Blush logo

Michelle Phan: 'Make Up'

Book Review

By Christina HammondPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Throughout our life, we absorb knowledge about beauty and style just from living our lives, trial and error. But how often do you personally experience, or know someone who does, that feeling of helplessness when it comes to beauty, fashion, or even acquiring a job? Or perhaps you feel rather confident when it comes to your skills in those areas. No matter who you are, what walk of life you come from, or how successful you already are, trust me when I say, Michelle Phan’s book, Make Up: Your Life Guide to Beauty, Style, and Success–Online and Off, is a must-read for everyone.

This small book consists of 230 pages of irreplaceable knowledge straight from Michelle Phan herself. For those of you who are not yet familiar with Michelle, I encourage you to go straight to her YouTube page and take a look at her tutorials (stay tuned! I will be posting a link to her YouTube at the end!). Who knew that when Michelle started her YouTube back in 2006 doing makeup tutorials that today she would be the CEO of her own cosmetic line! She is the proof that you can start from nothing and become successful while doing the thing you love most.

I don’t want to go into to much detail about her personal life, though, you will have the chance to read through that in her book. What I do want to cover is the material you can find inside. I know personally, I was really looking forward to reading her section on skin care because this has always been a difficult struggle for me. She starts off with some self-help on understanding your skin type. I have always known that I had an oily skin type, but what I didn’t know is that I had always been using the wrong type of facial wash! This was mind blowing information. Growing up I have always used cream cleansers with microbeads in them. I was completely wrong in my choice! I went according to her suggestion and started using a foaming cleanser, and not two days later I was already seeing improvement and had several of my close friends begging me to share my secrets because of how amazing my skin looked. I told them it was not a secret at all!

Michelle also gives amazing makeup advice dependent upon your skin type. Her advice ranges from natural looks to Halloween inspired; she gives the reader so many new tools to arm themselves with. And I don’t care who you are, what girl doesn’t love to be able to apply her own makeup well? I know there will be some girls out there who do not enjoy wearing makeup, and that’s completely fine, but what if there comes a situation where you NEED to know how to apply makeup? Wouldn’t you rather be as prepared as possible so you can feel confident about yourself?

In the later part of her book, Michelle gives some amazing advice when it comes to your career. Whether you have a job, are looking for a job, or want to start your own business. What’s the hardest part of finding a job? Your resume and cover letter right? The way Michelle breaks down the resume and cover letter in her chapters on business makes it seem so simple that you’ll be asking yourself, “Where has this been all my life?” I know I did!

I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. It was such an eye-opening experience. Even when it came to things I already know, it was a great refresher! And because of Michelle’s upbeat personality, enthusiasm, and love of teaching you will find it hard to put the book down! And for those of you who don’t honestly like to read all that much, do not be discouraged! As I stated above, it is merely 230 pages long and, therefore, not a difficult read. Plus, with illustrations on practically every page, you’ll always have something interesting to look at. So, go give it go. I found my copy of Make Up: Your Life Guide to Beauty, Style, and Success–Online and Off at a local Half Price Book Store, but you can also find it online. I will post a link below.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Christina Hammond

Hello, one and all! As you can see my name is Christina, but on my blog I go by Christina Marie. I will write about anything and everything I find interesting or worth sharing, and I will try to make it as entertaining as possible. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.