Blush logo

IL MAKIAGE Foundation: Oily face and mom-approved

Yes, I only needed to take a quiz

By Gloria MilesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
IL MAKIAGE Foundation: Oily face and mom-approved
Photo by Kim Carpenter on Unsplash

Is your guilty pleasure watching makeup videos on YouTube or Facebook? Mine, too. I'd probably watch more but I have four kids who are literally crawling on me as we speak. Or, rather, as I type.

Do I have time for all that? Absolutely not. My go-to makeup is mascara and a face mask. But a girl can dream.

The Problem

I am well into my 30s. At least, enough to keep saying I'm 33, when I'm really 34, and about to turn 35. I might have a problem. I wouldn't say I'm extremely vain, but I might have clicked on the "Mommy Makeover" ad that a local plastic surgeon sent out. Either way, I am noticing some fine lines and uneven skin tone.

Maybe it's time for something to help with that.

When I peruse Target, my eyes dart over to the wall of foundation. I'm tempted. But the options. And the brands. And the mixed reviews. And my history of horror story foundation attempts. I drop a mascara tube into the cart.

Once, my friend and I decided to go to the mall to combat boredom (you know, back when indoor malls were still a thing). As usual, a makeup kiosk sat in the center of one of the long hallways of stores.

The makeup artist lit up with a brilliant smile before we could pass her. She had winged liner and red lips. "Hi, I'm amazing at makeup, let me make you over!" (That's not exactly what she said, but I can't remember anymore. I'm old.) We decided that sounded like an excellent idea. I don't normally let someone else do my makeup. I tend to hate the lack of control. But this is different. She's a professional.

When she's done, she shows me the mirror. I like the lip, but hate everything else. My cheeks are too pink, my brows too dark, and the foundation is very noticeable. It feels heavy. I'd smile, but the foundation isn't letting me. She tries her best to sell me on it. I ask for the mascara. She looks upset and I panic, because I haven't mastered confrontation yet. I pick out the lipstick she used, pay, and flee before my anxiety forces me to buy something else.

The Product

Enter IL MAKIAGE, a New York based tech-driven makeup business run by a brother-sister duo. I was bombarded by their ads for over a year before I finally decided to click on the website link. Why the change of heart? This is the only time you should read the comments. Almost everyone loves it. The few that didn't like the match explained how easy it was to send back.

Take a 90-second quiz and IL MAKIAGE will pair you with the perfect foundation.

90 seconds to perfect match is their promise. So is a FREE 14 day trial. 90 seconds and I'm done with my foundation shopping? That sounds perfect, because that's about the spare time I have left over in my day between working, cooking, kids, and caring for a household. I'm still a little worried about how hard it's going to be to return it, but I decided to go for it. YOLO, right? (Do you kids still say that?)

The quiz asked a few questions, my magical foundation was selected, and I hit order. The site recommended a foundation brush. Why not! If I was going to go in, I was going to commit. It should be noted that all products come with a 14-day trial period. If you like it, you'll be charged after the trial period. If you don't, just wrap it back up and send it away. Easy peasy.

The Result

The match was amazing. I'm convinced they're witches. It looks just like my skin, but even and smooth. It's my skin+.

I am so glad I clicked order. It was worth the splurge of a foundation brush. It takes me a few minutes to apply in the morning, smooths my skin, and the best part is that it doesn't feel like a cakey weight. I forget that I have it on. My skin is oily and it does very well. I cannot gush about it enough. My partner tells me it looks like I have a filter on and sometimes doesn't even notice.

Since then, I've tried the matte lip colors (not my favorite, but returns are a breeze) and their blush (love, love, love). I might try their concealer next. Should you try their products? Yes. What's the worst that can happen? You lose a little bit of time sending it back. That's it. This model needs to be the future of makeup. It might even allow me to stock up on a full set of makeup!

Move over beauty influencers, I might be doing my own mom-makeup channel soon:

Ep. 1: How to Apply Foundation While Nursing | The Secret is in the Foundation Brush.

Ep. 2: How to Teach Your Toddler to Fetch the Mascara that Fell and Rolled Under the Dresser | Don't Judge Me

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Miles

Gloria Miles is an emerging writer who focuses primarily on trauma and healing. Her main work surround fiction, but she also pens essays and sometimes content.

Follow on Twitter @untitled_by and IG: untitled_by_gloria

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.