Blush logo

I Tried 3 Sun Sticks and Here’s What I Thought

Because it’s impossible to pick just one.

By VeePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Angela Zhong

With the catalogue of sun sticks on the market growing at a breakneck pace as health and beauty companies vie for consumers’ attention, it’s becoming harder and harder to make a decision on which one to use. Here’s my thoughts on three sun sticks I have personally used to make that decision just a little bit easier for you. Note: I have not included pricing as every site/store prices them slightly differently and a cursory Google shows large variations in pricing. For example, if my memory serves me right, out of these three, the Beauty of Joseon sun stick was the most expensive one for me, but the official website lists it at a cheaper price. So if you are interested in any of these, do some research to see where you can get it at a better deal because it may be sold cheaper elsewhere!

#1: Isntree – Hyaluronic Acid Airy Sun Stick (22g)

Often confused with fellow Korean brand Innisfree, Isntree’s Hyaluronic Acid Airy Sun Stick is often the very first sun stick people opt for, and despite the massive amount of selection these days, it still makes it to many a holy grail list. Its unique teardrop shape makes it easy to apply around face contours, especially under the eyes and around the nose. It also lives up to the “airy” part of its name, as it somehow imparts a refreshing cooling effect upon application. In terms of its finish, it is not fully matte but it’s not greasy either, and it does not leave a white cast, as many sunscreens tend to do. It also doesn’t have much of a smell, so this one would be a safe bet for people with sensitive skin.

#2: Tocobo – Cotton Soft Sun Stick (19g)

Tocobo is a brand recognisable by their distinct bright red font. If I could wax poetic for a second, the beautiful light blue colour of the sun stick reminds me of the cloudless sky of a lazy summer day. Leaning further into that imagery, this sun stick is fragranced, but I personally love the smell because it smells like fresh laundry to me. Despite my skin being sensitive-ish, I didn’t notice any breakouts directly caused by this sun stick either. In terms of finish, it is lightweight, and does not leave a white cast. However, I did find this one to make my skin slightly more oily than the other two on this list.

#3: Beauty of Joseon – Matte Sun Stick (18g)

Made by the company that created the cult classic Beauty of Joseon liquid sunscreen, now we have a matte sun stick touting its main ingredients as mugwort and camellia. This one definitely feels the most bougie of these three, because of the active ingredients and its light sage green colour, which is complemented nicely by the beige colour of the packaging, lending it a natural and “herby” feel. It has no fragrance, a matte finish just as it says, and it wears very well throughout the day. However, its formula is a lot softer than the other two, which causes it to leave bits of residue on the face after application. So be warned, you will probably have to check your face in the mirror if you’re applying it on the go.

In summary, sun sticks are by far my favourite way to reapply sunscreen. The only reason I never did before (I know, I know) was because I hated getting my hands greasy when I had no way to wash them, and sun sticks make this problem obsolete. Even though my contrarian self has a general disdain for “viral trends” and “beauty hacks” (or any configuration of those words), I definitely think sun sticks are one of the more innovative things to come out of the health and beauty industry in a while. Most of them are SPF50+, they are easy to use, the affordable ones are just as effective as the expensive ones, and most importantly, they make maintaining sun protection that much easier.

skincareproduct reviewface
Like

About the Creator

Vee

just chilling in my hometown of neptune, california.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.