Blush logo

The Evolving Skin Care Industry

Jai Smadi Skin Care

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Jazsmine Caprie, founder

According to Statistica, the skin care industry has a total value of $148.3 billion. The industry has grown at about 6% a year, judging by the global skincare market data. Today we have the pleasure of interviewing Jazsmine Caprie who is making waves, even in such a large industry.

•Tell us a little about yourself.

Jazsmine: I grew up in Maryland, Anne Arundel County to be exact; however, I am a Navy brat, so I was born on the beautiful island of Guam. Currently I’m living in Dallas, Texas, running my plant-based skin care business out of my kitchen. Making plant-based skin care hasn’t always been on my radar; my first love was fashion! My goal was to be a stylist in Atlanta and I did just that along with personal shopping, working on video sets, and organizing celebrity clients' closets. Eventually, I felt like something was missing so I went to California and realized I didn’t want to just be a stylist who could sew, I wanted to create a lifestyle brand. I went on to achieve my second college degree in Fashion Design from FIDM in Los Angeles. California was an amazing experience but I decided to move to Dallas a few years later to create a stable financial foundation. Little did I know God had other plans for me. I was actually moving to Dallas to expand my business into the lifestyle brand I knew I wanted.

•What was the inspiration behind your brand?

Jazsmine: Let me just say this, I didn't realize when I was creating my brand that I was also creating a skin care line. My ultimate goal was to create a lifestyle brand, so within my brand my two inspirations have been God “Jah” (Jai) and the state-of-mind I have to be in to achieve greatness. In life you have to be at a level of total consciousness “Samadhi” (Smadi) to understand your purpose. This is the level that I reached when I understood what God had called me to do. I never had bad skin; however, my skin scarred easily, and honestly, I just got tired of using over-the-counter products not knowing what exact chemicals were being used on my skin. Next thing I knew I was in my kitchen making Jai Smadi Skin Care. I wanted my company to be one that people could trust knowing their products are all natural.

• Why do you feel plant-based products are so important?

Jazsmine: It’s kind of funny because the answer to this question is the exact same answer I give to customers that ask me how will their skin benefit from my skin care line. The vitamins featured in plant-based skin care products are vital to maintaining the health of your skin. Some of the benefits from these vitamins are that they support cell restoration, they help decrease signs of aging, and they combat free radicals, which otherwise would damage our skin. There are key elements to a natural skin care diet, which include essential fatty acids like omega-3s and omega-6s, which are the building blocks of healthy cell membranes. These polyunsaturated fats help produce the skin’s natural oil barrier, which is critical in keeping skin hydrated and younger looking. These fats and acids offer a number of skin benefits such as helping to calm acne, fight dryness, combat oiliness, smooth scars, and increase skin elasticity. Not only do my products include all of these key elements but they also include essential oils, which have holistic healing properties that are used to cleanse, heal your skin & your mind!

•With the upcoming change in weather why is skin care so important.

Jazsmine: Quite honestly, any change in weather can affect our skin, whether it is cold or hot in nature. So for instance, being exposed to cold air can often result into dry, flaky skin or can trigger other conditions. This is why it is so important to use additional moisturizers, services such as facials, and proper protection such as sun screen as a complete skin care regimen. During warmer weather you want to be mindful that your skin can transition from normal to oily, leaving you prone to breakouts. Overall knowing your skin and how to treat it throughout the different times of the year is very important!

•What’s your best selling product?

Jazsmine: My best selling product is going to have to be every last one of them. That’s hard to say because they all sell well.

•What tips do you have for anyone looking to start a beauty brand?

Jazsmine: 1. Keep God first. That’s your guidance counselor!

2. Stay focused on where you're being led!

3. Document everything!

4. Consistency is key!

5. Know your why!

6. Test your product!

7. Pray!

•Any upcoming events or projects?

Jazsmine: I am currently working on my second pop up shop in Dallas, TX, so look out for more information on that via IG. Also, I am so excited because I’m working on a face mask that will provide deeper hydration to use with the JaiSmadiskin ‘Revival’ set. Be on the look out for that as well!

•How can our readers connect with your brand?

Instagram/Facebook: @JaiSmadiSkin

Website: www.etsy.com/shop/JAISMADIBUTTERS

bodycruelty freefaceskincareinterview
2

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.