Blush logo

Feeding My Wig Habit with Scissors

By Mia Athey

By Mia AtheyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have a confession to make: I can’t resist a cheap wig! Whether they’re under $30, $20 or sometimes $10, I have accumulated over 10 in the past year so far and I just can’t stop. Watching youtubers do an Amazon wig haul both calms me down and gives me life! But there’s a problem, since they’re cheap, they need a little bit of love, effort and elbow grease to make them look real. But that doesn’t bother me - it’s all about the illusion. And how do I fulfill that illusion? With a pair of handy dandy scissors. From household scissors to cutting sheers, I’ve learned I have a knack for making this beauties work for me. And I can walk you through all the ways to look your best wig a cheap wig and some scissors.

Ever since I was a young girl, I would beg my mom to take me to the beauty supply store after we’d go to the hair salon. I just loved to look at all the wigs in their glory. One reason I became an opera singer is to have the chance to wear a wig onstage. Each wig has a personality and always would bring out something in me when I put it on. So, what did I do? I started wearing them in real life. Who has time to wait for the fun for work only? That’s why I like synthetic wigs. Mostly because I can afford them, but the most exhilarating part is making a cheap wig look real. That’s where scissors come in and I can walk you through all the ways to look your best.

My mantra is: The wig doesn’t wear you; you wear the wig. And by wear, I mean wear and tear, specifically, cut.

Wanna join in on the Wolf Cut trend on Tik Tok? No problem! I took a $12 green party wig that’s been sitting in my closet since 2016 and brought her back to 2021 in style! All it took was a pair of scissors and some cutting shears. The scissors did all the work. Just like in the tik tok videos, I put my hair in a high pony tail, hold it up and cut away with my household scissors. Then after that, I use my shears to touch up the rest.

I went from a cheap and thick wig...

Before

To a full luscious wolf mullet bombshell!

After

Need to overcome the annoying plastic part in wig? No need to do the tedious work of trying to cut out the plastic part. After watching many failed DIYs on Youtube, I decided to put my scissors to the test. That’s right, I put my tweezers to the side, and just open a pair of scissors and sliced away at the scalp. Once I open up the part to make it look real, all I needed was a touch of foundation and eye shadow and I went from this..

Before

To this!

The world will never know I paid less that $20 for that wig.

Want to rock a mullet, but the wig is just 80s thick? Don’t think of spending more money on an expensive synthetic, just take a pair of thinning shears or household scissors and cut out a few layers of that extra hair at the top. Always be sure to cut at the base of the scalp and only cut under the top layers. The goal is to cover any thinning you’ve make to the hair. Doing this instantly takes out the fluff and voila! You’re left with a modern mullet and you’re doing it just under $30!

Here's the fluff...

Here's the it style!

To me, it’s the little things that count. And putting in a little bit of time, anyone feed their wig habit with a pair of scissors!

hair
Like

About the Creator

Mia Athey

Telling stories through singing, dancing, acting and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.