Blush logo

The Best Impulse Purchase I've Ever Made

You're going to want to keep reading.

By Monique WillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8
Photo courtesy of mykitsch.com

Temptation and impulse. The perfect combination to fulfill every marketer's dream. Have you ever wondered why the checkout lines at stores are lined with candy bars, magazines, and other random grab-and-go items? Hawkins Stern described this phenomenon as Suggestion Impulse Buying in his paper titled The Significance of Impulse Buying Today (1962).

Stern says Suggestion Impulse Buying “occurs when a shopper sees a product for the first time and visualizes a need for it.” This concept that we can be influenced to buy something just because it’s placed in front of us is fascinating. Stern may not have envisioned back in the 1960s how much of our commerce activity would take place over the internet, but his ideas have certainly been translated to fit the online world.

So now that we’ve laid the groundwork, let’s get into the time I gave in to social media marketing.

The Influencer

Influencer marketing has become increasingly popular over the years. So much so that being an influencer, what once seemed limited to celebrities, is now a viable option for anyone with a large social media following and decent engagement from their audience. It’s honestly the best thing that’s ever happened for companies because when people buy things, they want the person who’s selling to them to feel relatable. I personally ignore anything that a celebrity advertises because it doesn’t feel authentic. However, if someone like @honeygwuop encourages me to try a product, I’m more inclined to check it out. And that’s exactly what happened. I saw a post of Honey pictured with a beautiful leopard print satin pillowcase with a eye mask and hair tie to match. At the top of the post it read “Paid partnership with mykitsch”. Intrigued, I clicked through to their Instagram profile, hit the follow button and liked a few posts.

The (Short) Chase

Even though I wanted to, I didn’t make a purchase immediately. Maybe I didn’t want to accept my lack of self-control and remain in a state of denial. Instagram had other plans for me though. Now that I had engaged with the @mykitsch account, the advertising algorithms went right to work. Sponsored ads by kitsch appeared as I continued to scroll through Instagram. The ads also followed me as I switched over to my Facebook account (obviously because Facebook owns Instagram and my accounts are linked). Regardless, I didn’t need much more convincing. I opened the Instagram app back up, searched for @mykitsch, and clicked the website link in their bio.

The Purchase

Oh yeah, I've got receipts.

When I arrived at mykitsch.com, I was met with a rotating text banner at the very top. On the third rotation it read “Buy 3 get 1 Free”. Plus, they offered free shipping if you spent $30 or more. Oh they’re good. I mean I had intentions of buying something, but not four things. Unfortunately, I am one of those buyers who cannot resist a deal. So I perused the website until I found 4 items I loved. Those items were a microfiber hair towel, a satin lined jersey sleep beanie, a satin pillowcase, and a satin sleep set.

Buyer’s Remorse Sweet Satisfaction

I received a shipment notification that same day (hello great customer service), and the package arrived just a few days later. Now, the million-dollar question is, was it worth it? Abso-freakin-lutely. Here’s why:

  • The quality is amazing and so are the benefits – In case you didn’t know, using a satin pillowcase is extremely beneficial for hair and skin. Some of those benefits include reducing wrinkles, minimizing pores, and reducing hair loss/breakage. The kitsch satin pillowcases do not disappoint. The material is soft, cool to the touch, and breathable! I’ve also washed my pillowcases several times and I haven’t noticed any change in the color or material.
  • I’ve been getting the best sleep of my life - I admit I’ve never personally known anyone who wore an eye mask to bed. Even when I saw people wear them on TV, I just figured it was for dramatic effect and doesn’t actually help them sleep in any way. Well, I was wrong. It’s especially useful for those who need to sleep during the day or take power naps (like me), because it blocks out light and in turn helps you sleep better.
  • Wash days are so much easier - The real surprise out of everything I purchased was the microfiber towel. I have really fine, dense, and tightly coiled hair. Finding this towel that’s gentle on my hair (bye-bye frizz), “highly absorbent”, and large enough to securely hold all of my strands has been a life-saver. There is a button in just the right spot that keeps the towel in place on my head, which allows me to move around if needed while my hair continues to dry. No more large towels unraveling around my head (I never really mastered the towel wrapping art) as I try to finish up afternoon chores.

Lucky you. Your next purchase won’t be because you were swayed by a sponsored ad or social media influencer. You can make an informed decision based off an honest review. So go head over to mykitsch.com. Trust me, your hair and skin will thank you!

social media
8

About the Creator

Monique Will

Family over everything. Natural hair enthusiast. Writer. Lover of love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.