Blush logo

Dollar shave club is not just for men

My review

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I will start this post off by saying that there is a misconception that women have to use women product and men have to use men products. This may be true for some stuff but not for all. This misconception is why I wanted to try out and review dollar shave club. So let's get started.

When you first log in the main thing is the razor handles and the blades. They make you sign up for a box, I was originally going to do that but I realized I wouldn't need 4 blades every month. I also figured I could get more blades later. For my first box I ordered the executive razor and blades with shave butter as my product. If you don't want the razors and a box every month make sure to go to the box edit feature to edit or cancel the boxes. You can get the boxes every other month or every few months. You could also just order things when you need or want things. With me I wanted to only receive things when I want or order them.

The boxes get to you pretty quickly. So I immediately wanted to use my razor and shave butter. What I noticed when I used them was my skin was smooth and soft. I also don't have to go over the same spot multiple times. If there were hairs left it was because I missed the spot. The shave butter was a lot more silky feeling on my skin. It felt better than usual shave products. To me it was less messy than shave cream. With the razor and blades the handle is a good weight and quality. I think the executive has 5 blades then one on the edge for facial hair grooming.

The next thing I ordered was the hydrating scalp and hair shampoo, the corresponding conditioner and superba peppermint tooth paste. The shampoo and conditioner did great job with my hair. It didn't dry out my hair like head and shoulders did. The smell wasn't overwhelming like female shampoos are, which I like. I know this isn't a traditionally female company but I just wanted to point that out. With the toothpaste at first I didn't like it but when I tried it again I didn't mind it.

I tried the shave lather, post shave cream and the prep scrub in my most recent package. The shave lather was decent but it came out of the tube pretty quick. It was like it was almost liquid or runny. It didn't make my skin feel as silky as the shave butter. It also smells like peppermint, it's not an overbearing smell. I didn't notice the smell until like the second or third use. The post shave cream was amazing it made my skin feel smooth and silky. The prep scrub felt like a decent scrub and it wasn't rough on my skin. My skin felt like it would after a really good scrub.

In my next box I think I will order more razors and some of the face and body products. I know that they have products for those of us with pimples. They also have more pre and post shave products that I want to try as well. I'm very excited to try the oil control products. They even have sun screen which I may use when I travel.

Dollar shave club has a ton of products for every part of your routine. So I will continue to try and review their products. I have not ordered my next package since I just ordered my most recent package. I will be trying something new every time I order the stuff I like. If you have products or companies you want me to review then I will gladly do so just email me ([email protected]).

body
1

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.