Blush logo

Nail Care Tips for Longer, Stronger Nails

Expert Advice for Healthy Nail Growth

By Dot StoriesPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
2

my first tip is probably to always act as if your

nails have just been painted you want to

be more cautious of what you're doing

with your hands for example how are you

opening drawers without or with weird

handles are you using your finger or are

you using your nails once you start

paying more attention to your nails

every time you go to do something it'll

slowly become second nature and you'll

eventually have less nail breaks and

longer Nails my next tip for getting

longer Nails is to always wear nail

polish you will almost never see me out

and about with naked Nails because

polish just adds another layer of

protection to your natural nail bed I

see it as an equivalent to a phone case

or a screen protector it's definitely an

essential for me if you're not allowed

to wear nail polish at school though I

would wear a clear or sheer nude polish

so you still have that layer of

protection but it's just not visible I

also want to note that nail polish is

great because it prevents things like

water from getting into your nails which

you'll learn in tip three why we don't

want that you know as we live in a

panorama it's kind of hard to avoid

water because we're all consistently

washing your hands I hope but in other

aspects of our lives like showers and

swims and stuff like that I would try to

avoid flooding your nails which

basically means when your nails have

been completely soaked in water for long

periods of time that they come out very

flat and very weak and they kind of

resemble wet paper because that is when

your nails are at their weakest State

and they are most likely to break but in

actuality they'll probably be ripping or

tearing because that is what their

texture is like when they're completely

flooded I feel like that explanation

wasn't very clear so I'm just going to

summarize it one more time water is

going to equal soft Nails soft nails

they're most likely to rip and tear and

rip in tears you equals short nails and

we don't want short nails so we need to

avoid excessive water exposure

essentially so I would just try to avoid

that situation altogether I try and take

short showers not only is it better for

the environment but it's better for my

nails so you know you just hit two birds

with one stone and then if you're gonna

take a bath keep your hands out of the

water and if you're going to wash the

dishes I guess just try and wear gloves

my third tip is a part of my nail care

routine which is wearing a lot of nail

oil nail oil keeps your nails hydrated

and flexible which is key to preventing

things like snapping and breaking when

you do hit your nails on something by

having flexible nails they are more

likely to bend or Flex Under Pressure

rather than snap or break which is key

to getting longer nails so I'm using

this nail oil by Revlon ideally you

would want one that's pure hobo oil

because it's the oil with the smallest

molecules in comparison to others but

this is just what I have at the moment

it does contain jojoba oil but it also

contains other things I don't

necessarily need

so just keep that in mind oil with

smaller molecules means it can deeply

penetrate the nail plate which is needed

because your body naturally hydrates

your nails but from underneath and so

the top layer does not get as much love

and this means the top layer is probably

very dry and even brittle and that's

what makes it prone to breakage so I've

just put nail oil around my cuticles so

it can get in the gap between my cuticle

and my nail polish and I also put it

underneath my nail where it's naked so

it can actually be more thoroughly

absorbed in my unprofessional opinion I

avoid nail strengtheners and nail

hardeners just because they have the

complete opposite effect of nail oil

which is keeping your nails nice and

flexible so when they do hit things

they're more likely to bend or Flex

rather than actually break and that is

exactly what nail hardeners and strength

thinners are going to do for your nails

they're going to be really hard like the

title says but they're also going to be

really brittle so then when you hit

things your nails are going to crack and

that is the complete opposite of what

you want if you want long nails so that

is just the reason why I don't recommend

hardeners and strengtheners for your

nails I only have a few tips for people

who bite their nails because I know it's

a habit that a lot of people try to

break and I just started painting my

nails with really nice intricate design

whenever I had math tests I would just

spend so long on the designs that I

wouldn't want to bite my nails off

anymore before Tess that is just what I

did I know my sister used to bite her

nails a lot and she just started

wrapping Band-Aids around the ones that

she used to chew on especially her

thumbs and then she kind of just like

grew out of the Habit that way it took

like a month or so but I also know that

there is like really bitter nail polish

that you can just like paint on and then

every single time it like touches your

tongue it tastes really awful so maybe

you guys could try that my next tip for

a longer Nails that's also part of my

nail care routine is to use a glass nail

file for the maintenance of your

manicure regular Emery nail files are

usually pretty rough where they kind of

shred away at your nail which will lead

them to like flaking and like breaking

later on glass nail files on the other

hand generally have a very very smooth

grit so this is a glass file that I use

from Revlon this video is not sponsored

by the way I just file my nails in One

Direction on either side to get a kind

of oval almond shape I also want to give

you guys another tip that by filing your

nails like back and forth and like not

going in like one smooth direction will

only like shred away at your nails and

like make them break later on so just

try this tip as well it's also important

to keep your nails at a suitable length

for your lifestyle so I file my nails

every other week to maintain it around

the length that you see now I do a lot

of writing typing editing as a student

Creator and ra so this is about as long

as I can leave them before they become a

slight hindrance to my workflow so guys

that is the end of the video thank you

so much for watching if you made it this

far make sure to like subscribe and

comment a cloud emoji and I'll see you

skincarenailsmakeuphow todiycruelty freecelebritiesbodyart
2

About the Creator

Dot Stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.