Blush logo

If my tattoos could talk

the stories of my tattoos

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

So I started to get tattoos when I was in my twenties. I have three and want more. My first one is a infinity symbol with the word love incorporated on one of the loops and the cross in the other loop. At the time I was more religious than I am now. At the time it represented the faith I held so dear. Now it represents the faith I still believe in but also my journey. I'm now more spiritual. I got in on my right foot. It didn't really hurt, it was more just annoying when she went back over it. It literally took five minutes once I was in the chair and she started the needle.

The second one is on my hip and it is of a humming bird flying in front of a red sun. I love it I think it turned out stellar. At the time I had just gotten into a new relationship and not yet fully recovered from an old relationship that had been traumatic. I had just gotten the tattoo because I liked a similar design on pinterest. The artist who did the tattoo added the sun. Since I got the tattoo it has came to represent freedom and a new person I have become. I'm still learning who I am but I like who I am. I also have learned that humming bird tattoos symbolize going through a tough time which I have. I have been through terrible relationships, bad break ups and other terrible things.

The last one that I have is on my ribs and it's the assault survivor symbol. I got it three or four years after my assault. I didn't get it to be a physical reminder of what happened, I got it as a physical reminder that I survived. I feel like sometimes I barely survived other times I feel like I survived in the best way. It hurt to get, I think it was the most painful one I got.

I don't know what other tattoos I want to get beyond leg sleeves. I have been toying with the idea for years of getting leg sleeves. I want the leg sleeves to be Disney themed. I love Disney and it makes me happy. I also think that Disney represents something pure, lovely and innocent. I want to look down and see something cute and that makes me happy. I also want to add Tim Burton style things in between each Disney tattoo. I envision flowers and that sort of thing, anything that goes with the tattoos it's by. Cute, colorful, little weird and whimsical.

I don't know what tattoos I will get after that, if I even will. I don't know when I will get the tattoos that I want but it's something that you have to save up for. Tattoos are expensive. I don't mind the question what does it mean? I don't mind most questions people ask when it comes to tattoos. The one question that I mind is "well how much does it cost?" A lot of people don't understand why they cost so much. Also every shop charges something different.

If you ask someone what their tattoo means be prepared for them to say I just liked the design. Not every tattoo has a meaning and some may not have a crazy story. The story may just be they always wanted a tattoo so they got the one they liked. It's not always a big huge story or a meaning. I am lucky that the one that I like mean something, so I have a mix.

art
1

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.