Blush logo

Natural Hair Care Tips: 4 Gems That Will Help You In Your Journey

Your Curls Will Thank You

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Natural Hair Care Tips: 4 Gems That Will Help You In Your Journey
Photo by Baylee Gramling on Unsplash

A couple of years ago, I submitted an article to Vocal providing tips and tricks for natural hair beginners; you can view that here. I've been wearing my hair naturally for almost ten years, and I've had the first-hand experience of the trails and error one woman must endure getting the same hairstyle you have seen on Instagram and YouTube tutorials. After spending hundreds of dollars on products and tools, I've concluded that I wasted valuable time and money. I love to share my current findings with the natural hair community. Let's face it, corporations are here for one reason and one reason only, and that is to make money. Their job is to sell you a product so they can get rich. Your favorite companies do not have your best interest at heart. Having Instagram has changed my life when it comes to caring for my natural hair. I've been following Jennifer-Rose for over four years. I saw her initially collaborating with one of the originals of the natural hair community Taren Guy. I loved Jennifer-Rose because she didn't hold any punches with the truth and how to care for our hair. Her passion exudes through her videos, and she genuinely cares about her clients. After following her on Instagram and using her tips, I've cut down on my hairstyling time. Here are the four valuable pieces of information to help you through your natural hair journey.

*Disclaimer: I am not a licensed hairstylist. Please refer to Jennifer-Rose Instagram page for additional information

Invest In A Good Shampoo & Conditioner

One of these products is not like the other. Every shampoo and conditioner make up different ingredients that can react to our hair differently. We forget that our curls become a magnet for everything. Pollen, chemicals, smog, etc., stay trapped in our hair. The shampoo is a product that helps break down these contents and to cleanse your scalp. If you are someone who suffers from allergies like me, using a good shampoo is vital.

**Tip: Leaving your conditioner longer than the directions doesn't put added moisture in your hair. You can't leave a sponge in a sink of water and expect it to soak up more water. Your conditioner gives you what your hair needs. You will save five to fifteen minutes of your wash time. (my favorite tip)

After a cleanse, you have to restore that moisture. A good conditioner will provide you with the moisture you need to make styling so much easier. Both products go hand and hand. It's a requirement to use a conditioner after a shampoo.

Wash Your Hair

It's disappointing that I even have to mention this, but please wash your hair. Your dishes, clothes, car, and derriere are cleaner than your hair. If you are ever wondering why your hair may feel a little dry, or you've been using a particular product, and it's not cooperating, then WASH YOUR HAIR. The majority of your hair problems stem from not having a clean and healthy scalp. Jennifer-Rose shared one piece of information that I agree with because most of these natural hair products are oil-based. Consistently applying these oily products will cause a sad case of product buildup. I have personally stopped using natural hair products because it left a film over my fine hair strands. It would help if you started any new hairstyle with a clean scalp and clean hair strands. African American mothers would use Sunday's as hair washing day for their daughters. They made sure to prep each daughter's hairstyle to last two weeks. The two weeks in-between washing period was the standard and not the rule. Black mothers did it that way out of convenience. It would be best if you did not go a month without washing your hair.

**Tip: According to an Instagram live, Jennifer-Rose states that you should wash your hair approximately every four days. If you work out or sweats a lot, you will have to wash your hair more because sweat has salt, and salt will dry out your hair, leading to brittle hair that can lead to breakage.

Co-Wash and Leave-In Conditioner- Do You Need It?

A co-wash isn't a shampoo. I repeat, a co-wash isn't a shampoo. Just because the bottle says, "wash" doesn't mean to clarify and cleanse. Co-washes are for in-between washes/styling. For example, Mondays and Tuesday's you work out. As stated up above, sweat has salt, which can dry out your hair. You would then use the co-wash on Wednesday to refresh your curls. A co-wash adds some moisture until your next wash day. Co-washing products aren't shampoo. That my friends are considered lousy hygiene, they can be used as a styler and not a cleanser. You will start to experience product buildup over time.

Oil Does NOT Moisturize Your Hair

Let's go back to the "moisturize" debate. If your hair is feeling dry, I suggest you stop applying oils to your scalp and hair. Oil is creating a barrier to prevent you from getting the moisture you need. Jennifer-Rose posted on Twitter how the oil is just making our hair feel greasy and not providing moisture. I must say that this was the best advice I've ever received regarding heavy oils. I would use so much oil that it started to break me out around my hairline. Pillows, satin bonnets, and hair accessories would be full of oil.

"Frizz is hair's way of pulling moisture from the hair. Moisture enters the hair causing it to "puff up." You are causing dry hair with your regimen choices. Oil doesn't hydrate hair. Oil doesn't moisturize hair. Oil doesn't seal in moisture in the hair." Jennifer-Rose Founder and Creative Director of FROhaus Salon

After reading her Instagram posts, I have cut down my products by 90%, and my whole process is at least two hours. It's a sigh of relief that I can go on about my day without feeling I sacrificed my weekend. I also would like to remind those on this natural hair journey to remember that it's a journey. Haircare isn't rocket science. I hope that these tips are helpful as you stroll through your local beauty supply store.

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated.

Follow Me On Social:

Instagram: teisha.leshea and tl__teisha.leshea

Twitter: teisha. leshea

Writing Profiles

Medium: Teisha LeShea

xoNecole: Teisha LeShea

Thanks for the reading, and until next time.

hair
3

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.