Blush logo

PCOS, Chinny, Chin, Chin and Me

Still a Queen

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4

Excessive hair growth, weight gain, acne, irregular and painful periods. Just some of the symptoms of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS).

I was first diagnosed with PCOS when I was only 16 years old. The doctor told me the diagnosis may not be accurate because of my age, but it seemed highly likely it was. It was then confirmed when I was 21. Not knowing much about it then and quite frankly, not giving a damn, I chose to ignore any symptoms and simply thought I had been dealt a shit hand and my luck would come one day.

I had years of medical problems anyway, nothing too serious but a nuisance none the less. I was born with a gene defect HLA-B27, which basically means my body is always trying to fight something and causes inflammation and several auto-immune diseases. On the upside, doctors think I can't catch HIV so my partner was slightly confused and happy to know that, (while wondering why the hell I would be worried about that anyway).

Because of my gene, I have had issues with my stomach (GERD and IBS) and I have had issues with ulcers, polyps, infections, sinus issues and then some. In the last 2 years I was diagnosed as having a blood disorder called Factor V Leiden. I wrote a poem about that here:

While not much is known about Factor V Leiden or it's connection with my gene defect: HLA-B27, a loose theory amongst experts suggests Factor V is an autoimmune disease so could be connected to B27 that way.

A f*cking mess I know.

But what really pisses me off, every single day is the little piggy hairs on my chinny, chin, chin that never seem to piss off.

Of course, if you have PCOS then you already know the symptoms vary for everyone. But, one thing I have found is the extra hair growth is definitely a main factor for most people. If you don't know much about PCOS, I have linked it below.

My skin care routine is indeed lacking. But, trust me when I say I have tried an abundance of creams, toners, exfoliators, ointments and then some. I have spoken to my doctor, dermatologist, chemist and friends with similar issues. I have read forums, joined online discussions and even messaged online doctors and dermatologists to see if their help differs.

It doesn't.

In the end, what I have found is a deep cleanse helps the most. I need to keep my skin moist at night as it dries out ridiculously quick and leaves me with blemishes and dry spots for days. (At least it's not oily right?).

But, even with all of my routine and expensive products, (I've tried cheap and mid-range too) I still suffer with little pimples on my chin, swollen boil like, (but not actually filled) spots that flare up a couple of times a month, (usually when my inflammation flares) and hairs that give a hedgehogs prickles a run for their money, all over my chin and upper neck.

It's absolutely exhausting being a woman, especially one with PCOS.

The issues I have seem to worsen with age and with no cure for PCOS, (thanks science) I don't see it improving anytime soon.

I'm still a god damn Queen though.

So, I decided to give my face a rest from the crap us ladies put on it everyday. I still tone, cleanse and moisturise daily. I obviously wash my face everyday and I even use rash ointments when I flare up. (They truly help). But, I only wear makeup now when I go out, (not too much) or on the odd day I like to dress up at home, just for me. Most other days I wear none. That includes trips to the shops, taking the dog out for a walk or seeing friends and family. I go bare and it's been empowering to not have to worry about my make-up or if I have done my foundation properly or if my mascara has ran in the rain.

Don't get me wrong, I love make-up. But I have come to love myself without it and I recommend all of you beautiful flawed ladies, (aren't we all) try it as well. You will be both amazed at how confident you still feel, (possibly more) and your skin will appreciate the break.

So even though I have a billy goat gruff chin, a flare up episode monthly, (or more) and I'm having to pluck away at my chinny, chin, chin on a daily basis... I still feel confident enough to step outside in my sweats and let the world see my flaws.

Trust me ladies, you should too.

Thankyou so much for taking the time to read my content. If you loved it, please share your love and if you're feeling extra generous, how about a tip?

skincare
4

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.