Blush logo

Let's Talk Food (my favorite topic)

The true reason your skin isn't clear, gut still bloated, and body still tired.

By Gabbie B.Published 12 months ago 3 min read

I'm going to be honest here, if you want to feel better then watch what you're eating!

I know, I know. You're tired of hearing it. But if you would just give me less than five minutes of your time, hear me out.

When I was younger, I hit puberty extremely early. (Literally got my period at 9, which is a story for another time) And yes, for most girls the age they get their first period is due to genetics. Despite the fact that studies show the average age is getting lower and lower due to hormones and environment, again a story for another time.

Getting my period also came with self-loathing of my body. Besides the body image issues that unfortunately most children and adults have, I loathed my body. I thought why, why are you doing this to me? Why am I the only kid in primary school who has to double layer pads in the morning because I was too scared to change at school.

The period came with acne, hormones, and overall, a shitty body. My health quite literally deteriorated. Remember it's totally NORMAL for hormonal changes because of your period. Acne is normal, sucks but normal. What's not normal is turning 13 years old, three years after your body settled down into a rhythm and having your acne get worse and worse.

Enter my lovely mother.

My family is a family of larger people, with slow thyroids and grew up on shit food. My mom begun her journey of trying to make her body work for her by figuring out food. Unknowingly to her, her getting rid of most (not all!) gluten, dairy, GMO, and hormone raised products worked wonders for my sister and me.

I want to stress this very much; the listed items above do not affect everyone the same. It is a process! A process I am very much still learning. You have to learn which foods work for you, and which don't. For example, you have a pizza one night, the next morning your stomach is bloated and face broken out, so you go, "Oh ok. The pizza last night may corelate to today, next time I have dairy or gluten I'll watch for any changes like this."

From here you work on lowering your intake of that product, NOT ELIMINATING! I mean unless you want to. Personally, I could never not have a pizza again but if you have that type of self-control go for it.

All I ask is for you to experiment a little, lower your intake of this and replace it with that. Try making it a game, see how long I can have a streak of no heavy gluten. And if you fail that game within a week, so what? You made it a week I'm sure that's better than before.

Life is life. And if you want to feel better, I suggest watching the type of foods you eat. Go for gluten free options, wheat bread instead of flat, chocolate raisins for desert instead of Oreos. I promise once you get used to it it's not so bad. And every once in a while, treat yourself girl! Get yourself a white bread pizza with Oreos for desert if that's what you need.

Organic food has a ton of power!

Just never, never underestimate the power of food and how it effects your body. And remember, you can use food's power for yourself. To get more energy, become stronger, healthier, lower fatigue and so much more. But I suppose that's a story for another time.

skincareorganic

About the Creator

Gabbie B.

Just here to write and if I make a little cash, I'm up for that too ;)

I mainly write works that are narratives with sci fi, fantasy, action, adventure, ect. Hope you enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gabbie B.Written by Gabbie B.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.