Takeisha Jefferson JTCheri Photography

The Bastet was originally a fierce lioness warrior goddess of the sun worshiped throughout most of ancient Egyptian history, but later she was changed into the cat goddess that is familiar today, becoming Bastet. Mythical, Dark, Majestic, Feminine, in all its being. the design you see was inspired this Statue.

Bastet Stargate guard helmet

Here's a few Facts About Bastet

Often depicted in illustrated scenes surrounded by kittens

Her name changed during the New Kingdom to add an extra “t,” which is more feminine

Honored by worshipers with golden jewelry, as cats were associated with riches and royalty

Considered a good mother and had two children of her own

Most honored deity in ancient Egypt

Holds a sistrum in her right hand, which is a percussion instrument popular in ancient Egypt

Holds an aegis with a lion’s head in her left hand, which is a protective shield made of armor

Sometimes called the goddess of dancing and singing

While, my own personal beliefs lead me to believe this is all fun fiction, everything about the Bastet inspired me to embrace this mythological creature.

As a Mother, and A Leo I foound the Bastet rather relatable.

As a Leos are also ruled by the Sun. A women who struggled with infertility, sickness, delivered to once more bare children. to spread Happiness, and joy to women and children as I often do as a makeup artist and face painter. As an artist this transformation was the first I made using prosthetics, something competely out of my comfort zone.

Foam latex cat nose prosthetic

the Process

When diving in to create Face and body art, I am sure to use skin safe FDA complient and cosmetic grade products. Make sure the skin is clean free of oils to allow the prosthetic adhere well to the skin using proaside, applied both the skin and the prosthetic. Apply the prostheic once it very tacky the adhesive is clear. using a dense sponge to apply black theather makeup. Using a q-tip and water to remove the black paint from the areas I wanted to place the gold. Final step is adding flat back gold gems. with latex free eyelash glue. I hope my transformation inspires you as much as it did I.

Follow me on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/colorful_events/?hl=en

Follow me on tiktok https://www.tiktok.com/@dominiquehouse7?lang=en

Follow me on faceboo khttps://www.facebook.com/dominique.house.10/

Products used :

Mehron Mixing liquid

Mehron gold powder

Wolfe black

Prosaide by Dazzle glitter tattoos

Lashes by Lotus Lash

face
2

About the Creator

Dominique House

Let me be completely honest, as a wife and busy mom, making life fun is one of my natural job descriptions. Not many of us, have the pleasure of being so happy with what we do. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE WHAT I DO!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.