Blush logo

Fearlessness, entrepreneurship & Growth

Miranda Moy: an expert in business & hair growth

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Miranda Moy

National Boss’s Day just passed and we got to interview a true boss, Miranda Moy of Moy Hair Essentials! There are thousands of hair care brands but because of Miranda’s commitment to quality products her brand is standing out in her industry.

Miranda Moy is the fearless entrepreneur behind the brand of Moy Hair Essentials. She is a 12 year experienced hairdresser and a really ambitious woman, who believes in helping African American women, but not limited to, love and care for their natural hair.

How did your background in cosmetology help you create your product line?

Miranda: I have worked with so many different textured hair types, from healthy thriving hair to restoring the most dry and brittle hair. The education and experience that I have from being a hairstylist, has helped me develop a natural hair care line that both women and men can very well benefit from. As a African American woman with really textured kinky curly hair, what is taught in the books does not cater to textured hair, so I had to do extensive research on black hair and how to care for it. While I was transitioning to my natural hair state, it was very difficult to find products that would enhance my natural curl pattern and the overall integrity of my hair. Most importantly I learned that it is very important that we keep our hair moisturized, and I wanted to start a line of products that would do just that, for my clients and all the others out there.

The holidays are right around the corner. Tell us what products make great gift ideas.

Miranda: All of our products make amazing gifts during this holiday season, but one known to be a holiday favorite, is our Herbal Root Strengthening and Growth Oil. The Soothing Hydro Repair Deep Conditioner will also be a great gift to give as well as receive. This product is absolutely amazing at revitalizing those dry curls, leaving your hair feeling extremely hydrated and soft.

What’s your top selling product?

Miranda: Our Herbal Root Strengthening and Growth Oil, is hands down a customer favorite. This product is made with all natural oils and herbs infused to stimulate hair growth and does not smell like a medicated oil. Besides the growth and results, the scent of this oil is what makes this a customer's favorite.

Where do you see yourself and your brand in 5 years?

Miranda: In five years I see myself continuing to climb the entrepreneurship ladder. I believe that my products and brand will be highlighted in multiple large corporation stores, and I will have my warehouse as well as a brick and mortar. In 5 years I would have liked to learn enough, where I can take a mentee under my wing and help them develop their small business as well as, receive grants and marketing opportunities.

Which celebrity do you think has the best hair?

Miranda: I have always admired Tracee Ellis Ross for being a staple in the natural hair community, even during the creamy crack movement. She has been an influence to be true to yourself, because no matter what show you have seen her on, she was rocking her natural hair proudly.

How does your product line differ from others in your industry?

Miranda: I think my background with cosmetology has allowed me to develop a really great product line. I am able to use my products often and see the amazing results on not just my hair, but other women as well. I also believe that the brand that I am creating differs from many others in my industry. MHE and The Natural Way is not just a brand, but it's a lifestyle curated for those who believe in caring for themselves from head to toe.

To connect with Miranda online be sure to follow her on Instagram

interview
2

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.