Blush logo

The Magic of Makeup

How Makeup Can Transform Your Well-Being

By Anabel HudsonPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

When I was growing up, makeup was used for special occasions and in moderation. I never saw it as a form of self-expression until I reached my late teens to early twenties. Now, I am addicted to the transforming effect it has. It's not all about the looks I create but the products themselves. I love getting a new palette and swatching the colours up my arm. Grabbing all my lipsticks and wondering which colour would go with the look I am trying to achieve. Looking at pretty, shiny, glittery things makes me really happy!

Due to the diversity of social media and streaming channels, I am able to sit with my laptop, phone, or tablet and watch every type of makeup look possible. I love watching videos of beauty gurus trying out new items from every brand on the market. I especially like how luxury products are now so easily accessible. I could never justify the expense of a Tom Ford Bronzer or the Sisley Primer. I enjoy watching the items being sampled and discussed without the high price tag!

I was also shocked by the male beauty gurus. Not that they are male and wearing makeup, but how awesome their makeup looks! I am in awe (and very jealous) of their skills. There are five youtube channels that are my die-hard faves:

  • NikkieTutorials: Tutorials and reviews (Posts up to twice a week)
  • Tati Westbrook (a.k.a. GlamLifeGuru): Tutorials, reviews, wear tests, etc. (Posts five days a week!)
  • Manny MUA: Tutorials and reviews (Posts usually every week, sometimes more)
  • Jeffree Star: Tutorials and reviews (Posts usually every week, sometimes more)
  • Laura Lee: Tutorials and reviews (Posts usually every week, sometimes more)

I have learnt so much from watching these channels and love how my own skills have dramatically improved over a short space of time. These channels have also influenced the products that I have purchased. They have given me the confidence to try new things, like moving away from the same old neutral colours!

Since piling on a ton of weight (due to medication), I have been resorting to makeup to help me feel sexy again. It is a huge shock to the system to go from a size 0 to a size 18! Doing a full face glam has made me feel sexy and desirable again. I love how a classic smokey eye and bright red lips can transform me into a confident person.

I have also signed up for a ton of free websites, which have enabled me to try high-end makeup without having to pay a thing. Below are some of the items which I have sampled for free:

  • Chanel mascara
  • MAC mascara
  • Estée Lauder mascara
  • YSL foundation
  • Clarins lipstick
  • No7 lipstick
  • Bare Minerals foundation
  • The Balm eyeshadow

Having lovely makeup does not have to cost the earth. I have found that there are several cheap(ish) brands that are awesome! Below are some of the brands that I frequently use:

  • Makeup Revolution
  • Models Own
  • Elf
  • Maybelline
  • Revlon
  • Sleek
  • No7
  • MUA

Get your hands on a Superdrug Beauty Card and a Boots Card. You collect points for every £ you spent. I collect my points over the year and then spend them all on makeup, skincare, brushes etc. when the Christmas stock is reduced. Last year I made an absolute killing! I had over £100 worth of points, and brought products which totalled nearly £300 if bought at full price!

Keep an eye out for Superdrug offers! As a Beauty Card Holder, there are special offers available all the time. They are awesome with their 3-for-2 offers, which seem to be happening all the time—sometimes brand specific. They also have 1/3 off deals, and there are additional special offers on Thursdays! You have nothing to lose! Go for it and see how much you can save!

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.