Blush logo

Dyson Airwrap Review

How It Worked For My Hair

By Ashlee FrazierPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Here is my Dyson Airwrap review and it’s a bit mixed. It’s been a while since I talked on the topic of hair. My last post was on 8/23/19 where I went over trending hair accessories (updated 10/28/21). So, I’m getting back into it this year! I have a love-hate relationship with my hair since it isn't easy to style but it has volume to the max. The compliments I receive on my hair are flattering but I always clarify that the grass is not always greener on the other side. If I got paid for the hours spent styling my hair, I'd pay for an in-house hair stylist.

Let me give you some more background on my hair before we discuss the Dyson hair tool. I have medium length, color-treated hair that is thick, thick, thick. I will say, I have used the Airwrap on my virgin and color-treated hair. Though I am no hairstylist, I do know my way around the hair care aisle plus this tool is meant for people without professional background. I’ve used it on wet, dry and towel-dried hair so I’ve been around the block. My experience with this tool has led me to build a pros and cons list.

Pros

The Dyson Airwrap dries your hair SO fast. It will be your secret weapon when you’re in a hurry! Another advantage is that this tool helps prevent heat damage by having lower temperatures and no prolonged contact with the heat source. So, if you’re looking for a savior from heat damage, it’s great. As you can see, Dyson also supplies you with a ton of fittings so you can find the one that works best for you.

Cons

There definitely was a power struggle between my thick hair and Dyson. I found that there was not enough tension for my hair’s coarseness and texture. The lack of heat also caused my hair to frizz. So, that’s the tradeoff of less heat damage. I've learned that tools for "average hair" may not work on mine. Sometimes, the trick is to blow dry my hair more before I start using the Dyson. I touch on this more below.

To say that I gave up isn’t a totally true statement. You’re also not going to see my Dyson Airwrap on Poshmark any time soon. I experimented with a few different methods based on suggestions from my followers. I was advised to use the curling attachments on completely wet hair. Unfortunately, this did NOT work. My hair frizzed and didn’t hold the curl. I did like using the curling tools on drier hair. It created full body curls that held. I found that the key was rough drying my hair 90% of the way, then using the curling attachment.

In the end, I suggest trying it out. If you can find it at a discounted price, borrow from a friend or buy it second hand then that’s the best way to get it. I found a few places to help you so you don’t have to go on a hunt.

Let my pros and cons list be your advice from a friend. I have mixed emotions on this product but I am willing to keep trying. My final vote: the Dyson Airwrap works best on fine, straighter hair.

Go out, try it for yourself and let me know your verdict!

hair
1

About the Creator

Ashlee Frazier

Best known for my appearance on The Bachelor's 17th season. I now focus on my fashion and accessories brand, ANEA HILL, and lifestyle blog where I share everything fashion, makeup, travel, family, and more. Follow me on Instagram! 🌿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.