Blush logo

Hey Mom! I did my own hair!

By Alexander Cook.

By Alexander CookPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Never be afraid to try anything. Most of the time it can be fun!

Snip.

Snip.

Snip.

As my hair falls down to the ground. Snnniiiiip.

"Oh my god; I can't believe I just did that!" I whispered. I looked at my hair and felt so nervous and excited. I wonder how my parents are going to react.

*Earlier that day*

It was a hot summer day. It was 30 degrees outside but it felt like it was 40 degrees everywhere you went. With all the Hair stores closed due to lockdown, my hair grew more and more. Frustrated that the sides of my head were sprung out and some were flat against my head. Like, make up your mind hair!!

I tried asking my Mom to cut my hair but like everyone else, we were all tired and sweaty. We didn't want to do anything. I don't really blame them for it. I sighed and walked into the kitchen to make a cold cup of coffee and then sit down to figure out what to have for lunch. As I was drinking my coffee I looked upon the cosmetics bag. It had my bleach and my brand new hair colour that I've been dying to try. I just wanted my hair short first before putting the hair colour in.

I played with my Blueish purple hair pouting. As much as I loved the colour it was fading away. I was getting sick and tired of the uneven hair and style. I wanted it to be even shorter. I always asked someone to do my hair for me. I shaved my own sides of my hair. I don't mind shaving but I hated the top of my hair it was too long for my taste.

I looked back up at the cosmetics bag. That's when it hit me. I was going to cut it myself! I got all excited and happy. I ran to the bathroom to grab a coat to protect my shirt then I grabbed some scissors to cut my hair. I went upstairs and brushed all my tangles out. I grabbed some elastics and put my hair up in a bunch of mini ponytails.

Goofing off I danced and shooked my hair back and forth until I felt dizzy. Taking a deep breath I bring the scissors to my first ponytail in the front. This is it; I am going to do it! I am going to cut my hair!

I closed my eyes (DON'T DO IT JUST BECAUSE I DID!!!) and started to cut my hair for the first time in years.

S-S-S_SNIIIIIIIP!

I opened one eye and gasped. So far 1 ponytail out of 8 was cut down to the size I wanted to be...and I was happy!

I quickly continued to cut the rest of my hair;

Snip.

Snip.

Snip.

As my hair falls down to the ground. Snnniiiiip.

"Oh my god; I can't believe I just did that!" I whispered. I looked at my hair and felt so nervous and excited. I wonder how my parents are going to react

I put most of my hair to the side to make it even and then did the other side. I looked into the mirror feeling proud of myself. Now there was one more thing I needed to do. Shave the sides of my head. After I shaved the sides off I felt like a new person. The top of my hair was short and my sides were shaved. That is how I like my hair.

Too bad I was really itchy!!!!! ;-;

That was step 1 done. Time to head to the next step. I went in for a quick shower. When I was done I looked into the mirror once again feeling proud of myself.

I grabbed a shirt and wrapped it around my head. Time for it to dry. I'll surprise my family later.

I took out my phone and played video games until my hair was dry.

*1 Hour later*

I took the shirt off my head. My hair was now dry. I went downstairs and created the bleach and started putting it in my hair. For some odd reason, I liked the smell. I was careful to put the bleach only on the top of my hair and trying not to get the sides. Once I was done I put the shower cap on and then set a timer for 30 minutes.

I quickly walked to my room and blasted music to distract myself from the burning of the bleach. 30 minutes later I washed all the bleach out. I was so excited to add in my next colour. I knew I had to let my hair cool down so I did my hair the next day. I joked that I was "Draco Malfoy".

The following morning I got up and made my first cup of coffee. After waking up for a bit I acted fast and grabbed the red hair dye.

I went to the bathroom and put the colour in my hair. I quietly sqealed in silence and put my shower cap on for 30 minutes.

I went downstairs and made myself some toast. I decided to play my favourite game. Skyrim. After many battles with Dragons, caves, Banditss and Frost Trolls. It was time to wash the colour out of my hair. I showered and rinsed my hair over and over until it looked like no colour was red anymore. I turned the shower off and saw that the entire shower looked like a murder scene! HAHA! I of course had to scrub that to make sure it did not stain.

Once I was done I avoided the mirrors. I didn't want to see what I looked like first without my parents reaction first.

I made a full pot of coffee and continued my adventures in Skyrim. It was 11am. My I heard my mom getting ready to come downstairs. I jumped quickly and made her some coffee.

As she came downstairs; her coffee was ready. I smiled and gave her cup of coffee.

"Hey Mom! Look I did my own hair!" I said as I passed her coffee.

She looked up from her phone and smiled.

"Oh my god that's awesome!" she exclaimed. I smiled back.

That morning I felt proud of myself.

I will never forget the day I cut my own hair. May 3, 2020, was the first time I had confidence to cut my own hair.

hair
1

About the Creator

Alexander Cook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.