Blush logo

Slap On Some Makeup And Call Me A Catfish

Top 10 beauty recommendations that will make you go from scrunchies and sweats, to super mom.

By Kayla LindleyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Slap On Some Makeup And Call Me A Catfish
Photo by Gustavo Spindula on Unsplash

We have all seen those TikTok videos, ones where they go from bare skin and it flips over in the next frame to what seems to be a completely different human being. The beauty industry as a whole has continue to sky rocket over the last 10 years, and it has become a multi billion industry. Due in large part to social media, people are feeling more inclined than ever, to change their apperance and make an identity of who they are. Their own personal statement and brand.

I experienced this first hand after having my son in 2016, as being a new mom I felt overwhelmed with society telling me I couldn't look as though I had "let myself go". I truthfully just popped out a tiny human being, and a month later I was being expected to be "back to normal". While I decided to take it slow, having my makeup made me feel comfortable and put together once I entered back into the military workforce.

I was a Hospital Corpsman in the Navy, and doing direct patient care taught me one thing- if I didn't look put together, how would these patients trust me to take care of them? Our whole world revolved around apperance. Our uniforms had to look a certain way, our hair had to be a certain way, boots shined etc. Make up was something minimal, and I personally couldn't experiment too much in that world. So once I exited back into the civilian sector I was able to try all sorts of new items. I use majority of them daily, and they have come to be apart of an everyday wear collection.

Mixed with drug store and higher end beauty brands, I don't tend to lean towards one end of the spectrum or the other. Growing up, I was a HUGE tomboy. I wanted absolutely nothing to do with makeup, however every now and again I would venture into the Wal-Mart makeup isle with my mother, and Cover Girl seems to be the name that is most seared into my brain. For a long time, that's all I thought to get was that brand. Little did I realize there was a whole world for me to explore.

Without further due, here are my top 10 favorite beauty items.

#1 Ceramic Hair Straightener by Amika- $36.99

I know this is a bit pricey, but seriously hear me out for a minute. So I had been using a Chi hair straightner for a long time. However, I got a FabFitFun subscription box in 2019, and they included this in as an option for one of my big ticket items. The one pictured below is the one they included. It heats up really quickly, and I notice alot less frizz compared to some of the other brands I have used in the past. Also it's carrying case is a nice feature for travel or taking your tool on the go. It's definitely my go to for making beach waves, or an every day straight look that would even make Hermione Granger's hair polished to perfection.

Amika Hair Straightner featured in FabFitFun

#2 The Porefessional by Benefit Cosmetics $32

Guys, this is probably the most underated product I have ever come across. This pore filler is truly amazing. It goes on in more of a skin tone color, and is not super greasy. I typically will put this on first, before I use my regular every day primer- and a little goes a long way. Seriously I use it only around my nose and my 7.5 ml tube has lasted me almost 3 months now. This will help get that nice photo finished look for whatever photos you'll be taking.

#3 E.L.F Cosmetics Blemish Control Face Primer $10

I wanted a primer that ultimately got the job done and didn't break out my face. All the shades of foundation I would use, ultimately turned my skin orange through a process called "oxidation". Basically due to stress or a number of things, my foundation always changed colors through out the day. I tried a TON of different foundations all to only have the same result. So having a primer you use on a daily basis, acts as a barrier between your skin, and the foundation, causing it to last longer and hold better to your skin. Specifically this is a primer that helps prevent breakouts.

#4 Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation $43

Once I discovered this foundation, I have been using it for 5 years now, and I have not strayed. This stuff is AMAZING. Its more of a matte foundation for me. I wanted the apperance of not having oily skin when I was working, and this stuff truly came off as a win. It is more on the pricey side, however I am personally willing to pay for a more pricey foundation if it works. Not to mention this also you don't need a ton of. A little goes a long way, and I find myself not needing to hardly do any touch ups during the day. I recommend if you are having difficulty with finding the right shade for you, head to Ulta and have someone color match you. My specific shade is (1c1 Cool Bone)

#5 Estee Lauder Double Wear Instant Fix Concealer $30

All the products I review going forward won't be Estee Lauder, but I had to include this. This is a 24 hour concealer, on one end its foundation and on the other end it has a hydra prep which is amazing for lessening the affects of dark circles, it also helps hydrates the skin under your eyes. Mine tends to get dried out during winter, so having the extra hydration is defintiely worth it. Trust me when you have 2 kids and get minimal sleep on the regular, anything to make my dark circles go away the better things are.

#6 Nyx Epic Ink Liner $9

Nyx is an awesome drug store brand, and their eyeliner is a dupe in my opinion to Kat Von Dee's Tattoo eyeliner. It stays on all day, and is very easy to apply. It's also more like a marker, so it takes minimal effort to make those accurate cat eye looks.

#7 Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion $13

This stuff is like super glue in the realm of keeping your eyeshadow in place. This specific brand I love because it doesn't crease much once applied and seems to make my makeup last all day. No touch ups required.

#8 Precisely My Brow Pencil by Benefit Cosmetics $24

Let me tell you right off the bat, I have no eye brows. I went through this phase when I was 16 of plucking my brows in high school from a dare, and they never grew back in normal ever again. So I have to draw them on. Like my foundation, I have tried quite a few products and come to find I love the quality that Benefit has to offer. They have a variety of shades and tints to use. I love the pencil though, because it allows a percise point to make sure everything looks even all over.

#9 Herbal Essences Argan Oil & Aloe Repair Hair Oil Mist With Hemp $5.99

I actually genuinely love this hair mist. My hair had been feeling extra dried out, and so I was looking for a hair oil that would ultimately hydrate my hair. Ensuring that my hair dresser wasn't going to kill me the next time I came in. I tend to put this on my hair after I get out of the shower while my hair is wet, and I brush it well throughout my hair. Make sure you shake the bottle before hand to ensure the mixture evenly comes out. This was an affordable beauty hack and it truly smells awesome.

#10 MAC Matte Lipstick Shade Bronx $19

Since discovering this shade about 3 years ago I haven't looked back. There was a MAC outlet store in Oxnard, CA when I was stationed in the military and I got to play with what seemed to be real lip stick. I hit the holy grail with this shade in particular. It was a shade I could wear daily, and was very pigmented. It does rub off, so you do need to touch up this color after eating. But I love the creamy consistency. Literally any time I have makeup on, this color for sure is my favorite go to item 100% its that ultimate power statement that says "I'm calm, cool collected, I'm a boss babe, I'm a super mom" whatever you want to call it. It looks put together.

Me wearing the shade Bronx from MAC

I hope you guys enjoyed this article, and my recommendations. I tried to include a mixture of things price wise, because I know times are hard right now and it can be difficult to lay down $30 on a foundation when it could be an entire tank of gas, believe me. I've been there. But next time you're in Ulta take a look and try out alot of these items, I promise it's worth it. And if you ever need help or further suggestions, reach out to me on my instagram @theamethystbooknerdigan I am pretty active on there. Until next time! And thanks for reading!

Like what you read here? Consider donating below, your contribution helps keep my little family afloat during this time. Much love.

-Kayla

makeup
1

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.